We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience! ”

Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Africa's first genuine programme to ethically re-introduce the offspring of rehabilitated captive-bred African lion back into the wild, helping safeguard the future of the king of the beasts. Join us for a lion walk and learn all about this fascinating creatures!
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

One of the best experiences while in Livingstone. The lions were walking free and weren't drugged. The encounter was executed with the lions under the animal's own terms (stand up when the lion does, don't cross its shoulder line while walking, don't touch their ears etc.). You could really see that the keepers and the lions had a special bond.

Would still want to know what happens to the lions that grow up and aren't suitable for the walks anymore.

Thank Vilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our organisation. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time.

The lions are retired from walking with guests at approximately 22 months, once at this stage they then move onto a night encounter hunting phase which they do until they are approximately 3 years old, please note in this stage all human contact is removed. Once they are through the night encounter stage they are then bonded with other lions of different blood lines to form bonds and then move on to the semi-wild release area. Through all of these stages data is collected to ensure that they are able to hunt and normal instinctual behaviors are being exhibited. You can learn more about the program from visiting the lionalert.org page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lion encounter"
in 83 reviews
"lion population"
in 30 reviews
"conservation program"
in 19 reviews
"human contact"
in 13 reviews
"lion walk"
in 34 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 52 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 45 reviews
"money goes"
in 15 reviews
"big cats"
in 8 reviews
"these magnificent animals"
in 10 reviews
"felt completely safe"
in 8 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 8 reviews
"take pictures"
in 19 reviews
"great pictures"
in 11 reviews
"for sale"
in 8 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 14 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2018

What an experience! Thrilling to be so close to and actually touching juvenile lions. Get lots of pictures!

Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for taking time to review our organisation. We are pleased to hear you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

I was skeptical of this “attraction” thinking it was called “Walking with Lions” but in reality would be something quite different. It turned out to be one of the best experiences I’ve ever had
This group is trying to make a difference and increase the lion population which is dwindling and yet allow people to get an upfront and personal experience. Some others in my group came along when I decided to do this and we all loved it!

1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our organisation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and got an understanding of what we are doing. Please feel free at anytime to look at the ALERT website for updates lionalert.org.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Went first thing in the morning so it was not busy. Our group of four were able to go on our own tour since no one else had showed up yet. The guides (3) were entertaining and competent. We had plenty of one-on-one time and photo opportunities with the lions, Mona & Milo. The guides even took some pics for the us. They Lion’s were 18 months old so quite a bit larger than we expected.
An amazing experience!

Thank Scot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for the review, however this is not our organisation as we do not have lions by the names of Mona and Milo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

This is one of the best things I’ve done. We were collected at 9am and driven to the reserve where the lions are being raised for reintroduction to the bush through a program to increase the lion numbers.

There are drinks offered and a full safety briefing and video to watch at the start.

Then you break off into groups, grab your walking sticks and follow your guides to meet the cubs.

Upon just seeing them up that close is a sight to take your breath away. Your guides/handlers show you individually how to approach them and where you can/can’t touch them and what to do if they get a little over playful!

You each have a solid turn with the cubs then you all walk as a group and then get some individual time walking behind them too. The overall group time with the cubs is 45 mins.

There is a guy taking footage so you can purchase a dvd of your experience for USD$25/30.

I could’ve stayed a lifetime.

Thank muffworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionEncounterAdmin, General Manager at Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our organisation. We are pleased you had a good time and understood our conservation program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Walking with Lions at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing