We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Des Moines West(West Des Moines)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
West Des Moines Marriott(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West(West Des Moines)
US$199
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$188
US$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek(West Des Moines)(Great Value!)
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
35
28
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
28
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitweekend activitiesrestroom facilitieslarge dogheading westbridges of madison countycamping tripsmall pondhook upspull thrudes moineswould definitely stay here againcabindeluxeinterstateamenitieswinterset
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This was the first time our family stayed at a KOA. We were left with such a good impression that we will continue to stay at them. This location had a really welcoming, friendly, and responsive staff. The grounds and cabin itself were clean and well-maintained. Our 7-year-old son loved all the outdoor activities and meeting new friends. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciam214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Your great review and high recommendation mean a lot to us, thank you! We're so glad to hear that our staff made your feel welcomed and that you found our campground to be well-kept! You're welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I have stayed here multiple times and will be back. It is one of the cleanest and nicest staffed KOAs in the country. There are plenty of activities on the weekends for families. The pool area is very clean. The sites are very close to level. It is enough off the interstate that it is quiet and peaceful. We enjoy all of the pull thru spots. The restrooms are clean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC_Chief_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We're happy to hear that you continue to find our staff to be friendly and our campground clean and well-kept! Thank you for your great review! We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I booked this site/location about 2 months in advance for an overnight stay on our way through central Iowa. When I arrived, I went through the normal KOA check in procedure but there was already an RV on the site when we were escorted. It took nearly an hour to resolve after an already very lengthy travel day and was not a welcome end to the day. I was just thankful I did not arrive after hours (which I often do) because our assigned site would likely have been occupied with no one to resolve the problem. Staff did offer apologies as well as service recovery which was appreciated. If I ever stayed here again, I would definitely call ahead the day of arrival and confirm the site is available. Otherwise, well kept campground with nice facilities and easy freeway access.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvtravelguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for camping with us mid-summer and for taking the opportunity to leave us a review. We are very sorry that there was someone on the site that you requested upon your arrival. This is a rare occasion and not a typical occurrence here at the park. We were able to move the other guest to a different site as quickly as we were able to. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress again in the future and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We had a very good time. The cabins were nice and much better than being cooped up in a hotel while we visited Des Moines. The restroom facilities were quite nice and the kids enjoyed all of the activities. The pool was rather small for the number of guests and the cabins and some sites were way too close to each other. It feels more like a parking lot than a nature type camping experience. It would be nice to see more wooded area and some of the cabins moved further away from each other when the expansion is done. Its a little crowded and uncomfortable sitting around so close to other people. We rented a camping cabin and it was clean and provided for the basic necessities (utilizing the public showers and restrooms, which was okay for the cost). The staff at the KOA seemed to like their jobs and were very friendly.

Room Tip: Not sure - all sites are too close to each other in proximity
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayBerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

We appreciate your compliments to our staff and campground, thank you! We also appreciate your suggestions and have already passed them on to our management team. Thank you for camping with us! We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Loved our pull thru spot with the patio and patio furniture. The weather was great and the campground was clean and well maintained. Staff was nice, will definitely go back.They have a very nice store with local items and wine.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, Lori! We're happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our campground clean and well-kept. We'd love to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews