We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$162
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blu Sky Hotel(Maputo)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
US$149
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Acacia Guest House(Maputo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$46
US$41
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Chinese Villa Resort(Maputo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Acacia Inn(Maputo)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catembe Beach Lodge(Maputo)(Great Value!)
US$32
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$259
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Base(Maputo)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
16
16
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
16
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial eragreat locationdenisemozambiquepillowsnets
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This 8 room boutique hotel is located in a colonial era house with good crisp original design sense that has been updated with good taste. The rooms are pleasant and spacious (with good quality linen, pillows and four post style mosquito net) and there is a comfortable lobby and a pool at the back.

The room rate covers a good internet connection in the rooms and breakfast that includes fresh fruit and ingredients and (just as important) good (espresso) coffee! Staff / service are of good standard and the price is reasonable by Maputo standards and represents good value. The location could not be better, at the quiet end of Nyerere but close / walking distance to all the good restaurants, bars, shops and embassies.

The Duqueza is a gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have stayed at this delightful guesthouse at least 4-5 times in the last two years, usually for more than a week at a time while in Maputo on business. It is truly a wonderful place, located in a lovely part of Avenida Julius Nyerere, across from the Polana shopping mall and within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops. As a runner, I love the guesthouse's promixity to the popular running/walking strip of Avenida Friedrich Engels, a great place to view the sun rise or set any time of year.

The guesthouse itself offers an excellent breakfast (including delicious coffee, granola, eggs, and fresh fruit), a great little backyard pool for lying out in the sun, and the rooms are always clean and inviting (usually with excellent Wi-Fi). The staff is professional and kind (it helps to learn a few Portuguese phrases to communicate if you're a non-Lusophone), and the owner Denise is always warm and responsive to requests, and her English is excellent. On my last visit, she told me about the historic nature of the property dating from at least the early-20th century, an increasingly rare aspect in rapidly developing Maputo.

In summary, I highly recommend a stay for business or leisure at the Duqueza!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a couple of nights there as we passed a weekend in Maputo before heading to the beach. The rooms were clean and just fine, nothing special and nothing to write home about. There were no other services really to mention from the hotel except I thought it was strange no one working there spoke any English. It would have been nice to have someone we could ask questions about restaurants or sights or getting a taxi but no assistance in that department.

The best element of the hotel, however, was the location. It was smack dab in the middle of a lot of interesting restaurants and bars and easy to get to different parts of town. Around the corner was the best chicken we've ever had and it was lovely to just around the neighborhood a bit to soak up the vibes of Maputo.

All in all, I would have voted a good rating except I thought it was pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchavezfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is on busy Museu. The nicest area in Maputo. Everything is close like Pirata and Polana Shoping and Piri Piri. At half price of other hotels I think this is the best. There is a swiming pool too if you want to swim on hot days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maibasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We enjoyed Room 2 which is a front street facing room with balcony (a little noisy on weekends with traffic but still highly recommend it). Extremely clean and lovely place. Adjacent to Polana Shopping Centre (a good landmark when you can't speak portugese) and nice restaurants nearby Mundos (yummy pizza and a lively crowd on Friday night) and Bella Vista for lovely sushi. Denise was very helpful organising us a tuk tuk 1800 meticals per day to get out and about. Overall a pleasant time spent here.

Room Tip: Room 2 with big balcony especially if you smoke.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews