We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Riad!... in the heart and soul of the Kasbah!”
Review of Riad Mandalay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Mandalay
Ranked #113 of 1,195 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Where to start?... The Riad Mandalay has a beautiful, warm, wonderful environment! ...with its relaxing atmosphere, and cool music playing during daylight hours... we couldn't have been happier at the Riad. There was a mix up with our room, which the owners (the lovely and awesome Patrice and Aline) were incredible about, and before we knew it we had the room we had booked.

Now without going into the details, we had a couple of not so ideal events occur whilst we were in Marrakech, which without the care and help from Patrice and Aline would have been a lot worse, we can't thank them enough for the warmth and assistance they offered. We will remember our time there fondly because of them.

We are frequent travellers and as such had organised much ourselves, but Patrice always was happy with information anytime... ps he also lent me a phone charger as ours didn't work there, this is the awesomeness of the hosts!!

Breakfast was light and yummy, a great start for a day of exploring. We loved the terrace, and got a bit of welcome sunshine after the UK winter!

Everything is close by and we thought had more character filled than staying in the Medina. The Kasbah was our favourite place in Marrakech, something more real about it.

Would highly recommend the Riad Mandalay to all travellers, quiet and peace yet filled with life!

Patrice and Aline (and Marli) you guys are fantastic, and we are so grateful to have your friendship!

Room Tip: We had the Blue Note room which was just like the pictures, and little more rustic but that only int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place in the medina is very pleasing and comfortable. Beautiful, large rooms and a very cozy and relaxed atmosphere in the open courtyard and on the roof terrace. Location is close to main attractions and easy to reach by car. Friendly staff who cooks up very tasty, traditional cusine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our first time visiting Marrakech and what a great break we had; friends advised us to stay at a Riad-style hotel and so after a little internet searching we chose Riad Mandalay. What an absolutely fantastic find - the perfect combination of good location (just 10 to 15 minutes walk from Place Jemaa el Fna), but hidden away in the heart of the Kasbah; lovely rooms, quiet and calm away from the busy bustle, and Patrice and Aline, the perfect hosts. We took advantage of the airport transfer - well recommended, and there was Patrice waiting for us with an umbrella (yes - it was hammering down with rain) at the entrance to the Kasbah to guide us down the alleys to the Riad. We stayed four nights, spending time in the souk (doesn't everybody), visiting the Saadian Tombs and the Palais de la Bahia amongst other sights. A day trip out to the Atlas mountains gave us a short break from the busy city life - a little touristy perhaps but very enjoyable, and fantastic views of the snow-capped peaks. Marrakech can be quite a culture shock to start with, but after a couple of hours we were right at home. It's just four weeks ago since we visited - it feels like an age; wholeheartedly recommend the Riad Mandalay for your stay.

Room Tip: Suite Noce blanche - a lovely, larger sized room with space to sit and chill out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just back from a week in Marrakech. The Riad is ideally situated in the heart of the Kasbah, so that the main sites of interest are all within easy walking distance. The owners (French) are very friendly and helpful with suggested places to visit, arranging transfers to and from the Riad (essential in Marrakech) and providing meals/drinks on request. Local mint tea is provided free on request and is very refreshing. The Riad has 6/7 rooms all beautifully decorated to a high standard. The Riad has real presence and character and is certainly impressive after spending time in the hustle and bustle of central Marrakech. On the roof is a very peaceful sun terrace with about 8 sun loungers, and a few tables and chairs. You can have tea/meals up there on request. It is very civilized and you are made to feel one of the family rather than a guest. Wine is available in the Riad despite being in the "dry" old part of the city. Tasteful background music is on in the background downstairs. In a week there were no repeat tracks and it was a nice mix of jazz and chilled music. Owners English was very good. The odd sentence in French can be a help. Food very reasonably priced. Nice free breakfast. Massage & Hammam available. Couldn't fault the place really. Wish we were back there now!

Room Tip: They are all stunning. Look on Bookings.Com website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadMandalay, Gérant at Riad Mandalay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Bryan thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy to have shared with you good times.
We are also delighted that you enjoyed the meals Mariam, our excellent cook.
We saviosn you come for your birthday and we are pleased to have been able to make you have a very good week.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Riad Mandalay for 4 nights in November (I haven't had chance to review until now but made time as it was so excellent). Patrice and Aline are very accommodating and more than happy to advise and help. Breakfast was lovely... substantial and varied each day. We only ate during the evening on our last night but regret not eating there more. It was delicious. Maryam is an excellent cook and we wish we hadn't spent the time we did looking for and eating at other restaurants that were more expensive and nowhere near as nice. Again, Patrice and Aline were happy to serve us outside their regular hours to fit in with our flight time. The rooms are individual and very welcoming and comfortable.
Overall, the Riad Mandalay is a fantastic, peaceful place to stay and a complete contrast to the madness and hustle and bustle of Marrakech. I'm not sure we would have got through our holiday without the haven of the Riad Mandalay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 km away
Riad Mellouki
Riad Mellouki
#356 of 500 in Marrakech
2 reviews
0.3 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#37 of 500 in Marrakech
507 reviews
1.6 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Riad Qodwa
Riad Qodwa
#53 of 315 in Marrakech
279 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Boutouil
Riad Boutouil
#208 of 1,195 in Marrakech
216 reviews
2.1 km away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#21 of 1,195 in Marrakech
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mandalay

Address: 59 Derb Harbil | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,195 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $135 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina in the Casbah, the Riad Mandalay offers spacious suites in a traditional setting near the Saadian tombs. It is only 10 minutes from the Jemaa El Fna.This authentic riad offers comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, breakfast included, air conditioning and private bathroom. They all feature typical Moroccan decoration, one bathroom tadelakt. For your relaxation, you can enjoy the pool, hot tub, steam room and fitness center. Massages are available by reservation only. You also get a large lounge with a fireplace, a bar and games. On site, the Riad Mandalay offers international and Moroccan cuisine and offers you excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mandalay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing