We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regent Select Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Reviewed 4 November 2015

I spent two weeks at the Regent Select. Staff were very friendly and helpful and even organised a safari for us at the weekend, across the nearby border with South Africa. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable, and had nice touches such as fresh water every day and coffee machines. The pool was very welcome at the end of days in hot offices!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
980jimmy, General Manager at Regent Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear Thomas

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for my hotel, I am very pleased that my team has looked after you, please feel free to contact us again when you need to come to Africa/Botswana.

Regards,

Jimmy Borchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2015

Enjoyed a recent one night stay at this property. It is very clean with a modern style reception. Friendly staff. No lift. The rooms are large, modern,well appointed with a comfortable bed and very large bathroom. Nice flat screen TV and small kitchenette, too. Again, very clean. Good WiFi. I thought the breakfast was good and quite average for Gaborone hotels. Very quiet, tough one detractor is that there isn't much in the area for restaurants or shops to walk to, you'd be better off in a taxi. I would stay here again and I recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
980jimmy, General Manager at Regent Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Good Morning,

Thank you for writing a review for the hotel, i am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting us again.

if you need to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us via email on: infor@regentselect.co.bw or alternatively you can contact us on +267 3182572.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Recently visited Gabs for a wedding. Bride had negotiated specials rates for us travelling from SA, so the Manager there was very helpful in getting us a good rate, but also confirmed bookings asap. Arriving late at night they were prepared to even re-open the kitchen for us, so meeting their guests needs was very important to them.
From the front desk reception to waiters and cleaning staff we always got smiles and greetings. And when we finally did have that meal with them, it was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the best with open balconies to the back ... more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shollay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
980jimmy, General Manager at Regent Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Good day Mam, thank you for the review, and it was only a pleasure to assist you as our guests, in this industry there are times whereby we need to go beyond the call of duty to ensure that our guests are happy.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the next event.

Regards,

Jimmy Borchard
General Manager
Regent Select

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Difficult to make up my mind on this one. THe hotel is very well located. The owner is really trying hard. You can tell that he loves his hotel, and tries to make things better by the day. Staff is super nice, and doing their best to help in all circumstances…including stuff way outside pure hospitality like driving people like me around the city and organising tours for them. All very comendable. However the hotel infrastructure is not yet fully up to what they want to do with the place: no elevator and nobody to bring up luggage; rooms quite poorly insulated from inside noise and light; bathrooms looking somehow more like the ones you would find in a flat hotel than in a hotel; staff not aware that moving noisy objects like plates and cutlery from 0500 in the morning is probably not the best way to let people sleep; internet very slow no matter what one does… Bottom line is that I don’t want to give them a bad rating, as starting a business is difficult and as they are really trying hard to make this one work. At the same time I cannot yet give them a very good rating as they need to improve a couple of important things to earn such very good rating. My advice to the owner would be to keep his super nice staff; change the internal windows in the rooms, as that is from where noise gets into the rooms; tell their kitchen staff to move plates at decent hours (or keep it where it belongs) and avoid shouting in the corridors when they do so; and of course change the internet service provider he uses to one with real service level agreement in order to keep corporate visitors happy...

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

I enjoyed my stay a lot at the Regent Select Hotel. the rooms were nice, the staff were very friendly and tried to make you feel at home. The only negative was the amount of time it took to prepare food.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
980jimmy, General Manager at Regent Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Good Day Sir,

Thank you for the review, and we take what all our guests say very seriously, since your stay our service has improved in the kitchen as they have got some additional equipment to enhance their service to our guests, we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us when the time comes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.8 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#4 of 17 in Gaborone
414 reviews
0.8 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
216 reviews
1.3 km away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#12 of 17 in Gaborone
46 reviews
0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#7 of 17 in Gaborone
54 reviews
2.9 km away
Room 50 Two
Room 50 Two
#11 of 17 in Gaborone
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Select Hotel

Address: Plot 74344, Cnr of Chuma &Sedibelo Way | Extension 10. Gaborone, Gaborone 45006, Botswana
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range: $153 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regent Select Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The long wait is finaly over, our extensions are done. We now have a 37 bedroom Executive Hotel, 3 boardrooms, new restaurant and a new kitchen. close to CBD and government enclave. close proximety to shopping centre. Free WIFI Airconditioned 24 hour security Free Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Regent Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing