We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,476)
Filter reviews
1,476 results
Traveller rating
1,105
313
33
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
313
33
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace mint tea orange trees an oasis atlas mountains the hustle and bustle main courtyard taxi driver busy medina plunge pool visit marrakech hammam and massage narrow streets breakfast and dinner tagine junior suite your bearings
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,476 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We spent 4 nights at Riad Karmela and the location is perfect. It’s in the heart of the old medina and ideally situated for walking through the souks to do some shopping or stop at one of the many local restaurants. Riad Karmela itself is absolutely delightful and it really is an oasis of calm and tranquillity. The whole Riad has been stylishly decorated with a nice mix of traditional Morroccan and contemporary style. There are 3 courtyards and whilst all are lovely, the main courtyard is gloriously pretty with its pool and orange trees. Breakfasts were great with plenty of choice to cater for every taste and everything was consistently delicious. The one thing that sets this Riad apart is the amazing staff, especially Bouchra, who went above and beyond to look after us. In fact all the staff we met were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. They all made our stay very easy, be it booking restaurants or taxis, organising day trips out of Marrakech or even arranging spa treatments. On that note, I should mention that I booked myself into the Riad’s on-site spa for a Moroccan hammam followed by an hour’s relaxing massage. It really was a wonderful experience which I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. I can also recommend heading up to the roof terrace as we were there in April and were able to lie out on the sunbeds one afternoon, and enjoy pre-dinner drinks on the terrace later that evening, which was lovely. Riad Karmela is a real gem and we wouldn’t hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lno37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Riad Karmela provides the perfect location to explore the Marrakesh Medina. Beautiful with excellent service. Given our choice of rooms we stayed in the sister property Zanib, a quiet oasis in contrast to the noisy, vibrant Souks. Room was spacious, clean and had all the needed amenities.
Appreciate the excellent service like sending someone to meet us as our driver (from desert tour) was unable to bring us close to the property. Also arranging a tour to Essouira, a Hamam and massage and a taxi to the airport.
The map and instructions given at check in made it easy to explore the city. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room off the central courtyard was a little noisy from other guests but we were given our choice so can't complain.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Magical Riad, a true oasis in the buzzy Medina. The staff was so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast was amazing and the nights we choose to eat dinner at the beautiful enclosed “garden” the traditional Moroccan dishes served was excellent and generous, as was the service. Vegetarian alternatives was no problem.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andersstange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espelette, Owner at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks a lot for your fantastic review.....We all do appreciate it Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We stayed there for 3 nights at a suite located at terrace. The room is clean, not large but fits our needs for 3 people. The bathroom has enough amenity. The terrace is very well maintained and beautiful. All of people working there were extremely friendly and helpful. We were provided a map with all the details upon arrival. The Riad is within walking distance to most of the attractions in medina. The Riad is really not hard to find from the center of the medina. we used maps.me, it was very accurate. we walked back to Riad at 9-10pm from Jemaa el-Fnaa and felt very safe. Another good thing about this Riad is that it is about a minute walk from a small square where our driver waited for us for our tour.

We had diner one night at Riad and it was extraordinary, one of the best Tagine we had in our trip. We highly recommend this Riad and its food.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loveTravel_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espelette, Owner at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks a lot for your detailed and positive feed back. We are very pleased to read it . Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! Wow and wow again! The riad is pretty big as they are three riad merged together. The place is super super super nice with fountains in the common area and a huge terrace where you can relax and sunbathe! The food is super good even if we only had dinner there once we really enjoyed it as well as breakfast which is pretty complete. The staff is super nice, ready to help you with everything, starting with the city map and ending with how to deal with people in the souk (market). The entrance is lovely: a tight road (not dangerous at all) with carpets outside the little door, where you have to ABBASSARTI in order to get into it. Finally the location is literally perfect: situated in the Médina it’s 3 minutes walking from the souk and super close to everything.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Giorgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espelette, Owner at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Best riad...!!! Thank you ..I know that you are familiar with Marrakech and this is a very nice compliment I am sure i will se you again then Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews