We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
West Bay Lodge and Spa(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Splash Inn Dive Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribe Tesoro(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Upachaya Eco-Lodge(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puerta Azul(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagrape Plantation Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cocolobo(West End)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
325
73
14
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
73
14
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspigeon cayblack iguanayoga pavilionbuccaneer landingsecret covecliffside roomcaptain tomnude beachclothing optional beachplunge poolday passsnorkeling tripsau naturelwest endgrilled shrimpnatural beautygarden of eden
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Paya Bay Resort is the most amazing place in the Bay Islands.
I went on a day trip to the beach with friends, took a walk along the many pathways in the resort and was completely mesmerized by the natural beauty. Looks like its been design by people who appreciate nature and relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Aj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Being a small and family owned and run resort with total guests being usually about 8-10 couples, it's hard to believe the service and amenities. For instance, rooms with a view (some extending over a cliff where you can sleep and listen to waves breaking under your window --most nights we slept with windows open and A/C off); breakfast in an open-air dining room, and cooked to order while hummingbirds feed outside your window; lunches served at the restaurant or beach bar, and excellent dinners from a wide menu (much more choice than you would expect from the resort size). The staff make every effort to please, and you're treated as a real guest--like family.

This was our third visit and hopefully not our last--each time has been more fun and enjoyable. The snorkeling (Tom takes the snorkel boat out twice daily, weather permitting) was excellent--beautiful coral and great visibility.

If you're looking for a super plush resort, this is not it; if you're looking for a small, friendly, beautiful, and relaxing visit with great snorkeling and beautiful natural surroundings, it would be hard to find anything better.

Room Tip: The overhanging rooms are 1-4--smaller but unbelievable view; 5-8 are larger and brighter, but still have a view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NCTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I had a great experience at the restaurant on my previous visits...not this time. There was one other couple in the restaurant besides us. It took long time to get our appetizer We order a shrimp cocktail as an appetizer. The shrimp were warm and small. I am guessing they were frozen; not what I would have expected from an ocean front restaurant. The margarita's were even close in taste and alcohol content to the ones we've had previously. The chicken on our entree was so tough, you couldn't chew some of the pieces, there were alot more green peppers and onions, than chicken We spent 80.00 for a pathetic meal. This place has been removed from favorite places list. I will not go back

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

My wife and I just got back from our second visit to Paya Bay, and we can't wait to go back!

Such a peaceful place, you'll feel like you're all alone under the sun. The smell of the ocean air, the soothing rhythm of the surf, the breeze rustling through the palm trees... you'll be in heaven. The grounds are gorgeous and developed with nature in mind. Guest areas are tastefully designed to blend in with the surroundings. It's rustic and natural and very comfortable.

The room was not luxurious, but it suited us just fine. It was clean, colorful, the bed felt great, and the balcony overlooking the shore was the best thing to wake up to in the morning. There was a small seating area and a table, high ceiling with a fan, and plenty of natural light. The bathroom was small-ish, but gave us everything we needed. The shower was a stall which could have been bigger, but it was just right to wash off the sand and salt from a day on the beach. We saw one of the rooms that didn't overlook the ocean, and it had a much larger bathroom, but we'll take the view over that any day! There's a tv with dvd player in the room, and plenty (hundreds actually, but many were scratched or poor quality) of dvds you can borrow from the main house.

The staff were wonderful and made an effort to keep us happy, well-fed, and comfortable. Everyone was kind and friendly, and we felt like they appreciated us visiting. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask.

The food... mmmm-mmmm. Flavorful and fresh, with plenty of options to choose from. It's not a huge menu, but it's "right-sized" and there are specials almost every night. The chef would surely make you anything she could to keep your tummy happy. The best pineapple, papaya, and watermelon we've ever had! Highlights were the banana pancakes for breakfast, ceviche for lunch, fantastic plantains, and plenty of delicious fish! Their homemade hot sauce goes great with pretty much everything, and their coffee is rich and tasty. Refresh yourself with a cool fresh pineapple or watermelon juice. Fantastic!

The clothing-optional areas are tastefully done, comfortable, and very secluded. We never felt any prying eyes, and the occasional boat that passed showed no interest at all in our nakedness. Nudity in some areas is actually required. It's respectfully done and well implemented.

The snorkeling right from the beach is decent, but there's not much to see until you get closer to the reef (a 5 minute swim). The water is clear and the reefs are full of life and colorful fishes. The coral seemed in good health as well. There's quite a bit of seaweed on the top of the water, but that may have just been the time of year. Twice a day you can take a short boat ride to various locations near the reef where the underwater views are spectacular!

We're certainly looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but we preferred the one's overlooking the ocean!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank actuallymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We are nearing the end of our extended stay here for this year and are happy to report that it’s been awesome!

Past privacy issues for naturists have been addressed extensively by the installation of a coded security gate and a day pass program. There have only been a few unregistered “walk ins” and they have been quickly asked to leave by management. Overall the naturist guests we’ve spoken to have enjoyed their stays here and definitely plan to return.

As always, registered guests and day pass holders are welcome to be clothed or not as suits their comfort level, which is wonderful for those who may be curious but hesitant. Zone 3 is now posted as naturist only unless they have received prior approval from management to be clothed.

There have been additions to the trail system over the past year, along with new seating areas at Buccaneer Landing. The property is more beautiful than ever. We walk every morning around the 22 acres, enjoy a swim in the ocean, then a dip in the plunge pool, then head to the yoga pavilion for our morning yoga. Speaking of which there is a new yoga instructor here who is breathing new life into the wellness options at Paya Bay.

The restaurant and rooms maintain their Caribbean charm, and are being steadily freshened with new furnishings and equipment. We are pleased also with the latest improvements to the internet service over the past few weeks.

The same smiling faces greet us every year when we arrive. Having a virtual 0% turnover in staff tells you something about the family that owns Paya Bay. Kudos to Davinci, Lurlene and all the gang for your hard work and dedication. We’ll once again be sad to leave Paya Bay, our home away from home!

Room Tip: We like the hilltop rooms for the spaciousness and the king beds.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jazzicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews