We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Nearby Hotels
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$375
US$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kirawira Serena Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$776
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Pioneer Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Migration Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Sopa Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
US$579
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kiota Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$579
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
US$863
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
    US$1,771
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (558)
    Filter reviews
    558 results
    Traveller rating
    503
    48
    4
    1
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    503
    48
    4
    1
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsnorthern serengetimara rivergame driveswildebeest crossingblack rhinoshower roomsafari experienceother guestshoneymoon suitethe managershardwood floorswonderful experiencegreat game viewinganimal lifebottle of champagnegreat migrationkogatende airstrip
    Filter
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 558 reviews
    Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

    We loved our stay at Sayari. The tents are well appointed and very comfortable. We were in 15, which was very comfortable, provided game viewing from the deck, had views of Kenya in the distance and had a great outdoor tub. Minor critique is that it was the farthest walk from the main lodge area which may be an issue for some people but it was fine for us (note: its easy to call for a pickup and they come right away). One morning walking to the lodge we had a surprise moment with some giraffes, another time with zebra, so you also get those intimate experiences.

    Our guide Halfani was outstanding and the game viewing was excellent. Game highlights included seeing two rhinos, a pride of 13 lions, mating lions, cheetahs, leopards, groups of elephants, giraffes, hippos, impala, buffalo, etc. Note that the migration had come through in July/August so we did not see the migration or river crossings in late Sept. Halfani also arranged for sundowners/champagne for us at a great spot for the sunset.

    David, Syed, Mala (spelling?) and the whole group at the lodge provided great service. The people at this lodge are lovely and really make it special. Dinners are done as a group with singing making it a really nice joyful atmosphere.

    Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    Thank Randy G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

    Hello Randy,

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the location of your tent and that you were able to have such great wildlife encounters. We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed the service and the sundowner drinks. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

    Warmest regards from Africa,
    The Sayari Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

    We stayed for three nights at the end of our trip. Our guide Said was excellent at ensuring we got to see rhino, cheetah (hunt and kill), multiple leopards and lions. The service at the camp was exceptional and we were treated as special visitors throughout. My dietary needs were met by the chef and the food was both varied, extremely tasty and fresh. The staff go out of their way to help without being intrusive.

    Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    Thank rdella
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

    Hello Della,

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the game drives with Said and that you were able to see so much wildlife. We are so ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed all the meals, we loved hosting you and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

    Warmest regards from Africa,
    The Sayari Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 September 2017

    We stayed on the smaller side of the Sayari property, which provided for a very quaint and personalized atmosphere. The accommodations (aka tent) was well kept and cleaned daily. The amenities in the room, specifically the mini-bar and the large shower, made for a comfortable "bush" experience.

    All of the meals were great. If you have the option to have breakfast in the bush, i.e. depart early for your game drive, I would recommend doing it at least one day. It was a special experience to leave a footprint in the Serengeti while enjoying a breakfast sandwich and sipping a cup of coffee.

    One day I was not feeling well, and the staff was very accommodating to my needs. They made me a special breakfast and dinner, along with delivering my dinner to my tent. The assistance camp manager was the primary reason for making me feel like I had nothing to worry about and that I would be well taken care of.

    The most special part of the entire trip was our guide, Elia. He made our stay and our experience one that we will never forget. Not only was he extremely knowledgeable, but also very personable. Because of him, we walked away from the Serengeti feeling as if we had not missed a thing, yet we didn't want to leave.

    Next time, we are bringing the kids :)

    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank scriley13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for your amazing feedback - we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the bush breakfasts and the meals at camp. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff, in particular our guide Elia. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Warmest regards from Africa,
    The Sayari Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 September 2017

    Excellent food, service and tent housing. We had a wonderful time close to the migration and enjoying time with new friends. The Chef was very creative with fresh food and ingredients. This is the place to stay in East Africa!

    Room Tip: Bring your flip flops.
    Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank Gary B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

    Hello Gary,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals prepared by our chef. We are so pleased that you were able to view the migration up close. We absolutely loved having you and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

    Warmest regards from Africa,
    The Sayari Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 September 2017

    Although the Serengeti was the best area for game viewing, our experience at this camp was not. Our guide made a bad call and took us across a river and the river flooded and we became stranded. We asked to be brought to the Asilia camp on that side but he refused. After waiting for an hour we realized the river wasn't receding enough he made another poor decision to leave the national park to try to go around to another crossing. We had no communication and no directions. We had to go through villages and towns asking directions and were scared and concerned. We arrived back at our camp 6 hours later and were not even greeted by the manager on duty! Safety of the guests must come first and we felt lucky that nothing horrible happened.

    Room Tip: Try a better managed camp
    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Cindy H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

    Hello Cindy,

    We're sorry to hear of your experience, and would like to take this opportunity to assure you that the safety of our guests is always our top priority.

    We have investigated your complaint and it seems that the risks associated with crossing the river and having to potentially take a longer, unfamiliar route back were communicated to you multiple times and you were happy to take the risk and even insisted on going despite the warning. Unfortunately in your case, the water levels did rise, and our guide’s refusal to cross back the same way was in fact about putting your safety first. As a result, the long route back necessitated leaving the national park and the stops to ask for directions resulted from your guide's attempt to ensure that the best route back was selected.

    We attempted to compensate you for this experience by serving a complimentary bottle of premium wine with your private dinner, along with an apology note.

    The safety of our guests is always our primary concern, and we make every effort to ensure that our guests are never put in any unnecessary danger. While there were risks associated with crossing the river and having to find an alternative route back, your guide would never have willingly exposed you to any situations that would be unsafe, and at no point were you in any immediate danger.

    We do apologise for your experience and that it left you feeling that you were unsafe.

    Warmest regards from Africa,
    The Sayari Camp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews