We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
86
79
39
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
79
39
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean front desk staff bistro lobby elevator wedding balconies chicago couch thermostat highway shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

As a loyal Marriott elite member, we've stayed at a great many of their properties. This one sadly has tossed in a few features that made an easy stay difficult - not a good thing.

Problems started when we first arrived. We checked in and pulled around to the far corner of the complex so we could use the elevator to get up to our third floor room. With our hands full of luggage we tried to enter the building which for security reasons has a 24-hour locked door where you have to wave your key over a panel by the entrance to unlock it. Nothing happened. Great, so we had to put all of our luggage back in our vehicle and walk back up to the lobby. Along the way, we try a second door which also won't let us in. The clerk doesn't believe that we can't unlock the door and walks off with our key to prove it to himself. He proudly comes back and tells us no problem it works for him. Whatever. WIth a schedule to keep, we go back to our car, pull it to front of the hotel, unload it, and carry our luggage all the way back to the elevator at the far corner of the building. Fortunately, the key at least works on the room lock. Leaving the building, we see another guest locked out the back entrance door unable to get his key to work either, so let him in. We get back later in the evening and with time on our hands we set about trying to again enter via one of the locked entrances. Finally after 10 minutes or so, we find the one and only position for the key to unlock the door - in all our years, we have never seen a door lock of this type with such a precise alignment requirement. The next day we come across two other guests who cannot get their keys to work either - our conclusion, there is something seriously wrong, but the staff and/or management don't give a...or they would fix the issue instead of making it some sort of sick game.

Another bizarre problem - most properties have two or three luggage carts kept by the front door to help guests with lots of luggage. Here, they keep their luggage carts in one of the stair wells where you have to go hunt for them. Not only that, but the fire door from the stairwell into the interior hallway has a handicapped hook-style door handle that just perfectly catches the vertical bars on the luggage carts making it very near impossible for one person to get the cart into the building where it will do some good. Again, another example where the hotel could help guests instead of making their stay more difficult.

Add to that the noise problem from poor insulation or construction and you have a recipe for a really poor stay. We won't be coming back and suggest you stay away as well.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank interceptpubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina S, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for being a Marriott Elite Member. We value your input and loyalty. I am the General Manager and would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience you might of experienced while staying on the property. The locks on our doors, are locked 24 hours to secure our guests safety. They are a new concept that requires just to hold your key in front of the lock; and within a few seconds it will pop open. The front desk assistant was trying to show you that if you try to swipe it or wave the key card up and down, it confuses the reader and will not unlock. As far as him walking you all the way back to our property, it’s always better to view the procedure hands on. I apologize if you feel he was trying to prove anything else.

On the luggage carts, our entrance area does not warrant enough space to have them all out there in the lobby area. We keep them as close as possible, and I apologize that my front desk staff did not get you one. I see you noticed the location being by an exit door, it is the closest area to keep all 4 carts. Again, I apologize that you had an issue with getting the cart out of the stairwell.

We are a courtyard property, so we do have open space and outdoor furniture for our guests to relax and enjoy. I guess the noise can sometimes be a little loud. We are a solid building, each one of our sleeping rooms does have sliding doors and some with complete balconies. This also might cause a little bit of disturbance in your room as well.

Please accept our sincere apology.

Respectfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Staff was extremely friendly, rooms were comfortable and clean, and the food was good. slightly slow service for breakfast but overly accommodating staff tried to make up for it. Pool doesn't open until 7am so not good for business travelers who like to swim before work. It did look like a good size pool though and wish it was open. Fitness center is small but provides the basics.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jrzyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The staff was great very good trip the rooms were clean and the food was great. The only issues with your room was that of your room is facing the sun as it is setting, the temperature in the room is hot and takes a while to cool down. Other than that great hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dhill1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Other than offering only Starbucks coffee (and there are those of us that HATE Starbucks,) the food and drink at the restaurant were excellent!. Each booth has a mini HD tv!
Bed was very comfortable. Lots of channels on the room tv.
If you are going to the Race Track for a meeting or to watch the races, this hotel is less than 10 minutes away.
Lots of nice restaurants close by. Ate at 'Jameson's' - good steak and great martinis!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelak815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We visited for our wedding anniversary. We come from Madison, and love to go to Mitsuwa Marketplace nearby. It's easier for us to stay the night and get the most out of the drive. We absolutely love that your hotel offers Japan TV in the rooms, it's incredibly unique and we love watching it! When we checked in, we were given the exact room we wanted, as we do have a favorite from previous stays. The lady at the front desk was absolutely wonderful, and later sent up a note offering a free glass of wine at the bar, which we very much enjoyed. I really wish I had gotten her name, but she worked the morning shift on 4/29. She by far gave us the most outstanding customer service we have ever received at any hotel, including our Disney stays.

There are a few downsides. First, there's no hot tub anymore. This used to be our favorite morning ritual while staying here to relax and wake up, but they got rid of it for some reason. We tried going to the pool, but quickly got routed out by unsupervised kids (not the hotel's fault, just stupid parents who drop off their kids then run). Second, the room walls are thin. We could constantly hear our neighbors enjoying some pleasure time at all hours. Last, I wish they offered a breakfast buffet. Most hotels do, but for some reason this one does not.

Overall though, we will be coming back. Thank you so much for a great weekend!

Room Tip: High Floor
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews