We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
44
93
34
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
93
34
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club du lac lake tanganyika in town sandy beach amazing lake air con worked well friday and sunday looked lovely beautiful swimming pool business trip shore airport band gym drc internet odds
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

we didn't stayed in the hotel but we went their several times to take a swim with the kids because the swimming pools are great. The food is bad and expensive. During our last visit I had to pay the bill in Euros because I didn't had enough Burundian Francs in cash. To my surprise they were charging me an exchange rate which was 35% higher than the rates in the exchange offices downtown. So my advice is to pay always in cash in BUR francs over their and never let them change your money or take any cash from their ATM, they rip you off.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lucwillems001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubduLac, Responsable réception at Hotel Club du Lac Tanganyika, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear guest,
we are sorry, but the hotel just apply the official exchange rate which is the rate of the Central Bank of Burundi. The exchange rate which you're talking about refers to the black market and it will be illegal for hotel to apply this exchange rate. The same is for the ATM, which is not for the Hotel but for the bank.
We are sorry for this but we hope you understand.
Hope to see you again around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

For whom does not resist to Italian food this hotel will serve you very well. Nice rooms on the Tanganika sands. Pizza is a pizza and spaghetti shall be “al dente” thanks to Italian influence of manager and staff. Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank stefano s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubduLac, Responsable réception at Hotel Club du Lac Tanganyika, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you Stefano for your review!
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The hotel is right on the shores of the amazing Lake Tanganyika. The rooms are quite and comfortable, watching the lake from the balcony is priceless. The pool and the bar are very good places to enjoy the services and hospitality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gimy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubduLac, Responsable réception at Hotel Club du Lac Tanganyika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you Gimy for taking time and review our property. It's a pleasure for us to know that you appreciated your stay.
We hope to have among your guest next time you'll be in Burundi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The positive: nice location, beautiful swimming pool and gym, access to the beach. The bad: terrible food (really) expensive, no WiFi, unprofessional staff. Still.., one of the few places in town to have a nice relaxing pool day.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rodolphe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Club du Lac is one of the most famous to be in Bujumbura, it is on the lake "road", kind of outside of the capital, so when the problems and shootings were happening in 2015-2016, this is where the "diplomatic" guests used to come! away from all the noise... the place is amazingly romantic, so better not to be on a business trip! i walked it out with my wife and it is so nice, the garden, the rooms, the beach... highly recommended! the pool is so nice, big and clean, the food is OK, not wow but just good, we came to the restaurant on many occasions, although u feel that the plates will be fantastic, but there was always something missing!! the place has a gym, but it is expensive. a place to visit when you are in Bujumbura, for a stay or for a swim!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nader B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews