We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Des Moines West KOA
Nearby Hotels
Motel 6 Des Moines West(West Des Moines)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
West Des Moines Marriott(West Des Moines)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West(West Des Moines)
US$82
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Des Moines West/Jordan Creek(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
35
28
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
28
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitrestroom facilitiesbridges of madison countyheading westsmall pondhook upspull thrudes moinescamping tripwould definitely stay here againcabingraveldeluxeinterstatewinterset
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is the first KOA we've stayed at and we had a great experience. We rolled in late - about 8:45 pm - and had no trouble checking in and getting to our spot. The place was very clean and the staff was friendly. There was plenty for the kids to do and they loved the place instantly. It was very quiet at night and we had no trouble sleeping. We will definitely stay here again if we travel through the area in the future.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

We're so happy to hear you had a positive first KOA experience with us, Dana! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, our activities and amenities, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you. Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We are in town for a family wedding and decided to camp instead of doing the hotel thing. We are so glad we did. The deluxe cabin (sleeps 4) has a full bathroom and a kitchenette. The kitchen is stocked with some basic supplies that we packed just in case not realizing they would be provided. AC was a blessing this week. The grill/patio area is beautiful! Being in town for the week we were happy to pay for the $10 fun pass for each of our kids. The pool is clean and there is plenty of room to sit under the tents that provided for shade. The kids liked the shallow ledge around the whole pool where they could walk the edge even on the deep end.
We had a slight incident with a rude employee but when brought to another employees attn our situation was taken care of immediately and every single other employee was/has always been super friendly.
We are so happy we chose to stay here even though it's 30 mins from the family we are visiting!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kristens723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We're honored you chose us during your time in town, Kristen! We're thrilled you enjoyed your cabin, the fun pass, and the pool. Thanks so much for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

This KOA advertised a jumping pillow and other fun things. When we arrived we learned it was an additional $10 per kid for a fun pass. I was really irritated. I think the website should incident additional charges when it's applicable. The place was very clean and workers were very kind. For those reasons I would go back and maybe skip on the fun pass.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We definitely want to make sure we are communicating with our guests as clearly as possible so there are no surprises, so we really appreciate you sharing your comments with us. We'll pass them along to our management team and see if there are ways we can improve for future guests. We do hope you will come back to see us again soon and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Wow.. Talk about a cut above! Nice sites. Although they could use more trees, the ones they have are huge and beautiful. All sites are at the perfect angel so RV will shade it's own front side, anyway. The staff is extremely nice. Laundry's open 24 hours and reasonable. Pool, hot tub and grounds are immaculate! Plenty of beautiful places to walk the dogs and geese around the pond aren't pooping all over the grounds like at some other parks. There are well placed cyclone fences that keep them happily away at a distance. We especially appreciated their K-9 camp as it had two large fenced in yards--again, very clean. Our wonderful family dogs aren't so good with other dogs. Here we could let them have one side alone and not ruin it for others!! It was a wonderful park experience and wish we could stay longer. :)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Connie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We wish you could've stayed longer too, Connie - maybe next time! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and your campsite, the pool, facilities, and dog park. Thank you for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Made a reservation for the premium concrete pad site with grill and swing. Confirmation of reservation in hand and was told they weren't sure what happened however we were not on that site. They put us on the site next to it and we later watched the people they gave it to pull in. I assume they were staying there for the weekend as opposed to overnight like we did however it's a bit shady to pull that last minute and not try to call before as they had our phone and email.

Wifi is useless. Need Facebook to login but the code says it doesn't work.

Pool was nice and the rest of the amenities are typical KOA pay per use. They have a wristband which includes a 30 cart/bike rental and other activities.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mierwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our apologies that there was a mixup in regards to the type of campsite you received, we do reserve on a first come, first serve basis and length of stay does not have any bearing on that. We have passed along your comments in an effort to find out where the mixup occurred and will do our best to prevent it from happening again. We wish you all the best and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews