We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Regret- DO NOT WALK WITH LIONS”

Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Africa's first genuine programme to ethically re-introduce the offspring of rehabilitated captive-bred African lion back into the wild, helping safeguard the future of the king of the beasts. Join us for a lion walk and learn all about this fascinating creatures!
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Ignorance and making certain assumptions- brought me to the Lion Encounter. I have nothing negative to say about the staff. My issues is with the over exposure of wild life to humans. It is not natural for lions to be walked by and pet by humans. For that reason alone the activity should not exist. Game Drives allow you the opportunity to see wildlife in there habitats at a distance. That should be enough.
I regret going.

2  Thank Tahoepov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

We would like to thank you for reviewing our organisation, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed. The reason for the walks is to introduce the cubs to their natural environment and we allow guests to go along on these walks and to interact with the cubs who are the ambassadors for our release program. The money paid by guests joining these walks is a way of generating the funds which go to the conservation and release program.

Please visit the ALERT website for more information lionalert.org regarding our release program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lion encounter"
in 83 reviews
"lion population"
in 30 reviews
"conservation program"
in 19 reviews
"human contact"
in 13 reviews
"lion walk"
in 34 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 52 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 45 reviews
"money goes"
in 15 reviews
"big cats"
in 8 reviews
"these magnificent animals"
in 10 reviews
"felt completely safe"
in 8 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 8 reviews
"take pictures"
in 19 reviews
"great pictures"
in 11 reviews
"for sale"
in 8 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 14 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

Having visited the tigers in Thailand and walked with them (albeit chained) it seemed logical to follow it up with a lion encounter. The main difference here is that they are free roaming and look much happier and content. The staff looked after both us and the animals very well, some of the proceeds apparently go towards the upkeep of the animals and reintegration into the wild. Our group of 4 ended up walking with 2 6 month old cubs and although I was slightly disappointed it wasn't a fully grown adult with mane it was still very worthwhile. Our walk was in the early morning and it was probably the best time as it was still fairly cool. We were also treated to breakfast and watched a video back of our experience with the option to purchase. Recommended for now, but I believe the walks are being discontinued in the near future, so it may have been last chance saloon.

Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our program, we are pleased you had a good experience.

Please visit the ALERT website for further detail and information on the release program lionalert.org.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

It is amazing to be up close and walking with the lions, even able to touch them. The lions we saw were 7 months old -don’t expect mature lions. There are countless photo opportunities for everyone and the guides make sure each person gets a turn walking with the lions.

There was one negative: We were asked to meet at the border at 6:25am. Unfortunately we were on a tour with a group of 30 who arrived over an hour late. We ended up leaving for the tour at 7:45am.

Thank MiaFalck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our organisation. Firstly we would like to apologise for the delay you experienced at the border unfortunately sometimes unforeseen circumstances arise.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and we hope that the guides filled you in on the release program. Please visit the ALERT website for more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Without a doubt the most incredible experience I have ever had. The animals are not doped! A must do

Thank Sérgio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our organisation, we are pleased to hear that you had a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Walking with Lion was amazing.The Lion are very inteligent.
I love and i respect this animal,and i hope that human being,trough this project,will discover that the nature should be preserved.

Thank Pierazzarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for reviewing our program. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed your experience.

Please visit the ALERT website for more information on the release program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing