We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise!”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Very special place - remote and private. Clothing optional adds absolutely unique atmosphere! Resort has only 12 rooms and very often you can enjoy one of the beaches on your own!
Rooms on the cliff are out of this world! Balcony provides unbelievable view, sea breeze and sound of crushing waves!
Restaurant is good - great cocktails and view to dream about!
Staff is great! Our special thanks to Merci - I only mentioned that cliff rooms look great and she moved us to one of these rooms right away!
We loved every moment of our stay!!!

Room Tip: Cliff room is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

We visited Paya Bay for a day trip while we were on a cruise. We absolutely loved it. Everyone treated us very nicely and the private beaches were gorgeous. They even provided us our own room to change and shower in. We now plan on our next vacation going straight to this resort instead of visiting by cruise ship.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank buddymason97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

I loved the beautiful property on the remote East end of the island. Several pathways to explore. Small family owned business with friendly staff willing to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Wonderful pavilion overlooking the crystal blue sea, and beautiful sunset for evening yoga practice. I had lovely room with a king bed and sitting area and rather large balcony. (The only issue with the room was cold showers. Not a huge issue as after a day in the sun it was somewhat refreshing, however it would have been nice if I would have been informed before hand). Not sure if it was just in my building as on of the other ladies in our group was in the next room said the same. Overall it was an amazing stay, and recommend if you're looking for a place to get away from the fast pace life and just relax this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenieforet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

It was our third return trip to Paya Bay in Feb 2017, this time for 3 weeks. Almost like they could control the weather, there was only one day of cooler temperature and some rain. Our needs are simple. Tranquility, sun, sand, the ocean, food, and drinks. The atmosphere is very laid back, but staff will go a long way to cater to your needs, simply ask. Davinci, Lurlene, and Marci are always present and ready to help, as are any of the staff. The 22 acre property always has something new to discover from quiet coves to sun bathe, yoga pavilion with a view die for, hiking nature trails, caves and chill out spots, not to mention 3 beaches. We saw a green iguana for the first time on this trip. Their business model is simple and focused on catering to their clientele, they will not pressure you into any activities, but if snorkeling or scuba diving is your passion they will arrange for both easily.
We had a great time. Admittedly we have simple needs but if you are looking for simple accommodation in a beautiful and tranquil setting of sand, sun, and ocean, au naturel then this is the place. The view from the Black Iguana at happy hour is picture perfect. We are booked to return in November to once again escape the dreaded Canadian Winter and reconnect with the staff and the hot beach.
I would not say this is a great place for families as there really is nothing for kids to do. Great for couples looking to just relax and be together.

Room Tip: I love the cliff side rooms but they are small compared to the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Tell your friends you're going to Honduras for the weekend and you're likely to get some puzzled looks. Honduras? For the weekend? HONDURAS??

To be sure, the island of Roatan is a world away from the cities of Honduras. And, in fact, of the Caribbean islands we have visited, we are quite fond of this one. The stark contrast between glitzy resorts and impoverished shanty-towns is all but absent. Instead, if has the feel of old world fishing villages and people simply going about life.

As for Paya Bay, we ADORED the place. We had one of the cliff-side rooms with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. We were greeting upon arrival with a big welcoming hug from the matriarch of the property (her name escapes me) as if we were at a family reunion. And the care put into the ongoing development of the property is truly astounding, with a series of pathways through the jungle and along the sea, all naturist friendly during naturist weeks, which seem to be MOST weeks at this point. They've created so many little spots to sit back under a palapa or snooze in a hammock. True relaxation. And there are boat taxis that will take you to neighboring resorts if you want to change up your lunch options once in a while. No clothing necessary until you get close to shore.

Under the category of "know before you go," it's important to realize this is not a Marriott Hotel and Golf Resort. As others have mentioned, the rooms are simple and sweet - certainly more than adequate, but it's clear that maintenance can be a challenge in a remote, tropical location. Not that the room wasn't cleaned and cared for, but there is most certainly a rustic quality, especially in the shower and bathroom. We also experienced a prolonged power outage one night during our stay - on lobster night, no less - but apparently the kitchen can function just fine on gas stoves and battery operating lighting. It was truly dinner by candlelight. Some guests seemed a bit perturbed, but most just rolled with it.... "Candlelight dinner on the veranda overlooking the sea. COOL!" Electricity or not, things fold up around 10:00 pm, so if your a nightlife person, you might want to have a B plan. This is a place for peaceful rest and chillaxation.

As one who likes to stay connected, I can say the WIFI bounced back and forth between pretty good and "nope!" Again, part of remote island living. Which typically caused me to close my computer, grab a beer, and go for a soak at the little waterfall fed pool near the edge of the beach. Really what I should have been doing in the first place.

FINAL WORD: Go! But know you're not in a barricaded Tinseltown resort in Aruba. This place should be sold out ALL the time as they are a family enterprise really dedicated to making a lovely stay for their guests. We WILL be back

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
35.2 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
12.7 km away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
352 reviews
32.7 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
611 reviews
30.5 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
216 reviews
35 km away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: $282 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing