We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad et Dar Maison Do
Nearby Hotels
US$190
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad El Zohar(Marrakech)
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Heure d'Ete(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Tamarrakecht(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Argan(Marrakech)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
US$319
US$306
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$415
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
139
50
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
50
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolthe main squarealidardriversoukstaxi
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

8 of us paid our first visit to Marrakech - oh boy - what a shock to the system can an arrival in the dark be! The smells, the activity and busstle of the central area with all the people and tooting mopeds is something to behold. Beyond all this activity the Riad Maison Do is an unbelievably quiet haven just off one of the busy thoroughfares. It is well placed to explore on foot the centre of Marrakech. Yollande, the proprietor, an industrious, helpful english speaking french lady, was always on hand each morning to attend to our needs and requests for the day ahead. Nothing was too much trouble. On our arrival we were warmly greeted and served a lovely meal and allowed to relax. The following morning we were served breakfast outside on the terrace - lovely local bread, jams and always fresh fruit. Yollande organised a guide to help us explore the centre of Marrakech - we had a very informative and patient guide - this we would strongly recommend as we were give much more detailed local knowledge than could ever be derived from a guide book. He also took us on our first trip around the Souks - an experience not to be forgotten. The following day we ventured to Jardin Majorelle - a must to visit if time allows - having spent a tranquille hour or two we ventured - without the guide - around the souks once again - we did manage to find our way home on our own - not an easy task sometimes. We orgaised for the same guide to take us to the Atlas Mountains - a memorable trip - the Berbers house is a must as is a cup of the Berbers tea. There are many things to see in Marrakech and when you feel tired it is very pleasant to get back to the peace and tranquility of the Riad where you can relax on the terrace or roof top and take in the views - if you are lucky you may even have a Stork fly past. Ali - Yollandes house manager - was also always there to help. A nicer person you could not wish to meet - nothing was too much trouble - he guided us to restaurants at night and would also come and fetch us back to make sure we did not get lost - a wonderfully helpful young man. The experience we had will stay with us forever and if we were to go back again we would not hesitate to stay at the Riad Maison Do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Marrakech is an assault on your every sense. The sound, the smells, the heat, the movement, the colour. It is a fascinating place, but one from which you need a haven. The Riad Maison Do, provides this - in the heart of the Medina. Once you step through the elaborately decorated door, you are in peaceful courtyard, so beautifully Moorish in style, yet a world away from the hectic souks.

The rooms on the ground floor are situated around a central courtyard, whilst on the upper stories they exit onto the balconies that look down through the natural atrium to the courtyard below. Brightly coloured tiles and intricate stone work decorate the columns floors and walls. The bedrooms, individually decorated with local textiles and cushions, make you feel like you are lost in another time and place. Yet you have all the modern comforts you need - including wifi and beautiful bathrooms.

Breakfast is served in the courtyard at the communal table. It gives you time to think about your day whilst meeting other visitors, all with their own tales to tell of Morocco and Marrakech. Breakfast is fresh fruit, locally baked breads and flat cakes, coffee and juices. Simple fresh food.

The staff are exceptional - nothing is too much trouble. The French proprietor Yollande is superb. Incredibly hospitable and full of knowledge of the city and of further afield. She shared with us the Riad's books and maps for our trek over the Atlas mountains and beyond. She also helped arranged local car hire at a much better rate than through the multi-nationals. Her recommendations made our unplanned trip so memorable.

Don't forget to end your day on the rooftop of the Riad. The views extend 360 degrees across the Medina and up to the Mountains. Seeing the crescent moon at dusk alongside the tower of the Il Koutoubia mosque is something I will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keripthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent three happy nights at Riad Maison Do in October and were delighted with the choice. It is an elegant retreat from the noise, dirt and chaos of the medina. It is also within easy walking distance to most of the sights and museums. Beautifully restored, the riad features exquisite mosaics, plaster work, elegant arches and a restful central courtyard. Our rooms were spacious, colorful, comfortable and well-appointed. The en suite bathroom had an excellent shower and everything was clean, attractive and well-maintained. The Dar, located across the street, had a wonderful pool on its roof deck, that was a welcome refuge after a hot day of touring.

Breakfasts on the roof featured fresh fruit, Moroccan breads, lovely jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. Yolande, the owner, was extremely knowledgeable about all things Marrakech, and outlined excellent touring plans for us in the mornings. She was also extremely accommodating, and graciously welcomed our daughter, who joined us at the last minute. The house manager, Ali, was also terrific. He was unobtrusive but ever-available--and no request was too trifling or unreasonable.

We had two very tasty dinners at the riad, cooked by the staff and served by Ali. We would happily return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had a great stay at the Maison Do back in September, Marrakesh gets quite hot so it was nice to come back to the riad and relax in the rooftop pool. Our room was a great size and had all the amenities we needed to have an enjoyable stay, breakfasts were served at a time that you choose so you could start the day as early or late as you wanted.

The location of the riad is away from the main square but there are some lovely places to see in the vicinity such as the photography gallery, this wasn't listed on the other tourist maps. Highly recommend this Riad to anyone heading to Marrakesh, its a fantastic place to relax after a long day sightseeing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We met the owners of Riad Maison Do through some mutual friends and stayed there towards the end of our trip. The Riad was stunning, big spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a 10 minute walk from the Jamal Al-Finah. After a hard day of walking through the souks, there is nothing better than coming back to Maison Do's swimming pool on the roof. With exceptionally friendly staff and hosts, I cannot suggest staying here highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daffy157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews