We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Josefa Hotel(Santiago Atitlan)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal Santiaguito(Santiago Atitlan)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu(Santiago Atitlan)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tiosh Abaj(Santiago Atitlan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vista Dorada(Santiago Atitlan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
278
62
15
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
62
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe ownerthe cottageslake atitlantuk tukpurified waterrustic charmbeautiful stonesan pedro volcanostone wallssingle bedbeautiful groundslocal artevery eveninghotel restaurantstayed longerboat dock
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Posada de Santiago is at a very nice location by lake Atitlan. La Hacienda has great volcano views. Having a morning coffee outside our room was a real treat.

Posada offers great breakfast menu. Lunch and dinner are OK. I wish there was a better offering of Guatemalan food. One can chose to have a meal in the restaurant, or by the lake. The latter comes with a higher service rate.

Santiago de Atitlan is within a walking distance, and it is a very interesting village with an old Church and nice markets.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed a few nights at Posada de Santiago during the low season in one of the standard rooms. The hotel itself has a great location, with a lake-front pool and garden area with great views and a small pontoon with free canoes. The rooms are however up the hill and out the back, and so we had no view or real awareness of the water. That said, we were just there to sleep, and spent great restful times looking out from the roof terrace above the restaurant and from the pool. The rooms were tasteful and very clean, with the handy addition of a purified water tap for refilling you water bottle etc. We found the service to be understated but excellent, for eg on arrival in the evening, our room was candlelit for us, and our waiter at dinner invited us to join him walking to his nearby farm the next day with no ulterior purpose. In my view, the food in the restaurant was great - especially the delicious breakfasts! We did not experience the problems other reviewers have mentioned with service and wait-times, although we were there during a quiet season and did not see the kitchen under pressure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I was disappointed. Food was average to poor. The bungalows sit one right behind the other... with no views of lake, only of the stone bungalow in front of you. Dark and a bit depressing. I liked the fireplace and candles, but I won't stay here again. There are many more hotels around the lake that provide captivating views of Lake Atitlan.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

During our recent visit to Lake Atitlán, we stayed in Santa Cruz. However, our group of six had a Saturday morning breakfast at Posada de Santiago. Fantastic! Best breakfast we had during our visit to Guatemala. Even the breakfast menu is very extensive. We all ordered a different breakfast and each of us spent the remainder of the day talking about how great theirs was. The dining room is beautifully decorated and the service was excellent. Hands down, my favorite breakfast spot in Central America.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank UNCBlue4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

It was nice to be near a real town w/real people, few tourists. The food was very good, the cabin OK -- kind of dark and dank for my tastes. My daughter and I did not experience the friendliness or service that others have mentioned. The owner was around occasionally but always seemed occupied. He would answer a question and move on. This being our first trip to the country, we did need some guidance and ended up getting it elsewhere. The local people working there were very friendly, but just not that helpful. I feel like this place is a bit tired and could use someone stronger at the helm. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photomom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews