We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The meal wasn't worth the 80.00 we spent”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I had a great experience at the restaurant on my previous visits...not this time. There was one other couple in the restaurant besides us. It took long time to get our appetizer We order a shrimp cocktail as an appetizer. The shrimp were warm and small. I am guessing they were frozen; not what I would have expected from an ocean front restaurant. The margarita's were even close in taste and alcohol content to the ones we've had previously. The chicken on our entree was so tough, you couldn't chew some of the pieces, there were alot more green peppers and onions, than chicken We spent 80.00 for a pathetic meal. This place has been removed from favorite places list. I will not go back

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2017

My wife and I just got back from our second visit to Paya Bay, and we can't wait to go back!

Such a peaceful place, you'll feel like you're all alone under the sun. The smell of the ocean air, the soothing rhythm of the surf, the breeze rustling through the palm trees... you'll be in heaven. The grounds are gorgeous and developed with nature in mind. Guest areas are tastefully designed to blend in with the surroundings. It's rustic and natural and very comfortable.

The room was not luxurious, but it suited us just fine. It was clean, colorful, the bed felt great, and the balcony overlooking the shore was the best thing to wake up to in the morning. There was a small seating area and a table, high ceiling with a fan, and plenty of natural light. The bathroom was small-ish, but gave us everything we needed. The shower was a stall which could have been bigger, but it was just right to wash off the sand and salt from a day on the beach. We saw one of the rooms that didn't overlook the ocean, and it had a much larger bathroom, but we'll take the view over that any day! There's a tv with dvd player in the room, and plenty (hundreds actually, but many were scratched or poor quality) of dvds you can borrow from the main house.

The staff were wonderful and made an effort to keep us happy, well-fed, and comfortable. Everyone was kind and friendly, and we felt like they appreciated us visiting. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask.

The food... mmmm-mmmm. Flavorful and fresh, with plenty of options to choose from. It's not a huge menu, but it's "right-sized" and there are specials almost every night. The chef would surely make you anything she could to keep your tummy happy. The best pineapple, papaya, and watermelon we've ever had! Highlights were the banana pancakes for breakfast, ceviche for lunch, fantastic plantains, and plenty of delicious fish! Their homemade hot sauce goes great with pretty much everything, and their coffee is rich and tasty. Refresh yourself with a cool fresh pineapple or watermelon juice. Fantastic!

The clothing-optional areas are tastefully done, comfortable, and very secluded. We never felt any prying eyes, and the occasional boat that passed showed no interest at all in our nakedness. Nudity in some areas is actually required. It's respectfully done and well implemented.

The snorkeling right from the beach is decent, but there's not much to see until you get closer to the reef (a 5 minute swim). The water is clear and the reefs are full of life and colorful fishes. The coral seemed in good health as well. There's quite a bit of seaweed on the top of the water, but that may have just been the time of year. Twice a day you can take a short boat ride to various locations near the reef where the underwater views are spectacular!

We're certainly looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but we preferred the one's overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank actuallymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We are nearing the end of our extended stay here for this year and are happy to report that it’s been awesome!

Past privacy issues for naturists have been addressed extensively by the installation of a coded security gate and a day pass program. There have only been a few unregistered “walk ins” and they have been quickly asked to leave by management. Overall the naturist guests we’ve spoken to have enjoyed their stays here and definitely plan to return.

As always, registered guests and day pass holders are welcome to be clothed or not as suits their comfort level, which is wonderful for those who may be curious but hesitant. Zone 3 is now posted as naturist only unless they have received prior approval from management to be clothed.

There have been additions to the trail system over the past year, along with new seating areas at Buccaneer Landing. The property is more beautiful than ever. We walk every morning around the 22 acres, enjoy a swim in the ocean, then a dip in the plunge pool, then head to the yoga pavilion for our morning yoga. Speaking of which there is a new yoga instructor here who is breathing new life into the wellness options at Paya Bay.

The restaurant and rooms maintain their Caribbean charm, and are being steadily freshened with new furnishings and equipment. We are pleased also with the latest improvements to the internet service over the past few weeks.

The same smiling faces greet us every year when we arrive. Having a virtual 0% turnover in staff tells you something about the family that owns Paya Bay. Kudos to Davinci, Lurlene and all the gang for your hard work and dedication. We’ll once again be sad to leave Paya Bay, our home away from home!

Room Tip: We like the hilltop rooms for the spaciousness and the king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jazzicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Paya Bay certainly means well and if we lived in the Americas then this resort would certainly become a regular holiday spot for us as there are not many places where snorkelling and nudism are both on the agenda. However crossing the Atlantic with the difficulties in flight connections and stop overs has probably diluted the attraction for us. If at all possible do not fly into Roatan on a Saturday afternoon - four flights arrive around the same time and despite every passport desk being manned it took well over 2.5 hours to get through. One of the lovely volunteers at the airport directing queues said that it could be bad but that this was the worst she had ever seen it.

Our driver happily stopped at a supermarket on the way for the four of us to stock up on drinks etc but by the end of the week we were wondering how much better the resort could be if we had not been allowed to take our own and had paid resort prices for all our drinks. Mind you much thought would need to be given to the drink list - the red wine was expensively awful but we did like the cocktails.

Virtually everybody involved with Paya Bay Resort is pleasant and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Most of the guests were equally friendly and we certainly felt the good vibes of the place.

The food went from the sublime to the ridiculous - the first 3-4 nights were excellent with good delicious menu options including lobster and a "special" every night. There were many breakfast options served to order. It was well prepared and served and we were quite happy. As the week progressed and the resort filled to capacity the ability of the kitchen to provide full service failed completely and we were offered buffet breakfasts and the "special" became the only option in the evening. The saving grace was that the last night special was the lobster. Thought the food on the beach party night was not as good as it could have been.

Paya (first syllable pronounced as in pork pie not as in pay day) is certainly remote which is actually what you want in a nudist resort. However it is definitely a clothing optional resort and it is a bit disconcerting to meet textile wedding guests on resort pathways - there was a ceremony on the Bliss Beach which had been designated nude that week. Some guests had been warned but we had not. It is a shame that Paya cannot become completely nudist but the economics obviously will not allow. While Buccaneer Landing is strictly no clothing it is also no Beach Bar. Staff will bring drinks but there is no way of communicating your requests. As telepathy is not yet an option maybe a telephone contact with the bar could be be installed?

We stayed in the cliff side rooms with great views and sound effects. Some reviewers suggested they are small - we disagreed nothing small about them in fact our rooms were one of the highlights of our stay.

We were a bit snorkellingly underwhelmed. The trip to Pigeon Cay was ok but completely textile with a visiting helicopter to boot. We left early and stopped to snorkel on the reef on the way back.

The yoga pavilion was wonderful.

Undoubtedly my worst problem was no see ums as I was bitten many times - I think it is an all day phenomenon and my sun product cannot tolerate repellent without seriously reducing protection. My friend used a different one that could take repellent and she had very few bites. If we return I will have to find a sun cream that I can reapply often and use with repellent as she did. Only saw one or two proper sized mosquitoes the whole time.

Overall the grounds were beautiful and well laid out - past problems with interlopers have been fixed by enclosing the property with locked gates on the outer boundaries. We really enjoyed the environment and wish Paya Bay Resort every success in these difficult times.

Room Tip: We loved cliff side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Enjoyed our stay and wished we were able to stay longer.
I agree with most of the other reviews but will add a couple of things.
The resort infrastructure is rather basic but nice and fits in with the natural setting. Wood and stone. There are little path ways carved out of the rock and bush that connect everything together. There are also pathways all over the area for nature walks or to secluded little sitting areas.
This is not a polished marble, white glove kind of place. No jet skies, beach music, pesky rec. guys or beach vendors. This is great for a relaxing stay in natural setting in a beauty full part of Roatan.
During our stay there was maybe 6 couples at the resort.
The food was good, not spectacular, and took forever to come but that sort of fit with the laid back atmosphere.
Rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable.
Staff was very pleasant and accommodating and made us feel very welcome.
The resort has two boats for snorkeling trips but one was broke down and the other was not in the best of shape.
A lot of small issues could be corrected. Fix the boats, don't pile supplies in the dinning room, get shower curtains that are long enough, more local food on the menu and some entertainment in the evening.
If nudity offends you this is not the place for you. Clothing optional is just that. No pressure one way or the other that I saw.
Over all we enjoyed our stay but do consider it to be rather over priced compared to other similar places we have been. If you consider that all you are getting for your money is just a very basic room, and use of the beach it is quite expensive. Food, boat trips, rides to town, drinks etc are all extra.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spookycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
35.2 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
30.5 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
30.6 km away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
603 reviews
32.7 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
267 reviews
12.7 km away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: $186 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing