We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Des Moines West(West Des Moines)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
West Des Moines Marriott(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West(West Des Moines)
US$229
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$153
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Des Moines West/Jordan Creek(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
35
28
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
28
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitweekend activitiesrestroom facilitieslarge dogheading westbridges of madison countycamping tripsmall pondhook upspull thrudes moineswould definitely stay here againcabindeluxeinterstateamenitieswinterset
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We had a very good time. The cabins were nice and much better than being cooped up in a hotel while we visited Des Moines. The restroom facilities were quite nice and the kids enjoyed all of the activities. The pool was rather small for the number of guests and the cabins and some sites were way too close to each other. It feels more like a parking lot than a nature type camping experience. It would be nice to see more wooded area and some of the cabins moved further away from each other when the expansion is done. Its a little crowded and uncomfortable sitting around so close to other people. We rented a camping cabin and it was clean and provided for the basic necessities (utilizing the public showers and restrooms, which was okay for the cost). The staff at the KOA seemed to like their jobs and were very friendly.

Room Tip: Not sure - all sites are too close to each other in proximity
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayBerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

We appreciate your compliments to our staff and campground, thank you! We also appreciate your suggestions and have already passed them on to our management team. Thank you for camping with us! We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Loved our pull thru spot with the patio and patio furniture. The weather was great and the campground was clean and well maintained. Staff was nice, will definitely go back.They have a very nice store with local items and wine.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, Lori! We're happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our campground clean and well-kept. We'd love to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

They work hard here to keep families entertained. Park is very well maintained. Staff very friendly! They escort you to you site as soon as you arrive & have you check in later, very efficient. The sites are all FHU PT's.

My complaint is to the campers, pick up your dogs poo and quit walking through occupied campsites!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

We're happy to hear that you were impressed with our clean campground and friendly staff! Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

This was an unplanned stop heading west. Check in took less than ten minutes and we were escorted to the site. Quiet and clean with nice hook ups. Lots of things for kids to do to burn of the energy after a long day on the road. What a nice surprise. Glad we stopped.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank mcars302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

We're glad you stopped too! We are happy that check-in was simple and that you enjoyed your campsite and our activities. Thanks for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Spent the night on our way ti Colorado. Lots of sites and family fun. Only issue was the dust that stirred up with bike riders and a windy day! The staff was great and very helpful. Also a carryout pizza place on site!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for overnighting with us on your way to Colorado, Barbara! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us as well as some of our delicious pizza. We hope that you will come back to camp with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews