We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a room, but an experience”
Review of Riad Layali Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Layali Fes
Ranked #76 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Fes was our last stop in Morocco, and we stayed in hotels in Marrakech and Casablanca. I was concerned we would be roughing it at a Riad, but au contraire! The Riad Layali is not only modern and beautiful, but a memoriable Morocco experience .

The taxi driver called the Riad to get directions, and we were dropped off at parking area near a school. A young man met us and led us through a narrow medina street to a large wooden door. Once inside, we were astonished by the beautifully restored residence.

Our room was on the main floor in the Suite Al Bassatine. The room was HUGE, with all the modern conveniences including satelite TV with a couple of english-speaking news channels - France 24 and Al-Jezeera; a working refrigerator (the ones at the hotels didn't work); hair dryer, etc.

The continental breakfast was served in the courtyard and included beghrirs (honeycomb pancakes), breads, jams, cheese and fresh orange juice. The coffee and hot milk were delicious. The courtyard roof opens and closes, depending upon the temperature. We traveled in late November, and it was 70 degrees during the day and chilly at night, so the roof was usually opened in the late morning.

The staff is very gracious, friendly and helpful. All you need to do is ask, and they will try to accommocate your needs.

We paid 90 euros per night, and it was well worth it. We highly recommend the Riad Layali.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedomtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed four days and it felt like we were visiting family!we were greeted by Abdul and Malika who welcomed us with tea , lots of laughter and suggestions on how to spend our days. They recommended a guide who took us for a four and a half hour trip(150 dirham trhough the medina.Unforgettable!!Sweet and friendly Malika puts her hart in every dish she prepares.You can even tell her what you would like to eat. Gorgeous suite, kept very clean, great bed!Silent area..Nice breakfast. If you're lucky you can enjoy relaxing on the terras on the top with a great view and service.Even in november the weather was greatl( 23 degrees celcius)Made a hilarious and interesting trip with host Abdul to Meknes and Volubilis.If you're afraid you wont find the riad, just ask the taxidriver, he took us right up to the fontdoor!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berberbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Nice riad because recentrly renewed. Service normal, breakfast quite impossible before 8- 8.30. Staff doesn't offer any service or suggestion, unless asked at least a couple of time if not more. The best part was being moved to another riad, in a worse, smaller, old and smelly less expensive room with an excuse of a problem of electrical energy concerning the entire riad when the only problem was they were overbooked and needed our room to host other persons. No other persons from the riad were moved and the difference in room cost per night (20 €) wasn't given back to us. Be careful you're not a second rate client like us before booking, or you would experience the same treatment. Building and cleanliness not bad in general, but service and treatment received really bad (you don't move me because you need room for new clients, I've already paid, or at least you're honest to ask me if I agree to change, maybe offering also to give back the 20 € more I've paid)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable relations clients at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015
Google Translation

cher hôte, pour vous informer qu'une nouvelle équipe a pris en charge l'accueil depuis votre séjour et que nous sommes entièrement dévoués au bien-être de nos clients, leurs récents commentaires l'attestent. Nous espérons vous recevoir à nouveau pour un agréable séjour. Le Riad Layali Fes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Great riad, so beautiful inside, the photos don't do it justice. Lovely roof terrace to relax on in the evening. Rooms are beautiful and the hosts are so friendly and accommodating, you really are made to feel at home. Breakfast was great, a nice selection of bread, honey and jams, good start to the day.
As it is located just on the edge of the Medina, so peaceful but easy 5min walk and you are in the heart of the medina. Would highly recommend this riad, and will look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexi131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We found this riad by happenstance. The other place we were going to stay in (Riad Laayoun) had no rooms available. However, we were able to sneak a peek inside, just to get an idea of what to expect with the riads. Mind you the outside of the riad gives you absolutely no clue as to what it's like on the inside. A local teenager had guided us to the first riad, but when we found out there was no vacancy, he took us to the Riad Layali. From the moment we stepped in, we new were sold on it. The courtyard was absolutely gorgeous and much bigger and lavish than the first. The friendly host showed us to the room at the very top of the riad. The decorations were authentic Moroccan and the room was more "hooked up" than any other hotel we had stayed in thus far. Satellite cable tv, modern bathroom, dvd player and AC. It was a haven for two weary travelers coming from the high atlas countryside with no amenities. The pool was more like a large jacuzzi, but who cares? Our room is only 500 dirham a night and is much nicer and less expensive than the so-called "4 star" hotel (Menzeh Zalagh) I stayed at in the new part of Fes. As far as getting there, it's a quick block or so from the big fountain round-a-bout through the street "RIYAD SHEHERAZADE" Maison d'hotes Batha-Douh. Good luck!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paekidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 km away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 100 in Fes
375 reviews
0.0 km away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#26 of 100 in Fes
419 reviews
0.8 km away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 km away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
2.7 km away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#57 of 100 in Fes
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layali Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layali Fes

Address: 16 bis Derb Bennis | Douh Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Layali is a guest house located in the heart of the historic Medina of Fez. Riad Layali offers a true haven of peace thanks to its thoughtful hospitality and its magical setting. Decorated in the most authentic Moroccan tradition, the Riad offers you six generous suites and two comfortable rooms. An Authentic, warm and personalized welcome awaits you at Riad Layali, where you will experience a feeling of well-being and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Layali Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing