We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Everything Except One Thigng!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Des Moines West KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed here three nights and it was a very nice, quiet place to be! We could have given this a 5 rating except for the fact that our site was not level and we were sitting in about an inch of water with algae growing in it. We did speak to them about this and they offered to move us but the site we would have moved to was almost as bad.
The pool is very nice and we just loved the dog parks! Yes, two!
The park could use a few more trees in the area where we were assigned but there are some sites closer to the office with beautiful big trees.
The WIFI was free but it was VERY BAD!
We would definitely stay here again but we would request a Deluxe Site- they looked amazing!

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe Site!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cheryl920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thanks for your kind review, Cheryl! We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay, although we do apologize for the water that was in your campsite. Other than that, we're glad you enjoyed the pool and dog parks. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is the first KOA we've stayed at and we had a great experience. We rolled in late - about 8:45 pm - and had no trouble checking in and getting to our spot. The place was very clean and the staff was friendly. There was plenty for the kids to do and they loved the place instantly. It was very quiet at night and we had no trouble sleeping. We will definitely stay here again if we travel through the area in the future.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

We're so happy to hear you had a positive first KOA experience with us, Dana! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, our activities and amenities, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you. Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We are in town for a family wedding and decided to camp instead of doing the hotel thing. We are so glad we did. The deluxe cabin (sleeps 4) has a full bathroom and a kitchenette. The kitchen is stocked with some basic supplies that we packed just in case not realizing they would be provided. AC was a blessing this week. The grill/patio area is beautiful! Being in town for the week we were happy to pay for the $10 fun pass for each of our kids. The pool is clean and there is plenty of room to sit under the tents that provided for shade. The kids liked the shallow ledge around the whole pool where they could walk the edge even on the deep end.
We had a slight incident with a rude employee but when brought to another employees attn our situation was taken care of immediately and every single other employee was/has always been super friendly.
We are so happy we chose to stay here even though it's 30 mins from the family we are visiting!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kristens723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We're honored you chose us during your time in town, Kristen! We're thrilled you enjoyed your cabin, the fun pass, and the pool. Thanks so much for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

This KOA advertised a jumping pillow and other fun things. When we arrived we learned it was an additional $10 per kid for a fun pass. I was really irritated. I think the website should incident additional charges when it's applicable. The place was very clean and workers were very kind. For those reasons I would go back and maybe skip on the fun pass.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We definitely want to make sure we are communicating with our guests as clearly as possible so there are no surprises, so we really appreciate you sharing your comments with us. We'll pass them along to our management team and see if there are ways we can improve for future guests. We do hope you will come back to see us again soon and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Wow.. Talk about a cut above! Nice sites. Although they could use more trees, the ones they have are huge and beautiful. All sites are at the perfect angel so RV will shade it's own front side, anyway. The staff is extremely nice. Laundry's open 24 hours and reasonable. Pool, hot tub and grounds are immaculate! Plenty of beautiful places to walk the dogs and geese around the pond aren't pooping all over the grounds like at some other parks. There are well placed cyclone fences that keep them happily away at a distance. We especially appreciated their K-9 camp as it had two large fenced in yards--again, very clean. Our wonderful family dogs aren't so good with other dogs. Here we could let them have one side alone and not ruin it for others!! It was a wonderful park experience and wish we could stay longer. :)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Connie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We wish you could've stayed longer too, Connie - maybe next time! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and your campsite, the pool, facilities, and dog park. Thank you for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adel
21.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Stuart
23.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
608 reviews
23.1 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
599 reviews
23.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
175 reviews
22.9 km away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Moines West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines West KOA

Address: 34308 L Avenue, Adel, IA
Region: United States > Iowa > Adel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Adel
Number of rooms: 82

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing