We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paya Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Splash Inn Dive Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Lodge and Spa(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Upachaya Eco-Lodge(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocolobo(West End)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barefoot Cay Resort(French Harbour)
US$154
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments(West End)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagrape Plantation Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribe Tesoro(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
325
72
14
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
72
14
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspigeon cayblack iguanayoga pavilionbuccaneer landingsecret covecliffside roomcaptain tomnude beachclothing optional beachplunge poolday passsnorkeling tripsau naturelwest endgrilled shrimpnatural beautygarden of eden
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Very special place - remote and private. Clothing optional adds absolutely unique atmosphere! Resort has only 12 rooms and very often you can enjoy one of the beaches on your own!
Rooms on the cliff are out of this world! Balcony provides unbelievable view, sea breeze and sound of crushing waves!
Restaurant is good - great cocktails and view to dream about!
Staff is great! Our special thanks to Merci - I only mentioned that cliff rooms look great and she moved us to one of these rooms right away!
We loved every moment of our stay!!!

Room Tip: Cliff room is great!!!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We visited Paya Bay for a day trip while we were on a cruise. We absolutely loved it. Everyone treated us very nicely and the private beaches were gorgeous. They even provided us our own room to change and shower in. We now plan on our next vacation going straight to this resort instead of visiting by cruise ship.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank buddymason97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

I loved the beautiful property on the remote East end of the island. Several pathways to explore. Small family owned business with friendly staff willing to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Wonderful pavilion overlooking the crystal blue sea, and beautiful sunset for evening yoga practice. I had lovely room with a king bed and sitting area and rather large balcony. (The only issue with the room was cold showers. Not a huge issue as after a day in the sun it was somewhat refreshing, however it would have been nice if I would have been informed before hand). Not sure if it was just in my building as on of the other ladies in our group was in the next room said the same. Overall it was an amazing stay, and recommend if you're looking for a place to get away from the fast pace life and just relax this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenieforet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

It was our third return trip to Paya Bay in Feb 2017, this time for 3 weeks. Almost like they could control the weather, there was only one day of cooler temperature and some rain. Our needs are simple. Tranquility, sun, sand, the ocean, food, and drinks. The atmosphere is very laid back, but staff will go a long way to cater to your needs, simply ask. Davinci, Lurlene, and Marci are always present and ready to help, as are any of the staff. The 22 acre property always has something new to discover from quiet coves to sun bathe, yoga pavilion with a view die for, hiking nature trails, caves and chill out spots, not to mention 3 beaches. We saw a green iguana for the first time on this trip. Their business model is simple and focused on catering to their clientele, they will not pressure you into any activities, but if snorkeling or scuba diving is your passion they will arrange for both easily.
We had a great time. Admittedly we have simple needs but if you are looking for simple accommodation in a beautiful and tranquil setting of sand, sun, and ocean, au naturel then this is the place. The view from the Black Iguana at happy hour is picture perfect. We are booked to return in November to once again escape the dreaded Canadian Winter and reconnect with the staff and the hot beach.
I would not say this is a great place for families as there really is nothing for kids to do. Great for couples looking to just relax and be together.

Room Tip: I love the cliff side rooms but they are small compared to the rest.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Tell your friends you're going to Honduras for the weekend and you're likely to get some puzzled looks. Honduras? For the weekend? HONDURAS??

To be sure, the island of Roatan is a world away from the cities of Honduras. And, in fact, of the Caribbean islands we have visited, we are quite fond of this one. The stark contrast between glitzy resorts and impoverished shanty-towns is all but absent. Instead, if has the feel of old world fishing villages and people simply going about life.

As for Paya Bay, we ADORED the place. We had one of the cliff-side rooms with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. We were greeting upon arrival with a big welcoming hug from the matriarch of the property (her name escapes me) as if we were at a family reunion. And the care put into the ongoing development of the property is truly astounding, with a series of pathways through the jungle and along the sea, all naturist friendly during naturist weeks, which seem to be MOST weeks at this point. They've created so many little spots to sit back under a palapa or snooze in a hammock. True relaxation. And there are boat taxis that will take you to neighboring resorts if you want to change up your lunch options once in a while. No clothing necessary until you get close to shore.

Under the category of "know before you go," it's important to realize this is not a Marriott Hotel and Golf Resort. As others have mentioned, the rooms are simple and sweet - certainly more than adequate, but it's clear that maintenance can be a challenge in a remote, tropical location. Not that the room wasn't cleaned and cared for, but there is most certainly a rustic quality, especially in the shower and bathroom. We also experienced a prolonged power outage one night during our stay - on lobster night, no less - but apparently the kitchen can function just fine on gas stoves and battery operating lighting. It was truly dinner by candlelight. Some guests seemed a bit perturbed, but most just rolled with it.... "Candlelight dinner on the veranda overlooking the sea. COOL!" Electricity or not, things fold up around 10:00 pm, so if your a nightlife person, you might want to have a B plan. This is a place for peaceful rest and chillaxation.

As one who likes to stay connected, I can say the WIFI bounced back and forth between pretty good and "nope!" Again, part of remote island living. Which typically caused me to close my computer, grab a beer, and go for a soak at the little waterfall fed pool near the edge of the beach. Really what I should have been doing in the first place.

FINAL WORD: Go! But know you're not in a barricaded Tinseltown resort in Aruba. This place should be sold out ALL the time as they are a family enterprise really dedicated to making a lovely stay for their guests. We WILL be back

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews