We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice KOA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Des Moines West KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This KOA is one of the nicest I have ever stayed. It is well run and impeccably maintained. All sites are good sized, and the deluxe sites are great. Not only are they wide and long, they come with a large concrete patio with chairs, table, swing and fire pit. In addition, the park has two large dog runs and grass between all sites, many activities for kids, and even a small pond on site. It is very convenient to Des Moines, Winterset (John Wayne's birth place), and the bridges of Madison County. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

It's so nice to be considered as one of the nicest KOAs that you have ever stayed at - thank you! We truly appreciate your kind review and hope to welcome you back to the park again in the future. Take care, Bobby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

This was the first time our family stayed at a KOA. We were left with such a good impression that we will continue to stay at them. This location had a really welcoming, friendly, and responsive staff. The grounds and cabin itself were clean and well-maintained. Our 7-year-old son loved all the outdoor activities and meeting new friends. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciam214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Your great review and high recommendation mean a lot to us, thank you! We're so glad to hear that our staff made your feel welcomed and that you found our campground to be well-kept! You're welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I have stayed here multiple times and will be back. It is one of the cleanest and nicest staffed KOAs in the country. There are plenty of activities on the weekends for families. The pool area is very clean. The sites are very close to level. It is enough off the interstate that it is quiet and peaceful. We enjoy all of the pull thru spots. The restrooms are clean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC_Chief_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We're happy to hear that you continue to find our staff to be friendly and our campground clean and well-kept! Thank you for your great review! We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I booked this site/location about 2 months in advance for an overnight stay on our way through central Iowa. When I arrived, I went through the normal KOA check in procedure but there was already an RV on the site when we were escorted. It took nearly an hour to resolve after an already very lengthy travel day and was not a welcome end to the day. I was just thankful I did not arrive after hours (which I often do) because our assigned site would likely have been occupied with no one to resolve the problem. Staff did offer apologies as well as service recovery which was appreciated. If I ever stayed here again, I would definitely call ahead the day of arrival and confirm the site is available. Otherwise, well kept campground with nice facilities and easy freeway access.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvtravelguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for camping with us mid-summer and for taking the opportunity to leave us a review. We are very sorry that there was someone on the site that you requested upon your arrival. This is a rare occasion and not a typical occurrence here at the park. We were able to move the other guest to a different site as quickly as we were able to. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress again in the future and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We had a very good time. The cabins were nice and much better than being cooped up in a hotel while we visited Des Moines. The restroom facilities were quite nice and the kids enjoyed all of the activities. The pool was rather small for the number of guests and the cabins and some sites were way too close to each other. It feels more like a parking lot than a nature type camping experience. It would be nice to see more wooded area and some of the cabins moved further away from each other when the expansion is done. Its a little crowded and uncomfortable sitting around so close to other people. We rented a camping cabin and it was clean and provided for the basic necessities (utilizing the public showers and restrooms, which was okay for the cost). The staff at the KOA seemed to like their jobs and were very friendly.

Room Tip: Not sure - all sites are too close to each other in proximity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayBerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

We appreciate your compliments to our staff and campground, thank you! We also appreciate your suggestions and have already passed them on to our management team. Thank you for camping with us! We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Des Moines West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines West KOA

Address: 34308 L Avenue, Adel, IA
Region: United States > Iowa > Adel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Adel
Number of rooms: 82

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing