We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ilala Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Falls Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Safari Club(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
762
461
68
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
461
68
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floorclosest hoteltourist policemist risingminute walk to the fallssunset cruiseelephant walkbottled waterthatched roofwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel ,situated only a short walk from the falls, provided all we wanted after long journey.The quality of the accommodation and service was first class . Food was also very good with a wide choice , reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fellsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to review IIala Lodge. It is a great honor and we appreciate your comments and reviews shared. We are glad you had wonderful experience with us. We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The logde was lovely. We stayed for 2 nights in May 2012. The hotel accomodation was pre-booked and paid for, but when we checked out I paid for the meals, etc with my Visa card. The bill was $497 US. The bill did not go through my Visa until July, but Ilala lodge has now put this bill through on my Visa 2 more times, once in Sept and again in October!!!!! SO BEWARE, i hate tio think this is fraudulent. I have contacted Visa to dsipute the charge, so still waiting to see what happens. Until this is sorted out I urge everyone to avoid this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
7  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Heather

We thank you for your review and your positive feedback on your stay and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Unfortunately you have raised a huge concern. As per our personal contact with each other we are assisting you with the re-occurring charges on your credit card. As we mentioned the credit card process is fully automated and Ilala Lodge plays no role with any transactions. We have ascertained so far that the bank is at fault here and is addressing the matter as we speak with VISA.

Thank you once again and we will endeavor to ensure that this is addressed swiftly.


Kind regards

Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

For reasons not relevant to this review, we stayed at both Ilala Lodge and The Victoria Falls Hotel. The bookings were made through an agent and as there was no difference in price, we decided to try both.

If you find yourself in the same situation, choose The Victoria Falls Hotel.

Let's be clear, there's nothing wrong with Ilala Lodge - the staff are pleasant and the rooms are clean. They do, though, lack blackout blinds.

Whilst it's true this property is closer to the Falls, it does not mean the view is better. It's simply geographically closer than any other hotel in Victoria Falls.

If we hadn't first stayed at The Falls Hotel, we would have found the breakfast at Ilala acceptable, although Grilled Kipper on Potato Rosti topped with a Poached Egg was very disappointing, just about inedible. The rosti was the size of a beermat - flat and greasy, not at all crispy - the kipper fillet had been cut to fit on top of it, the egg was fine, but the whole thing was finished off with a dollop of hollandaise sauce - both unexpected and very unwelcome. The next morning's English breakfast featured sausages which had been flashed across a griddle and were clearly uncooked.

Interesting to note that since our stay earlier this year, this hotel has started to charge for internet access.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoundtheHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you very much on your comment on Ilala Lodge hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments. We however apologize for the discomforts you encountered during your stay with us and we would like to assure you that all your concerns raised have been rectified during the course of the year.
We therefore look forward to seeing you again and that you may enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

After a lengthy wait at the airport for the visa it was good to get to this hotel. We were welcomed with an iced tea which was very refreshing and taken to our room which was a deluxe suite with a thatched roof.

The room was very spacious and comfortable with good bathroom. There was plenty of coffee/tea & hot chocolate on the supplied tray and complimentary mineral water waiting for us. Room contains a minibar & small fridge. Good sized balcony with coffee table and chairs, overlooking the grounds where we would watch the warthogs which wandered in. you can also see the spray of the 'Falls' from the room.

The breakfasts were lovely with a good choice of hot food from the menu. There was a plentiful supply of the cold buffet products.

We ate dinner on two occasions and were very pleased with the food. Yes - the food could be classed as a little expensive but this was part of our Victoria Falls experience and experience it was to be sat outside on the terrace, under candlelight, absorbing the sounds of a Zimbabwe evening.

There is a computer terminal in the lobby which provides free access to the internet but you need to time it right, as it is obviously popular.

I loved the quietness, the old world charm and it's proximity to the 'falls'. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay, very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge hotel. We appreciate your reviews and comments. We are happy you had wonderful stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Rooms are very comfortable. Restaurant food was excellent but you pay $7US for 1 spring roll, so it is a tad expensive. We went on a night sunset cruise which was very nice, good food all you could drink, but to cloudy to see sunset. This hotel has free access to computer, you can also buy internet time for $5. Money is US$ but will take Rand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you for taking time to review ilala lodge hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments and recommendations from our guests. We are lad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you return again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews