We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing has changed”
Review of Buchannan's Grill - CLOSED

Buchannan's Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Having been closed for a number of months for supposed refurbishments and a 'fine dining experience' makeover it was disappointing to say the least to see that nothing has changed.
Maybe a lick of paint has been applied here and there but frankly this is still the same place, same menu, same poor service and same overpriced venue that it was before. If there is one noticeable change its that the new owners sit in the bar, being loud, drinking beer and smoking - which I assume is their right?
There are dozens of better places to eat in Lilongwe, don't waste your money here.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Michael23558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We used to love coming to Buchannons for a beer- we were certain they were the coldest in town! Enjoyed their onion rings but we always felt a bit suspect after eating a proper meal. Kept coming back for the bar tho!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 553abbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I had my first Malawian steak here and it was really, really good; tender and tasty! There are vegetarian options as well and the food is varied, well-cooked and tasty - reasonably-priced too. We were there in the rainy season and sat out on the veranda under umbrellas, listening to the frog chorus in the pond. Good beer, good food, really nice place...

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase M, General Manager at Buchannan's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for your post. We appreciate it. We hope that that you had a wonderful time and that you will visit us again.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Great food, good environment and good place to meet other expats...a must for the rugby fan with all games shown on weekends. Food a bit pricy but always top notch

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. (Except the neighbouring chainsmoking table). Frogs making noise - but that's the way they are. Quick service - decent house wine and a very very good chicken cordonbleu.
I really liked the place.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank globalswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buchannan's Grill also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing