We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES YES YES YES - Go there, stay there.”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2017

What a vibe! - First of all the facilities are world-class. Add to that an excellent view. Add to that the remote part of Roatan. Add to that excellent food. Add to that Yoga in the face of a sunset. And finally, add to that a beautify beach and you won't want to leave. I highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to enjoy a truly relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Plan to stay....this is the place to get right with your thoughts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoatanCommunity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Paya Bay Resort is the most amazing place in the Bay Islands.
I went on a day trip to the beach with friends, took a walk along the many pathways in the resort and was completely mesmerized by the natural beauty. Looks like its been design by people who appreciate nature and relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Aj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Being a small and family owned and run resort with total guests being usually about 8-10 couples, it's hard to believe the service and amenities. For instance, rooms with a view (some extending over a cliff where you can sleep and listen to waves breaking under your window --most nights we slept with windows open and A/C off); breakfast in an open-air dining room, and cooked to order while hummingbirds feed outside your window; lunches served at the restaurant or beach bar, and excellent dinners from a wide menu (much more choice than you would expect from the resort size). The staff make every effort to please, and you're treated as a real guest--like family.

This was our third visit and hopefully not our last--each time has been more fun and enjoyable. The snorkeling (Tom takes the snorkel boat out twice daily, weather permitting) was excellent--beautiful coral and great visibility.

If you're looking for a super plush resort, this is not it; if you're looking for a small, friendly, beautiful, and relaxing visit with great snorkeling and beautiful natural surroundings, it would be hard to find anything better.

Room Tip: The overhanging rooms are 1-4--smaller but unbelievable view; 5-8 are larger and brighter, but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NCTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I had a great experience at the restaurant on my previous visits...not this time. There was one other couple in the restaurant besides us. It took long time to get our appetizer We order a shrimp cocktail as an appetizer. The shrimp were warm and small. I am guessing they were frozen; not what I would have expected from an ocean front restaurant. The margarita's were even close in taste and alcohol content to the ones we've had previously. The chicken on our entree was so tough, you couldn't chew some of the pieces, there were alot more green peppers and onions, than chicken We spent 80.00 for a pathetic meal. This place has been removed from favorite places list. I will not go back

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

My wife and I just got back from our second visit to Paya Bay, and we can't wait to go back!

Such a peaceful place, you'll feel like you're all alone under the sun. The smell of the ocean air, the soothing rhythm of the surf, the breeze rustling through the palm trees... you'll be in heaven. The grounds are gorgeous and developed with nature in mind. Guest areas are tastefully designed to blend in with the surroundings. It's rustic and natural and very comfortable.

The room was not luxurious, but it suited us just fine. It was clean, colorful, the bed felt great, and the balcony overlooking the shore was the best thing to wake up to in the morning. There was a small seating area and a table, high ceiling with a fan, and plenty of natural light. The bathroom was small-ish, but gave us everything we needed. The shower was a stall which could have been bigger, but it was just right to wash off the sand and salt from a day on the beach. We saw one of the rooms that didn't overlook the ocean, and it had a much larger bathroom, but we'll take the view over that any day! There's a tv with dvd player in the room, and plenty (hundreds actually, but many were scratched or poor quality) of dvds you can borrow from the main house.

The staff were wonderful and made an effort to keep us happy, well-fed, and comfortable. Everyone was kind and friendly, and we felt like they appreciated us visiting. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask.

The food... mmmm-mmmm. Flavorful and fresh, with plenty of options to choose from. It's not a huge menu, but it's "right-sized" and there are specials almost every night. The chef would surely make you anything she could to keep your tummy happy. The best pineapple, papaya, and watermelon we've ever had! Highlights were the banana pancakes for breakfast, ceviche for lunch, fantastic plantains, and plenty of delicious fish! Their homemade hot sauce goes great with pretty much everything, and their coffee is rich and tasty. Refresh yourself with a cool fresh pineapple or watermelon juice. Fantastic!

The clothing-optional areas are tastefully done, comfortable, and very secluded. We never felt any prying eyes, and the occasional boat that passed showed no interest at all in our nakedness. Nudity in some areas is actually required. It's respectfully done and well implemented.

The snorkeling right from the beach is decent, but there's not much to see until you get closer to the reef (a 5 minute swim). The water is clear and the reefs are full of life and colorful fishes. The coral seemed in good health as well. There's quite a bit of seaweed on the top of the water, but that may have just been the time of year. Twice a day you can take a short boat ride to various locations near the reef where the underwater views are spectacular!

We're certainly looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but we preferred the one's overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank actuallymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
35.2 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
32.8 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
12.7 km away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
32.7 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
35 km away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: $222 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing