We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
146
26
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
26
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemodern wingnice citywelcoming staffbig squaretaxi drivertwo nightsfresh orange juiceday tripbab mansourbreadmerzougariadoasisdecoration
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

A little bit difficult to find for our taxi driver but once he/we found it we were immediately under the charm of this Riad. The rooms ( we stayed in room Merzouga), the interior and the rooftop terraces are just beautiful and offer all you need to enjoy and relax. All staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They served us every day a delicious breakfast with fresh orange juice, fruit, Maroccan bread, eggs, etc. We also enjoyed the afternoon tea with local sweets on the roof terrace and our conversations with the host. In fact this Riad is already reason enough to visit the nice city of Meknes.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RvR1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantaper, Propriétaire at Riad Safir, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Nous vous remerçions d'avoir pris le temps de nous mettre un mot sur le site de Tripadvisor. Nous disons souvent que le bien être dans un établissement correspond à un moment de partage. Nous avons été heureux de partager donc ces moments avec vous.
Merci de votre confiance et d'avoir apprécié notre établissement.
Continuez à visiter le Maroc , et le monde.
Belle journée à vous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We were most impressed with the kindness and enthusiasm of the staff at this riad. They were eager to help us enjoy Meknes and our day trip to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss. The riad itself is split between a modern wing and a traditional wing. Both are tastefully decorated and clean. We also enjoyed having tea on the terrace. We had breakfast both mornings, and it was delicious and ample - we couldn't eat all that they put in front of us! The location is perfect for any sightseeing you want to do in Meknes (not a 5 minute walk to the imperial gates), and I do recommend the driver they hire if you ask to take a day trip to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss. He was a very kind man that showed us some great spots in both locations and just outside Meknes.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mbernj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

I loved Riad Safir from the moment we stepped into the colourful interior from the winding passage outside. Although it is not as architecturally as interesting as some other more ancient buildings the Riad pulsated with colour and interest. Our room reminded me of an enchanted gypsy caravan - colourful stained glass windows threw moving patterns through the elaborate lacy windows onto the ochre walls and the double doors were painted in vivid yellows and red. A steep wooden staircase led from the main double bedroom to a low ceilinged sleeping platform, creating space for a family of three. It was cosy and characterful and full of charm, as were all of the individual rooms I was lucky enough to see.
Above all though it was the staff at Riad Safir who made it feel so special as they were incredibly kind and thoughtful and made our stay with them feel very special and far too short. Not only were we greeted with mint tea and a multitude of tiny bicuits on arrival, but they provided extra food for my son when he was ill and went out of their way to look after him. If I were ever in Meknes again I'd return like a shot.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Isobel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This was a comfortable and friendly riad, very well located. Our room was long and narrow, but comfortable and clean. The bathroom was up 4 steps, so we used our camping headlamps at night to be sure not to fall. The roof terrace has great potential, but not well set up for lounging, snacking; it needs some development. After some email correspondence, we expected to meet the French owners, but we were told they are not there very often. The staff, especially Nora, who speaks English, took care of us well. Nora helped us find one of the better restaurants we visited in Morocco. Tea in the afternoon became a habit. The breakfast was fine, maybe not the best we had in Morocco, but with excellent fresh orange juice. Wifi is available only on one side of the house; it would be more convenient if it could be extended to the other side. The medina here was in some ways more real than that in Fes, with less hassle and even easier to get lost in. The produce market behind the big square was really amazing. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: LIke all riads, the ground floor rooms are dark. Choose a room on the next floor up if possible.
Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I visit this Riad since 2008, and it is feels like my home in Meknès. The staff is wonderful and the breakfasts are great. I like to stay in this mèdina of Meknès because it is a more authentic and less touristic town compared with Fès and Marrakech.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iohannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews