We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Avani stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Nice service and friendly staff. The room clean and well kept. There was however limited access to the swimming pool. Also there were no towels at the pool. The staff did help whenever i needed help like fixing the aircon timeously

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank tshiamom369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotlhe M, Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your feedback, it has been shared with team and will definitely help us improve. We apologise for the unfortunate experience, and we are happy that our team promptly assisted with fixing the air-conditioner.

We look forward to your next stay with us and hope that it will be awesome!

Thank you,
Gotlhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

Hotel has been refurbished recently and for me has become the best hotel in Gaborone. Very good service. The buffet at the restaurant is wonderful with a mix of Indian, Chinese and Local delicacies prepared to perfection.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotlhe M, Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We really appreciate your wonderful feedback, it has been shared with the team and will definitely encourage everyone to aim higher!

We look forward your next stay with us and we hope that it will still be excellent!

Thank you,

Gotlhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

The refurbishment has made a big difference. Friendly staff, nice food, modern rooms. Gym wasn’t open but apparently it will be refurbished. The pool bar had good vibes, nice drink and food. I would go back there

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank T2553YEjulianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotlhe M, Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your wonderful feedback, it has been shared with the great team! The gym will be up and running soon!

We look forward to your next stay with us and we hope that it will be awesome!

Thank you,

Gotlhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Very nice job done on the renovation. Rooms facing inside are very quiet and well equipped. In door and out door lounge allows business traveler to work in a perfect set up. Breakfast buffet is simply stunning. Wifi is free and fast. Just the standard GHA experience is missing as the reception is not very aware of any membership benefits. But when you tell them it will be applied. Will come back soon.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotlhe M, Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate your wonderful feedback. We are very delighted that you loved our property, the issue of GHA will be addressed with the reception team, and we apologise for that.

We look forward to your next stay with us and we hope that it will be awesome!

Kind Regards,

Gotlhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

I had a terrible night. My flight was cancelled, so I had to stay in this hotel for one night. They reception never helped me to send the luggage to my room, I had to pull that to room.. and it was long journey.
I had to leave very early for my flight, I requested if they can provide a pack breakfast (Breakfast was included in my stay). They agreed. I called atleast 45 mins before leaving, that I will check-out, please breakfast ready - still it was not ready. I had to leave without the breakfast. Worst the front desk didn't show any courtesy.
Very very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spurkait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotlhe M, Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for the time taken to bring to our attention the unfortunate guest experience you had, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve.

We sincerely apologise for that, we have shared the feedback and put measures in place to ensure that we offer the level of service deserved by you and other guests.

We look forward to serving you professionally in future, and please do not hesitate to contact me the next time you visit Gaborone.

Thank you,

Gotlhe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.1 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
216 reviews
2.6 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#4 of 17 in Gaborone
412 reviews
0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#7 of 17 in Gaborone
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#12 of 17 in Gaborone
45 reviews
4 km away
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
#5 of 17 in Gaborone
82 reviews
5.2 km away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: 4727 Chuma Drive, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $249 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing