We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Jolie- a beautiful riad with wonderful staff”
Review of Riad Laayoun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Laayoun
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The place itself is a palace- gorgeous mosaic tiles, vibrant and open layout with lush plants inside and a relaxing rooftop terrace. But I'd say it's definitely the staff that make this place stand out. Jean-Claude and Simon instantly make you feel at home and after a loooong drive after our desert tour, we were happy to be spoiled with delicious pastries and mint tea. They're both very warm and welcoming and made my sister and I feel more than comfortable for our few days in Fez.

Morocco, while beautiful, can get a little exhausting with the constant chaos and hassling in the markets, so it's well worth looking for somewhere which is relaxing and can be a bit of a sanctuary to come home to. A really great stay and would definitely come back. My only regret was that I couldn't speak French so couldn't chat more to JC and Simo. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is not only the most lovely of riads - but Simo is the perfect host: thoughtful, charming, generous, friendly and helpful.
I can't imagine finding anywhere more wonderful to stay in Fes and if I returned to the city, I'd consider myself very lucky if they had space for me to pay a second visit.
My only criticism is that the en-suite bathroom in Suite Cannelle has no dividing walls or doors. The two rooms are separated: there's a long, curved staircase from the bedroom to the bathroom - but there's no real bathroom-privacy to be had.

Room Tip: The en-suite bathroom in Suite Cannelle has no dividing walls or doors. The two rooms are separated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidnightMoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Riad in November for 13 nights. Our first night we were greeted by Jean Claude and Simo. We also had a a delicious dinner prepared by Rachida.

The next morning Simo helped gave us directions to the Medina and provided us with a map. We had a great time exploring the medina and on almost every night upon our return we were welcomed with a smiling face and some biscuits, tea or soup.

We stayed in the Paprika room. It was comfortable but a little small. The washroom was down the hall and there was always hot water. There was also wifi in the courtyard that worked so that was definitely a plus. For the last few nights of our stay we stayed in one of the suites and really loved the room. Don't forget to check out the rooftop terrace where the views are amazing!!

Overall we had an amazing stay and would definitely return the next time we visit Fes. Jean Claude and Simo are so hospitable...they really make you feel right at home.

Thanks you so much Jean Claude, Simo and Rachida for a trip that we will never forget!!!

Room Tip: Suites are more spacious. The Paprika room is on the small side but nice if you're not planning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samee_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had a wonderful stay at this Riad in October. Jean Claude and Rachida met us during our late arrival with the usual tea and snacks. Dinner was special ordered due to some of my allergies and Rachida prepared the tagine with all my requested ingredients - great meal.
Next morning JC arranged a 1/2 day tour of Fez with Fettah and it was excellent with the time retraints we imposed on him - we said no shopping and he was happy to comply with our request. They need to provide a better map for their riad guests to help in finding one's way around Fez and back to the riad.
Simo was extremely helpful to me and my brother during our entire stay - helped move luggage to and from Place Rcif and riad and provided essential logistical and tourist information. Price was right and would recommend this Riad for its location, courteous treatment, excellent accomodations and helpful staff. Great visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

As requested I was met at the rail station, taken by taxi to the main square where Jean-Claude was waiting for me ready to accompany me to his Riad which I had chosen from Trip Advisor reviews. In the midst of the bustle and chaos of the medina, Jean-Claude, a first rate host, has created a wonderful, elegant, comfortable and tranquil guest house. A refreshing welcoming glass of mint tea, a climb to the panoramic rooftop terrace with big views over the medina rooftops, before descending to the Saffron room, mine for the night. Dinner was good and home cooked clearly using ingredients fresh from the market. There is wifi that works! The following morning with unnerving accuracy Simo pointed me to the section of the myriad of medina streets to allow me to do last minute shopping, before the taxi (arranged by the riad) took me comfortably to the airport. A thoroughly agreeable stay, Thanks to Jean-Claude and his enthusiastic team, I happily recommend Riad Laayoun to any discerning traveller

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
Thank Culmalzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.7 km away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
564 reviews
0.3 km away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 100 in Fes
576 reviews
0.4 km away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
766 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#10 of 100 in Fes
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laayoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laayoun

Address: 47 Derb Thakharbicht Rcham Laayoun | Fes-Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $84 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A marvelous old house located in the heart of the medina close to the world's oldest university and the souks, built nearly 4 centuries ago. We offer to you 3 suites and 2 rooms with all the modern confort. Riad Laayoun is a marvelous place for your stay in the most beautiful medina of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Laayoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing