We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$121
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$154
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
18
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews several buildings whiskey bar a nice place to stay amana colonies woolen magna wedding suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Industrial fashioned hotel. Huge rooms! Nicest staff! Great bar! Best sleep I have ever had in hotel, beds are great! Staff goes far and beyond what you would expect. You will not be sorry if you stay here.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judiung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

Sadly, the service has killed this experience for us. I have never seen someone wait 15 minutes before only to get served when another guest walked into the kitchen to let them know customers were waiting. Food was great, but service severely lacking.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sarahcD3346BV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2021

We were in the middle of a 14 day road trip and spent two nights here. This hotel is absolutely first class. The repurposing of this old building to the use as a hotel is amazing. It is clean, the rooms are spacious, the common areas are large and bright. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pet friendly. The area is safe and full of history. It makes you want to get out and walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

It is not perfect, however. As I noted, we were in the middle of an extended road trip. It is our routine to stop about the mid-point to refresh, do laundry, etc. That is the problem. There are no laundry facilities in this hotel for guest use. There is also no laundromat in any of the Amana Colonies. In fact, the nearest laundry facilities are almost 20 miles away in Iowa City or Cedar Rapids. This was an unexpected inconvenience for us.

Also, there is no portico over the entrance to the lobby of the hotel, only a very small cover. This is only a problem if you are trying to load/unload luggage in pouring rain. Ask me how I know, LOL.

In short, if we happen to be in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay here again. But not if we need to do any laundry.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Almost minimalist décor and at the same time beautifully done; tying in the history of the area.
Obviously still suffering growing pains. Between a new business and covid reopening there were several new staff who did not know their products yet.
Supper there is pricey, but different than the German cuisine everywhere else.
I would recommend this place to stay if in Amana, however, after being there, I'm not sure I'd recommend spending more than one night in that area.

Room tip: The mill stream is not necessarily attractive view, but it was prettier than looking at the parking lot
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nursenjm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew Prange, Other at Hotel Millwright, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review and provide us with valuable feedback. We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in providing great service, so we will be sure to work with those team members to make sure they are all up to speed and knowledgeable in not time!

We hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2021

The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. History is everywhere, and the King room could not have been better. Like a Chicago loft, but better, with a huge TV screen, and a giant rainshower shower head. Great location and a wonderful staff, from May at the front desk to Michelle at the Indigo Bar.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RichardF3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew Prange, Other at Hotel Millwright, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews