We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arlington Heights
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Great comfortable place to stay in the outer area of downtown Chicago! Everyone is so helpful and friendly, we had a great experience.We would stay there again next time we visit Chicago. The young man that checked us in Friday evening was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get the room that faces the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lizza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

As a loyal Marriott elite member, we've stayed at a great many of their properties. This one sadly has tossed in a few features that made an easy stay difficult - not a good thing.

Problems started when we first arrived. We checked in and pulled around to the far corner of the complex so we could use the elevator to get up to our third floor room. With our hands full of luggage we tried to enter the building which for security reasons has a 24-hour locked door where you have to wave your key over a panel by the entrance to unlock it. Nothing happened. Great, so we had to put all of our luggage back in our vehicle and walk back up to the lobby. Along the way, we try a second door which also won't let us in. The clerk doesn't believe that we can't unlock the door and walks off with our key to prove it to himself. He proudly comes back and tells us no problem it works for him. Whatever. WIth a schedule to keep, we go back to our car, pull it to front of the hotel, unload it, and carry our luggage all the way back to the elevator at the far corner of the building. Fortunately, the key at least works on the room lock. Leaving the building, we see another guest locked out the back entrance door unable to get his key to work either, so let him in. We get back later in the evening and with time on our hands we set about trying to again enter via one of the locked entrances. Finally after 10 minutes or so, we find the one and only position for the key to unlock the door - in all our years, we have never seen a door lock of this type with such a precise alignment requirement. The next day we come across two other guests who cannot get their keys to work either - our conclusion, there is something seriously wrong, but the staff and/or management don't give a...or they would fix the issue instead of making it some sort of sick game.

Another bizarre problem - most properties have two or three luggage carts kept by the front door to help guests with lots of luggage. Here, they keep their luggage carts in one of the stair wells where you have to go hunt for them. Not only that, but the fire door from the stairwell into the interior hallway has a handicapped hook-style door handle that just perfectly catches the vertical bars on the luggage carts making it very near impossible for one person to get the cart into the building where it will do some good. Again, another example where the hotel could help guests instead of making their stay more difficult.

Add to that the noise problem from poor insulation or construction and you have a recipe for a really poor stay. We won't be coming back and suggest you stay away as well.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank interceptpubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina S, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for being a Marriott Elite Member. We value your input and loyalty. I am the General Manager and would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience you might of experienced while staying on the property. The locks on our doors, are locked 24 hours to secure our guests safety. They are a new concept that requires just to hold your key in front of the lock; and within a few seconds it will pop open. The front desk assistant was trying to show you that if you try to swipe it or wave the key card up and down, it confuses the reader and will not unlock. As far as him walking you all the way back to our property, it’s always better to view the procedure hands on. I apologize if you feel he was trying to prove anything else.

On the luggage carts, our entrance area does not warrant enough space to have them all out there in the lobby area. We keep them as close as possible, and I apologize that my front desk staff did not get you one. I see you noticed the location being by an exit door, it is the closest area to keep all 4 carts. Again, I apologize that you had an issue with getting the cart out of the stairwell.

We are a courtyard property, so we do have open space and outdoor furniture for our guests to relax and enjoy. I guess the noise can sometimes be a little loud. We are a solid building, each one of our sleeping rooms does have sliding doors and some with complete balconies. This also might cause a little bit of disturbance in your room as well.

Please accept our sincere apology.

Respectfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Staff was extremely friendly, rooms were comfortable and clean, and the food was good. slightly slow service for breakfast but overly accommodating staff tried to make up for it. Pool doesn't open until 7am so not good for business travelers who like to swim before work. It did look like a good size pool though and wish it was open. Fitness center is small but provides the basics.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jrzyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The staff was great very good trip the rooms were clean and the food was great. The only issues with your room was that of your room is facing the sun as it is setting, the temperature in the room is hot and takes a while to cool down. Other than that great hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dhill1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Other than offering only Starbucks coffee (and there are those of us that HATE Starbucks,) the food and drink at the restaurant were excellent!. Each booth has a mini HD tv!
Bed was very comfortable. Lots of channels on the room tv.
If you are going to the Race Track for a meeting or to watch the races, this hotel is less than 10 minutes away.
Lots of nice restaurants close by. Ate at 'Jameson's' - good steak and great martinis!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelak815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington Heights hotels
10.9 km away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#7 of 10 in Arlington Heights
138 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW - Arlington Heights
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW -...
#4 of 10 in Arlington Heights
80 reviews
0.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Heights
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Hei...
#1 of 10 in Arlington Heights
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - A...
#2 of 10 in Arlington Heights
622 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Arlington Heights
96 reviews
10.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Arlington Heights
Days Inn & Suites Arlington Heig...
#3 of 10 in Arlington Heights
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South

Address: 100 W Algonquin Rd, Arlington Heights, IL 60005-4404
Region: United States > Illinois > Arlington Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arlington Heights
#5 Business Hotel in Arlington Heights
Price Range: $115 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South Hotel Arlington Heights
Courtyard Arlington Heights
Arlington Heights Marriott
Arlington Heights Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing