We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamraght Surf Hostel(Tamraght)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Les Chtis D'Agadir(Agadir)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,992)
Filter reviews
1,992 results
Traveller rating
960
694
230
73
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
694
230
73
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish restaurantevening entertainmentmoroccan restaurantfrench guestsasked for a quiet roomby the bottleswim up barpaninispreferential treatmentbar staffemailed the hotelsea viewthomson reprelaxing holidayat lunchtimemain restaurantbelly dancer
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,992 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I can really recommend this hotel. Location is right by the beach promenade. The staff is nice and very helpful and service standards are excellent. Most people at the hotel is +50, but there is a good atmophere and activities as yoga, aqua aerobic and a gym. Moreover there is a spa (you have to book and pay separetely to enter). The food is delicious and you can choose from a buffet restaurant or 2 restaurants with a new set menu every evening (book the same day before 12). In the evening there is a pianist playing the lobby bar and it is nice to go to for a pre-dinner drinnk. Lots of lounge areas around the hotel inside and outside where you can sit. All in all, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for leisure.

One tip to the hotel/staff: Place a tip box in a discrete place og create a system, so that everyone shares. Over the week we were i contact with a lot of different waiters, pool staff, receptionists etc who all did a tremendous job, but it is not possible to tip everyone, so I think a sharing system would be more fair.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank Natasha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We were looking for a short break with some nice warm weather.
Managed to leave the kids with grandparents for the first time in 10 years, to enjoy a nice quiet break soaking up the sun.
This hotel is excellent in all departments, staff, facilities, food, setting, location and not to forget the animation boys.
If you want a nice relaxing quiet break this is definitely the place. Having stayed at numerous 5* and 5* plus hotels this is definitely great value for money.
So don’t listen to the moaners and the haters and take the plunge, you won’t be disappointed.
We are coming back next year in March, and in 17 years of holidaying all over the world I have never been back anywhere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank tabby666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The holiday started well when we were allocated a lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean room in a quiet location, as requested on our booking form. A tour around the grounds showed that areas had been cleverly planted to maximise on the space available to create green and lush gardens. All good so far.
However the 'cracks' soon began to show. The hotel was hit with a virulent sickness and diarrhoea bug, which affected both my husband and me (leaving us with after effects until we got back home 10 days later). When I reported this illness to the Thomson rep she logged it but told me that it was prevalent across Agadir, due to the unseasonal weather. This did not appear to be the case when we spoke to guests stopping at other hotels. We later heard that the storm drain adjacent to the hotel had been swamped with sewage and a dead cow following the heavy rains (not the hotel's fault we know). This washed down onto the beach and took away part of the hotel’s section for sunbeds. Normally we prefer to spend time on the sand, rather than by the pool. Needless to say we avoided it completely!
Unfortunately the lack of hygiene from both staff and guests who handled food in the dining rooms (observed on many occasions) will have added to the spread of germs and helped to account for the high number of people we met who had been ill.
We were also disturbed to find that guests were bribing staff with advance tips to save the best tables in the dining room and on the outside terraces at lunchtime and to reserve sun-beds for them. Surely tips are meant to reward good service GIVEN?
I spotted towels out saving sun-beds at 6.30am, ridiculous and surely should have been dealt with by hotel management who had placed posters by the pool to say that this practice was forbidden!
There was always a good selection of fresh food to choose from, meaning that there was something for everyone. We chose to eat early as it became very crowded later, making it difficult to see and access meals. We tried the Moroccan a la carte restaurant once but found it disappointing with a fixed menu and poor quality. Better meals were available in the buffet.
The majority of staff members were helpful and friendly (the bartender in the main bar being a miserable and unhelpful exception). Staff at all levels worked hard to offer a good service, which was rewarded by the evidence of numerous repeat guests although we will not be joining their numbers.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank LynNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Tikida Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff and since for RIU gastronomy is a very important part of the guest experience, we were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the food served in our restaurants, which is prepared daily with the utmost care and using fresh ingredients.

At the same time we are very surprised to read your comment on one of our bartender staff members. Service is one of our key values and our staff is constantly trained in order to offer the highest of standards. We would like to say that tipping is completely optional and the quality of our service does not depend on it. We will send your comments to management in case these standards have not been fulfilled at some point.

It is very disappointing to read your comment regarding the stomach issues you believe you contracted during your holidays. We can assure you that the health and safety of our guests is taken very seriously and we follow strict procedures while handling our food products in order to prevent and avoid any kind of alimentary risks or hazards. Since we have no records, we would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay, so we could have helped you to enjoy your time at our hotel.


We sincerely hope to welcome you back to RIU Hotels & Resorts in the near future and to have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

This is our first time in this hotel but our 5th time in Agadir. We love Morocco, the culture and especially the people.
When we arrived at the Tikida Beach we had a room on the top floor as we asked but it had a very small wardrobe so we asked to change the room. Reception said we could change the next day and we did to a much better room. Wardrobes twice as big (like normal) and a lovely side view of the sea and the pool. We was told it was a quiet room and it is. We are very pleased with the service and how quickly it was dealt with. The staff in general are all very helpful and kind.
The food has been better than we have had in the past, very good quality. Love the location, the hotel and the staff.
We are coming to the end of our 2 week stay and my wife does not want to leave. We will definitely be returning. Thank you to everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brianplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

This was our second visit to the Tikida Beach.
The not so good:
Plastic/glass in my breakfast croissant.
Informed reception four days in succession that the water wasn't draining away from the shower which was causing it to overflow onto our bathroom floor, eventually it was fixed.
The ceiling fan was rattling and shaking itself to death so it was impossible for us to keep it on whilst in the room.
I experienced a 30 hour tummy bug, laxatives definitely not required.
The good:
The early March weather was great, one cloudy/rainy day out of seven warm sunny days.
Clean hotel.
Comfy beds.
Friendly staff
Excellent day and evening entertainment.
Lovely seating areas both indoor and outdoors.
Good choice of food which is usually of a good standard
Lovely, well kept gardens with some tortoises
Good facilities ; gym, tennis, pools, table tennis, basketball hoop

Recommend a visit to the Souk, ask the taxi driver to be dropped off at entrance 5, pay between 20 and 30 Dirhams. No problems getting a return taxi, but be clear on the price, you should haggle. The first time we went to the Souk the taxi dropped us off at a 4 storey building, more like a department store.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the night club
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Tikida Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels & Resorts once again for your holiday and for sharing your experience with us

As a service-oriented hotel chain, we are proud that you have rated our staff very well and since for RIU gastronomy is a very important part of the guest experience, we were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the food served in our restaurants, which is prepared daily with the utmost care and using fresh ingredients.

Furthermore, we are glad that our cleanliness, the facilities, gardens and activities were to your satisfaction.

On the other hand, we are very sorry to read your comment regarding the breakfast and guestroom facilities. Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews