We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Layali Fes
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Guennoun(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais Amani(Fes)
US$355
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,287
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
70
35
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
35
6
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015

When we arrived in Fes Medina, we had a little trouble locating the riad amongst the maze of alleys that make up the old Medina, but this was quickly solved by a quick phone call to the riad who sent out two charming gentlemen on a motorbike to come find us and guide us back to the riad.
Upon entering through the door of the riad, one's breath is instantly taken away by the sheer vastness and beauty of the building.The riad staff Malika and Wadee greeted us very warmly and sat us down in the main sitting room in the courtyard and served us fresh Moroccan tea.
We stayed in the Al Hambra suite which was marvellous. The Moroccan designs and detailing of the tiles on the walls and floors were exceptional alongside the lavish furnishings which were all fit for a royal palace.
The location is ideal in a nice quiet alley a few minutes walk from all the main souks and restaurants, so a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

The service of the riad staff was phenomenal. Malika is like the mother figure of the riad and ensures that every one of your needs are catered for. She cooked us a lovely tagine. Her son Wadee is an amazing and extremely helpful person who served us with diligence and sincerity during our stay. Even the cleaners and kitchen staff greet you warmly every time they see you.The young lady at reception, Sara kindly opens the door for you every time you enter and leave the riad. The riad has a lovely homely and family atmosphere.
Parking is available at the end of the alley and is protected 24 hours a day by a watchman who will always assist you in parking.
I would definetely recommend a stay at this riad to escape back in time and feel like a sultan in his palace.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank galal773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

After industrial Casablanca the city of Fes has charmed me. Riad Layali Fes is responsible for it too. It was a peaceful oasis in the medina. Blue tiles on the flor, walls, tables or stairway. Simply beautiful.
Very tasteful and clean accomodation with a wonderful terrace on the roof. Spacious rooms with high ceilings and oriental door. Welcome tea and cookies arrived just few minutes after we set on the sofa.
Malika in the kitchen, Wadie as our guide and Asmae on the reception were great team. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenkaPozarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable réception at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015
Google Translation

Cher hôte, nous sommes heureux que vous ayez si bien apprécié votre séjour dans notre Riad à Fes. Vous avez aimé l'esprit dans lequel nous avons rénové notre riad avec les maîtres artisans de Fes, respecté l'espace des chambres et adapté le confort moderne à ces anciens palais. notre équipe vous remercie de vos commentaires sur son service dévoué au bien-être de nos hôtes. nous espérons vous accueillir de nouveau prochainement, Fes et ses environs a beaucoup à montrer encore.Cordialement. Le Riad Layali Fes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

We have enjoyed our 2 nights stay in Riad Layali that was booked via Your Morocco Tour. The riad had large suite rooms with some great furniture. It was nice and quiet opposite to the medina.
The location was very good too. It was just walking distance to the blue gate leading you to the medina.

Room Tip: Suite room
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troublefreetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable relations clients at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015
Google Translation

Cher hôte, nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié notre Riad, l'espace clair et vaste du patio commun et des suites.Effectivement notre décoration et notre mobilier est une fusion entre le traditionnel marocain et le confort moderne adapté à un riad ancien.Celui-ci a été rénové avec la participation de maîtres artisans de Fes ( zelligs, stucs, lustrerie, menuiseries, etc.). Le riad est situé en effet au quartier Batha, dans le haut de la Médina et permet tout en étant à l'écart des foules touristiques d'accéder à la Médina à pied en quelques petites minutes. Toute l'équipe du Riad est à votre disposition pour vôtre bien-être et la réussite de votre séjour. Cordialement. Le Riad Layali Fes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We loved this place. We got a ground floor room that was huge, clean, and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and tried to accommodate our needs in every way. The road itself is in a great location and beautiful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor face the courtyard where it can get loud. If you want privacy and quiet, pick a room upstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank axwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable relations clients at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015
Google Translation

Cher hôte, nous sommes heureux de l'enthousiasme que vous exprimez au sujet de votre séjour chez nous. Effectivement certains clients apprécient les suites du rez-de-chaussée qui permettent facilement et naturellement d’accéder au Patio et au Grand Salon communs ainsi qu'aux divans où l'on peut boire un rafraîchissement ou un thé à la menthe. Vous participez ainsi à la vie du Riad tout en lisant ou en consultant internet par wifi.D'autres préfèrent le calme de l'étage ou des terrasses. Notre équipe souhaite toujours faire son possible pour le bien-être de nos hôtes. La rue accédant au Riad est typique de la Medina de Fès et nous avons la chance d'avoir un parking gardé à quelques pas. Merci de votre commentaire et nous espérons vous revoir prochainement. Cordialement. Le Riad Layali Fes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Positives- great location, not hard to get to or find eliminating the fear of getting lost in the 9000 streets of Old town Fes and the room we booked was wonderful when we finally got it and that’s about all

Check in was delayed by too many conversations between Riad staff with drivers and locals- you can catch up together after the exhausted guests check in
The person who checked us in spoke not one word of English or was not game to try even a hello or welcome nothing not a thing – is that really the right kind of person to have working in an international business and accepting booking and money from people from non-French speaking backgrounds– we do not all speak French you know!
There is an odd little water feature in the courtyard- I think they called it a pool more like a fish pond but this stinks of bleach the place smelt like a hospital very unappealing and off putting stench enough to hurt the eyes, no plants no music no atmosphere just an
Empty echoing space with everyone smoking of course as is the Moroccan way .
The room that we booked and paid for was given to another guest –lovely what a great start. We booked the Alcasaba suite the roof top room which looked amazing on the website BUT we were given a ground floor room , noisy and smelling of smoke from the entry area – to say we were not happy was an understatement
A business with only a handful of rooms still cannot get it right- what a joke? The downstairs rooms are very dark as if you open the curtains and blinds the people eating drinking and smoking and walking past can see in your room so no peace or privacy in your cave on the ground floor- book at your own risk . the ground floor room was not clean, surfaces dusty and sticky, other peoples hair – again just lovely so we were told that at 8am the next morning that we could access the room we had paid for so what choice did we have – none! So at 8am we were packed ready to move across to our room and as it turned out we were not confident or happy. As we could not get settled for our 2 night stay we requested that the staff help us with our laundry which they did – this went some way to making up for the money we lost in the room mistake that they caused . Again the women who is way past retirement the poor old thing could not tell tea from coffee could not understand sign language for a cup – worst breakfast in Morocco hands down seriously the stuff they served up was disgusting.
Once we were in our correct suite things improved very much we lamented the time we lost. We spoke the next day to a staff member who did speak English and clearly communicated our disappointment she provided another version of excuses which now ranged from a reservation mistake to a previous drunk guest who ruined the room. We discussed the breakfast and it was promised that this would improve the next day and it did it was much better and enjoyable- isn’t it a shame that you have to jump up and down to get what you paid for in the first place . And something we have never seen before when we got up from breakfast to go back to our room the 2 housekeeping staff came and sat down and ate the leftovers that guests had left on the table- disgusting!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Propriétaire at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015
Google Translation

Mr Boski, nous sommes sincèrement désolés que vous ayez vécu votre séjour dans notre Riad comme vous le décrivez. Nous avons essayé de vous être agréable et nous prendrons en compte vos remarques pour progresser pour le bien-être de tous nos clients. Cordialement. Riad Layali Fes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews