We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to local attractions”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Des Moines West KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Far enough from the highway to be peaceful. Level gravel sites, all drive through. Water, sewer, electric plus cable. Opened April 1 and still working the kinks out. Plenty of play opportunities for children. Pleasant staff. Wi-Fi is not hi-speed at this remote location. The Racoon River is just up the road. Convenient to the Bridges of Madison County and John Wayne Birthplace.

Room Tip: If you don't need the bathroom take a spot back by the lake away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Garth, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Des Moines area. We really appreciate you pointing out all the fantastic amenities we offer and will definitely pass along your concerns regarding the wireless internet speeds. We hope you will come back and see us again during the summer season when we get even better and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2016

Stayed 4 nights for business. Stayed in a deluxe cabin. We just couldn't get over how spacious it was.Love the jumping pillow, jump shot and the mining. The bath house is stunning! You can really tell these owners have put a lot of thought and pride into this park.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltergeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Thank you for choosing us during your time in the area, Walter! We are happy you enjoyed your cabin, our jumping pillow, facilities, and grounds. We really appreciate the thoughtful review, and hope to have you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Deluxe Cabin #12 which has a beautiful view of the lake. We were here for 4 nights. The cabin had everything we needed and more. The bed was very comfy and the ac worked very well. Bathroom was very clean. The porch overlooking the lake was amazing. The porch had a table with chairs, a comfortable swing, a top-notch fire pit and a gas grill. You will never find all that in a hotel room!
The campground was clean, weed-free, awesome pavilion, lots of kids amenities, two-sided dog park and the bathrooms were ultra-modern and did I mention CLEAN!
Highly recommend if you are in the area.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We are so happy to hear you loved your cabin so much, Kay! We want our cabins to feel exactly like a perfect home away from home for our guests, and it sounds like you were able to get some great use out of it during your stay. We are also glad you enjoyed our grounds, amenities, dog park, and facilities. Thank you for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Best rv site we've stayed so far, love the playground. We were very happy with our stay. My son love the playground. I like that they keep the rv campground clean. My family would definitely come back again. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank nina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with your family. Thank you for your recommendation, Nina!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Was in the area for 4 days for a business meeting and was really impressed with the entire experience. Cabin was clean and well thought out for placement and comfort. When traveling I usually try to stay in cabin at campgrounds rather than hotels and this is one of the best I have been to.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank netime-allthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thank you for choosing to camp with us during your recent visit to the area! We appreciate your feedback on your stay in one of our cabins. We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Des Moines West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines West KOA

Address: 34308 L Avenue, Adel, IA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Adel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Adel
Number of rooms: 82

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing