We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Visitor”

Ge-Angelo's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 166 Restaurants in Ames
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 April 2021

Ge'Angelos sets the standard for pizza in the area. Always done to perfection. The crust is soo good, crisp but not too thin, chewy but not doughy. It seems contradictory but it just really good. They use only fresh ingredients including local items like their Graziano Sausage.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R9216BHnathanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2021 via mobile

Not great. Chicken parm was soggy and sauce was bland. They only do take out. Cheese bread was good.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank IowaTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

We have eaten here before and returned for another great experience. However, after an hour of waiting, patrons coming in later, receiving their dinners before us, we asked about our order. It did arrive, but it looked like it was the end of the days meals. Not the quality we had experienced before. Good portions, usually great, but not this time. No apologies or accommodations for being served so late.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Luvmyliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019

Enjoyed a relaxed early evening meal. Service was prompt and friendly. Salads were a little wilted; but taste was OK. Open face grazziano's Italian Sausage sandwich was very tasty. Tuscon Chicken panini was a bit over cooked. Will go back.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seymour50266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

We've been to Ge-Angelo's a handful times in the many years we've lived in Ames, but it has never impressed us enough that we've become regulars. Partly this is due to the fairly small number of vegetarian items, and partially because we've just been uninspired by the food. It's definitely not bad - it's all good, just a little uninspiring or unusual for an italian place.

On our last visit, we ended up getting a pizza and an item from the kids menu. The pizza was the Natomeli, which comes with olive or hot oil (we got olive but also got some of the hot oil on the side), garlic, tomatoes, mushrooms, black & green olives and onions lightly layered with mozzarella and sprinkled with basil & oregano. - garlic, tomatoes, mushrooms, black & green olives, and onions lightly layered with mozzarella and sprinkled with basil & oregano. We swapped out the green olives for spinach. The pizza was a little unusual but definitely good, with a crust I guess I'd describe as medium-thick, dusted with cornmeal. The hot oil is VERY hot, so be warned - I like hot food, but it was too much for me.

The kids meal we went with was ravioli, and our son was super disappointed to be served just 2 ravioli. 3 different sauces were available - meat, marinara, or alfredo. The side he got was fries, which were quite good.

All in all, it was an above-average meal, though not by much. It continues to be, for us at least, the kind of restaurant we'll choose to go to every 2-3 years or so, I suspect. There are a few other vegetarian items - pasta of course, eggplant lasagna, and a mushroom risoto - but the choices seem pretty traditional overall. If that's your thing, chances are you'll probably really like Ge-Angelos!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmesVegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ge-Angelo's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ge-Angelo's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.