We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
AMAZING experience with the best guides

Literally one of the best experiences of my life! Both Omar and Muhammad were absolutely fantastic... read more

Reviewed 21 July 2020
fernwehsummers
,
Miami, Florida, United States
Wonderful trip to Sahara, loved it!

This was the highlight of my trip to Morocco. The company provides excellent service and Hamid is... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2020
heidi805
,
Ojai, California
Read all 158 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Marrakech
from US$123.26
More Info
from US$123.26
More Info
from US$93.06
More Info
from US$136.00
More Info
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
146
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camel trek merzouga desert sand dunes berber music day tour long journey desert camp amazing driver take pictures desert experience tour company one night stay atlas mountains berber men once in a lifetime long hours an amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2019

I took the 2 day 1 night tour from Marrakech to Merzouga in mid-May 2019. Mohammed was great to communicate with in terms of his availability, clarity, and promptness in responding, and made the booking and arranging process seamless. I was a little wary of how the drive would go since it was 10 hours each way with only myself and the driver, but it was fantastic! My driver, Mbarek, was enthusiastic, funny, and extremely knowledgable about the countless places we drove through both to and from Merzouga, and most importantly had a good sense of when to provide more or less information on something depending on his passenger's mood. This is no easy feat when you've only just met someone and have to spend such a long period of time together! I learned a huge amount of things from Moroccan geography to history, architecture to religion, social custom to current policy, etc., and therefore while the Erg Chebbi sand dunes were of course unforgettable, in retrospect it was in many ways the roundtrip drive that probably left the most inedible impression of this extraordinary (and unexpectedly beautiful) country. The drive is well-designed to hit different locations each way, and Mbarek gauged the time very carefully to allow for me to get out and explore numerous places as much as possible (and even stopped on the side of the road here and there to show me particular date palms, phosphorus mines, etc.) Incidentally, all of the restaurant choices at which we stopped on both days were also surprisingly good; the best meal i had during my time in Morocco happened to be at one of the restaurants on the way to Merzouga. Once arriving into Merzouga, the dromeda/camels and sand dunes were a lifetime experience not to be missed. The full moon was "unfortunately" so bright that we couldn't see as many stars, but that's hardly reason for complaint. The lodging was fine (bring bug spray) and the meal was good, though i should have set an alarm early the next morning because everyone in the camp ended up sleeping right through sunrise! All in all, though, such a memorable and extraordinary journey. Strongly strongly recommend!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our trip to the desert with our very nice guide, Ahmed . We got to see so much during our three day trip which included one night stay in Dades Valley and one night at a Desert Camp. Staying in the Sahara for one night was wonderful and it was a very special trip for us. All in all we were very happy and would gladly recommend to anyone!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank conorl930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2019

Our tour began with our guide, Mbarek, picking us up in our Fes riad. We spent the entire first day driving, but stopped at several places along the way. We arrived in Merzouga around 5pm, got on our camels, then headed to a desert campsite (complete with private bathroom) for the evening. The stars were UNREAL and absolutely beautiful.

We woke up early to watch the sunrise, then met Mbarek for day two, which involved a cobalt mine, tea at a nomad’s home, searching for sand fish, and 4x4’ing through sand dunes. We then ate Berber pizza for lunch, which we’re still thinking about. After that, we opted to relax early at our hotel, swim, and read by the pool. We were tired, so this was a nice “break” in the middle of a busy four days.

On day three, we drove out of the desert and into Todgha Gorge. Mbarek suggested we take a walk along the river, which we did. It was shadier and nice for cooling off. Afterwards, we headed towards Dades Valley, where we stayed for the night at Riad Rihana. We noticed a beautiful river and gardens sprawling behind the road and we’re curious to see more, so Mbarek led us on a walk, pointing out different plants along the way. Riad Rihana deserves its own shoutout as well, as this was hands down our favorite accomodation in Morocco and we didn’t even pick it. Camel Trekking did a great job with this one! Dinner and breakfast were both AMAZING. Seriously, so good. Overall, Dades Valley really surprised us in the best way.

Our last day involved a lot of driving again, en route to Marrakech. But once again, we stopped many times (city of roses, viewpoints, ouarzazate, lunch) to break up the drive. Around five, we were dropped off at our Riad. Everything was seamless, from start to finish.

We also have to give a special shoutout to our driver / guide / now friend Mbarek. Not only was he informative, but he was kind. And funny. He let us play music in the car and sang along with us, too. We learned some Arabic and French and overall, had a really memorable time. Merci beaucoup. :)

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank imbreannarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

My friends and I had an amazing experience with our tour! Due to limited time, we only had two days for the tour to Merzouga and cameltrekking excursions was the only tour company we found that can accommodate this. Our awesome driver Mohamed picked us up from our riad and we started our adventure immediately. We made several stops at sight seeing locations on the way and arrived promptly at the Sahara desert. Spent an amazing time at Hakim camp, enjoyed beautiful sunrise and made our way back to Marrakech the next morning. The tour didn’t end simply with driving back, Mohamed inquired about our interests and made sure we get to see more exciting things and sites on the way back. It exceeded all of our expectations, Mohamed was super considerate and awesome. He put up with us three girls, let us listen to music and took pictures of us. We felt very welcomed and this definitely is one of the best experiences for all of us on this trip! We highly recommend this tour company and our driver Mohamed. He was amazing!!!!!!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank quynhthiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

This desert tour was beyond expectations and it was such a memorable experience for my friends and I. We were picked up from our riad in Marrakech by our amazing driver Ali who showed us a grest time. The drive was long but our Ali made sure we were fully stocked up on snacks and drinks and we learnt a lot of the barber culture and the Moroccan history from him. The whole journey from Marrakech to Fez was breathtaking as the landscapes were just so beautiful and there's always something to keeps an eye out for from driving through sandstorm to stopping for a photoshoot with camels along the way and even visting a forest filled with monkeys! The entire desert experience was beyond this world and im not joking when i say its a whole new feeling when you're standing in the middle of the sahara desert watching the sunrise and the sunset. We even had a campfire built for us, where we danced to traditional music and gazed at the stars that surrounded us. We loved the whole trip and were glad that we did it!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank syuvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews