We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Carlton Hotel Tunis(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Business Hotel(Tunis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$87
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$173
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar El Medina(Tunis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
US$104
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Traki(Tunis)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dar Hayder(Tunis)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
87
23
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
23
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold housebeautiful architecturemodern bathroomold cityour honeymooncentral courtyardrooftop terracebreakfast is servedtraditional houseeasy accessnext morningmedinadarcenturyahmadtunisiataxi
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the past two years, my group of international filmmakers has been staying in this house because it is the easiest way for them to feel the culture, history, and lifestyle of this beautiful city. Can you believe this house was made in the 15th century? The fact that people can live in it comfortably, and get inspired by it is truly a blessing. Not to mention the owner and the staff are as helpful as family members are - they truly go out of their way to make sure we all feel at home. Investing in this place, isnt investing in a place to sleep, it is investing in a unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Some hotels are so iconic that they are living, beating tokens of their cities. This is the one for Tunis, and specifically the Medina, or the old town. And if the Medina is the heart of the city, Dar Ben-Gacem, and it's owner Leila Ben-Gacem, is its soul. Off a very pretty, quiet street in the newly restored area, once you walk through the old wooden doorway you enter an oasis of charm, beauty, taste and hospitality. Every detail is perfect in this painstakingly restored family home. The rooms are all off a courtyard (where a lovely homemade breakfast is served) and are furnished in traditional Tunisia woodwork, upholstery, tiles and bedding. Common spaces are decorated with crafts created by women who live in the southern region. Topping it off is a breathtaking rooftop terrace. In all, if you enjoy blissful tranquility and generous hospitality only a five minute walk from the buzz of the markets and medina, this is the right place.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeilaBG, General Manager at Dar Ben-Gacem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Caroline,
come back home anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

I cannot say one bad thing about this hotel! I did love it!
The room is lovely!! The service is outstanding!!!
The rooftop is a very nice place (do not miss it if you go there...!)
The breakfast is great!!
If I come back to Tunis, I will book again in this hotel with no doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeilaBG, General Manager at Dar Ben-Gacem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you so much; and we look so forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

A beautiful, calm hotel in a quite corner of the Medina. If your preference is for traditional styles over chrome and glass then this is the place for you. Rooms are delightful, the hotel is full of interesting nooks and crannies to sit and chill and everywhere you look there is a beautiful piece of local craftsmanship. The roof terrace is ideal for a relaxing hour or two and provides sun and shade to suit. Location is great, within three minutes you are in the centre of the bustling medina and ten minutes walk takes you to Porte de France in the New Town. All of the staff at this hotel were helpful and charming. Breakfast was plentiful, coffee was provided on request and came complete with pastries on several occasions. As we were staying during Ramadan the staff even invited us to join them for dinner one evening. What a totally unexpected and kind gesture. I could not recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a bath with hand shower tap. If you want a stand in shower be specific when booking.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hebe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I spent 3 nights here and loved every minute. It was a treat feeling like a local walking to work in the morning for business appts. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff is extremely helpful- breakfast in the morning was delicious and reading on the roof in the afternoon was a special treat. They willl prepare dinner for you if you let them know ahead of time in the morning. One morning I made arrangements to to have wine and cheese served on the roof for cocktails with a firend at sunset. The social mission of the owner is inspiring and imbues the home with a sense of soul and positive spirit. I an looking forward to returning this fall.

A friend had cautioned me about the challenge of staying inside the Medina but it was not an issue here, It is located within easy access to exit the Medina, the staff met my taxi the first time to help with my luggage and escort me to the hotel, they showed me the way the next morning and continued to offer assistance but it was so easy I could find my own way.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews