We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Algiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2017

On business trip here - my second time in this hotel, and it didn't dissapoint. The pool area is lovely, and the food in the restaurant as good as any I've had in the world. The only dissapointment was having to constantly ask for more coffee pods, as 2 is never enough.

Room Tip: Higher up is better, as always
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUC L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Logoff,

We would like to thank you for this kind review & look forward to see you again at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

Well placed, quite cosy, great restaurant, great breakfast, rooms spacy enough with Desk to work on, could benefit from a little lift, Bed Ok, wifi Ok, bathroom could benefit also from a new lift but still OK and clean.
I did not us the swimming pool nor teh Gym faciliuty but passed by and it looked really good.
Personel extremely pleasant, polite and helpful.

Room Tip: I think it is quite pricy for the country, with european prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arnaud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUC L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Arnaud C,

We're very grateful to read your comment on TripAdvisor, all our heartists are very happy to read this,
We do hope to see you again at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden and see you enjoy all the leisure part with the swimming-pool & sauna facilities,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Been traveling in Algiers for a while and tested all high range hotels and this one is definitely the best - at least for business trips.
Sheraton is ok but less nice and warm and far for the city during peak trafic time.
Anyway the Sofitel is great. Rooms are good, bed and pillow are excellent, bathroom clean and comfy (mine was worse than last time, in terms of joins)
Food is ok
Service is good
Pool and gym are good
Free shuttle from the airport
Will continue to go there

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank GmeSni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUC L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear GmeSni,

We would like to thank your for posting your kind review on TripAdvisor,
We hope that your stay was enjoyable at every step & we really hope to host you again for your next stay at the heart of Algiers the White,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Very nice hotel and probably the best in Algiers; I really enjoyed it, because the room was proper and with all necessities. The staff was friendly and professional and the pool was just perfect.
Not in the center, but just at the "Botanic Garden" and close to the monument on the hill. I like that the Metro station is close to the hotel. Metro is cheap, secure and clean and brings you directly into the centre (Grand poste).

The price for the restaurants are on the upper level for Algier. The main restaurant has a good buffet but too expensive, the a-la cart food was not really good. In the Algerian restaurant I had a disappointing lamb food, dry and hard. The service and food in the Azzuro restaurant was excellent, by far the best. Congratulation to Hamid and his team, fantastic and recommendable.
Also a compliment to the staff of the breakfast buffet; very friendly and professional.

free drinks from the minibar; fantastic, was really helpful with the heat outside.
Excellent quality of the free WIFI, at all places in the hotel.

Airport Shuttle; excellent service, but you need to know where the shuttle will stop; don`t wait at the hotel-bus station (navette hotel) this is out of service; go to the hotel desk in the airport and the lady will show you where to wait. once per hour.

Room Tip: I preferred a room on the 3rd floor, because you can walk easily out to the nice pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel_C_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Marcel_C_ZH,
We would like to thank you for this kind review,
Indeed, being at the heart of Algiers with a magnificient surrounding ( Fine Arts Museum, Jardin d'Essai and more to discover ),
We hope to host you again at the heart of Algiers the Whitte for another beautiful experience,

Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

I spent three nights in an executive room for a business trip. Check-in was a breeze but I had not been warned that executive rooms enjoy a specific front desk service at the executive level (4th floor) where I could have gone directly. The hotel is modern and offers a very safe and secure environment. With only three elevators, and so many levels and rooms, waiting time for lifts could anyhow be long, especially when conventions participants all used them at the same time. My room exhibited the usual Sofitel design and all the facilities expected. Wi-fi and AC worked well. The free mini-bar drinks were appreciated, with frequent refills. I was offered a basket of fresh fruits on arrival, but no silverware was provided which made eating some pieces quite challenging or even impossible (kiwi...). Some parts of furniture also seemed a little bit run down (scratches) but nothing serious. I found the room noisy when people at higher levels flushed their toilets. More important, the hotel seems to be a victim of the disappointing level of service Algeria is famous for. When I entered my room, three light bulbs were burnt, and my bed sheet had disgusting stains on the top of it (see picture). On my second day, turndown service and its shoe shining service were not provided; on the same day, one towel was missing in my bathroom; and the list goes on. I must admit that, as soon as staff was informed, it dealt with these problems: a maintenance guy came and replaced the light bulbs; my bed sheets were changed; and so on. I would like to praise management (and especially Mr Zerrouki Fethi) for this ability to react, but so many problems should not occur in the first place. They do not reflect what Sofitel service is meant to be. The hotel directory in the room was also obsolete, presenting for instance the gourmet restaurant “Le Continental” which no longer exists and has been replaced by “Azzuro” (the phones also had wrong pre-set labels). As regards food, I took breakfast in both the executive lounge (a quiet environment, with great views on Algiers' bay) and the traditional breakfast restaurant which was much less pleasant (crowdy, noisy...) but with many more options on the buffet: hot meals for instance. I had dinner at the Azzuro Italian restaurant (excellent food, and a good choice of Algerian and French wines) and I also used the dinner buffet at the breakfast restaurant (good value in my opinion). The bar in the front lobby serves the most excellent drinks I have ever had in a Sofitel. And the pool and sundeck met my needs when I wanted to exercise or relax. To conclude, can you find a better hotel in Algiers? I do not think so. But be prepared not to get the same level of service as in Sofitel properties located in other countries.

Room Tip: Views on the garden are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Eric_Beylon,

We would like to thank you for your detailed review and we hope that you enjoyed your stay even if many details had darken your experience.
We work everyday to improve our service and comments like yours make us aware of many situations,
We really hope to host you again & make you feel more valued & more welcomed once at the Hotel Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algiers hotels
2.3 km away
Lamaraz Arts Hotel
Lamaraz Arts Hotel
#2 of 27 in Algiers
25 reviews
3.4 km away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#3 of 27 in Algiers
443 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Best Night
Best Night
#4 of 27 in Algiers
63 reviews
10.2 km away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#9 of 27 in Algiers
89 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel d'Hydra
Hotel d'Hydra
#15 of 27 in Algiers
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

Address: 172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers 16015, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range: S$215 - S$442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for your next business trip, the Sofitel Alger is just 5 minutes from downtown, less than 20 minutes from the airport, right by the Botanical Gardens, the National Library and the Fine Arts Museum. The funicular can take you up the hill overlooking the old souk and the port. The 3 restaurants offer a variety of options: El Mordjane serves fabulous Algerian dishes, Le Continental boasts French gourmet meals, the coffee-shop is a great place to catch a quick bite between meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden Hotel Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing