We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
270
35
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
35
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace taxi drop off point dar zellij sidi ben slimane booking tours night guard the main square walked everywhere atlas mountains le jardin beds were comfortable perfect stay moroccan wine the wi fi bustling medina four poster bed calm oasis
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Amazing place, lovely roof top, breakfast was beautiful ... Staff go way out of there way to help, even recommending and walking me to a locals shop that was hard to find... Biggest tip though, get the airport transfers from the Riad (its reasonably priced) as it is, like all Riads, hard to find... Cooking class was good, not as handed on as i would have liked, but much more personal that others i heard of and the market walk (which some classes don't have) was tailored to where i wanted to see which was great... Very recommended

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TripperDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadSapphire, Owner at Riad Sapphire and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. We are all pleased that you appreciated our personal service. It is always great to hear that it added to a guest's enjoyment of their stay in Marrakech. Thank you for your great recommendation. Safe travels and we hope to welcome you again. Best wishes from the team, Aidan, Beryl, Barbara, Yvonne and our Moroccan staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Stayed here over NY and thoroughly enjoyed it. Easy to book, and all arrangements(taxi and guidance to Riad) worked perfectly. This Riad is presented very well, breakfast is great with lovely French bread and jams, served on terrace was ideal way to have it, and also served late up to 12:00 which means no hurry to get out of bed. We had Hamman and Massage which was good, Hammam better than the massage but beware the 'mit'. Stayed in Topaz after asking to get moved as the double bed in our original room was two single pushed together(so many hotels do this now and I wonder if they will ever learn). Topaz is a lovely room with a fantastic ceiling to admire. I would echo some other remarks on noise. On our first night it was very noisy from 7.00am, people just need to understand that noise carries a long way in the enclosed courtyard and be considerate. Once we moved room it was a lot quieter so perhaps also linked to which room you are in. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadSapphire, Owner at Riad Sapphire and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

We much appreciate your great review. Nice to know that you found all the arrangements worked perfectly from initial booking to arrival. We’re thrilled to read that you loved the breakfast and the hammam and spa. Word about the ‘mit’ – it's designed to get rid of all the dead skin so you emerge from the hammam with baby skin.
Thank you for your comments about noise and the need for being considerate. It is a facet of all riads with their central courtyards.
We’re also happy to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
Best wishes and safe travels from the team Aidan, Beryl, Yvonne, Barbara and our Moroccan staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We had a bad experience in another hotel, so we booked this hotel the day of. I was traveling with 3 other people, therefore we had two rooms.I had the Citrine suite and my friends had the Ebony suite. Both rooms were absolutely amazing! Once we walked in the door we were welcomed by the manager Aidan with mint tea and some treats. This place made us feel like home! They gave us a cellphone to use since we only had wifi. Only problem with this raid is there is a 5 minute walk to the taxi stand. But, the staff was always willing to walk you there and back. Especially Sala, picking up my friends and I from the taxi stand 3AM. We were still new to Marrakech and didn't know our way around, Aidan walked us to the Medina and restaurants ! This Riad offers their own taxi/car, but way over charged. Call an uber instead ! On our last night, they were overbooked, so they had to move my friends into another room , and myself along with another friend to another raid. They were willingly to bring our luggages from raid to raid and walk us back and forth all the time. If you told them in advance what you wanted for dinner they would go out and buy the ingredients. Even though we didn't use that service, it seemed great having a home cooked meal! On our last day, we had to leave early for the Sahara Desert, the other bellboy who's name I didn't catch made us breakfast 6AM . Working in the hospitality industry myself, this hospitality was above and beyond! One of the best service I received in Morocco!

Room tip: The view from the 2nd floor to lobby is amazing !!!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadSapphire, Owner at Riad Sapphire and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

What a really great review – thank you so much for taking the time to write in detail. We are glad that you immediately felt at home, particularly after a bad experience in another hotel. It is our aim to help our guests as much as possible and it seems we succeeded since in your expert opinion you rate our hospitality as “above and beyond”. Thank you and safe travels.
From all the team Aidan, Von, Beryl, Barbara and our Moroccan staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Pretty riad on the edge of the medina, however the bed was very hard and the room noisy at night with doors slamming until the early hours. Lovely staff serving breakfast, however the lady who checked us in was not very helpful or welcoming. We were also charged for a baby cot, which we were not expecting.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Daolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadSapphire, Owner at Riad Sapphire and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016


Thank you for this review. We welcome any feedback from clients so that we can optimise our level of service.
We are very disappointed by some of the comments and would like to address the issues raised.
The clients were, in fact, advised of the cost of the child cot when they booked in late October and gave an unequivocal ‘yes’ in answer to our specific question whether they wanted it. So we cannot understand why they wrote that they were not expecting this.
The baby unfortunately did not sleep well and woke up all hours disturbing the parents as well as other guests. Our staff did their utmost to make their stay comfortable, including making tea, lighting the fire, providing hot water for bottles early in the morning to help settle the baby. We are, therefore, surprised to read their comments about the noise in the riad.
It is a characteristic of riads that noise, like doors slamming, from other guests can be heard and we do ask guests to be respectful of this since some people are light sleepers.
Other guests have commented how helpful and friendly our apprentice manager is and we apologize if her behavior did not come across as such for these clients’ arrival.
Regarding the beds, they are high-quality hotel beds – and considering that individual preferences range from very soft to very hard, it is difficult to please all tastes. If it had been mentioned at the time, then we would have put a soft layer on the top of the mattress as we always do our utmost to ensure that our guests are happy. Thank you though for pointing this out so that we can check with future clients as to their preference.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations but we value your feedback nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Our 4-day stay at Riad Sapphire and Spa at the end of November was so sweet: Lovely spaces; welcoming staff; and so many extra and genuine touches to make us feel “at home”.

We had the Cinnabar Suite, which was just as bright and attractive as shown in the pictures on the website. The public spaces were truly inviting; the living room-cum-library with its own wood-burning fireplace, nestled between two cozy interior courtyards, was a brilliant concept beautifully executed. Guests were made to feel welcomed to have breakfast, dinner, tea, or to simply relax anywhere!

Like other reviewers have commented upon, the staff was truly amazing. From our initial contact and throughout, Yvonne, Barbara, and Beryl were always prompt and helpful. The manager, Mr. Aidan Webster, is super kind with numerous helpful suggestions and recommendations. It took us a while to get oriented to our whereabouts, so what did Aidan do? He simply went along to make sure we didn’t get lost! (Aidan claimed to have to go somewhere himself, but we knew he was only helping us out!!!) We had an early departure, but Mohamed insisted that we had at least some bananas and orange juice, served on a tray! We had expressed our surprise at seeing the intact Star of David in some areas of the mellah, without any graffiti or other defacement; next thing we knew, Aidan and Mohamed were busy setting things up so that we could watch Ms. Kathy Wazana’s documentary! These and so many other kind gestures spoke volumes of the extraordinary level of hospitality that Aidan and his staff lavish on their guests. Thank you!

With so many riads and other lodging options in Marrakech from which to choose, we were so glad to have stayed at Riad Sapphire and Spa and would do so again in a heartbeat. The level of personal attention here, always with a smile, was really touching.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadSapphire, Owner at Riad Sapphire and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Wow - what an absolutely fabulous review and needless to say we are all thrilled with your lovely remarks. We much appreciate you having taken the trouble to write so many sweet things about the riad, your stay, the helpful and caring personnel, the service, the personal attention. We all find it highly motivating to always do our best when receiving such fulsome praise. So thank you, we appreciate it! Do come again. Best wishes Barbara, Beryl, Aidan, Yvonne, and all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews