We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and zero service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Khartoum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
German Guesthouse Khartoum
Ranked #2 of 20 Khartoum B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We paid USD120 (no SDP accepted) per double room on full board basis. For this price one has certain expectations, which were not met, by a very wide margin - the rate should be nearer USD40 IMHO.

The owner/manager was away and the "staff" excelled in their absence of service and were not particularly friendly especially in the dining area. When we left, there was no-one around and we left the money with another guest.

On arrival, our reservation had not been recorded despite several emails/SMS. The lunch was soup. One of the other guests offered us pasta they had prepared which compensated.

One room had no hot water, something needed to be connected and there was a 30 minute wait for a hot shower. When going to bed we discovered that there was only one sheet per bed and there was no staff to find any extra sheets - we had to sleep under an acrylic blanket.

The evening dinner was prepared by a German guest (not staff) which was very nice but it was not clear whether we were expected to help out. At least we did not have to wash up.

There was only stale bread and jam for breakfast - we went to the Rotana instead!

The dining room was not particularly clean and there was a strong smell of gas.

The internet was good.

The pool was pleasant, although it ought to be cleaned daily (this was not the case).

It was nice to meet fellow travellers over dinner.

For this price, avoid, and head to the nearby Bouganvilla hotel.

Reconsider the German guest house if the prices are slashed! But lower any expectations.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank KendeMalamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

5 - 9 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2016

We stopped here travelling in our own camper so did not need rooms.
However, we received: breakfast, softdrinks, internet, a room with a/c and bathroom, pool use and a nightguard in front of our car. For a very good price. On top of that, the owner is extremely knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Also, he needed our help sampling the whiskey-cola, to which we gladly obliged... We were here in 2014

Room Tip: Best beer and whiskey in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

The German Guesthouse is a great place to relax in Khartoum. It’s a place to feel at home, where Norbert and his staff are welcoming you the way you want. The rooms are big and clean, there is a good WIFI connection and a dip in the swimming pool is great to relax. We enjoyed the food very much. If you can try to stay here, you will enjoy it

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IsaandYouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

An oasis in Khartoum. Big clean rooms, quiet for sleeping, good food and drinks, wifi always working.A lovely swimming-pool and a nice terrace to relax. Staff are very very friendly and helpful. Safe parking for the car. The best place after travelling for months through hectic Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tina4319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

Thursday nights in Khartoum are like Friday nights in non-Muslim countries. That's why it's TGIT at the German Guest House in Khartoum soon to be renamed International Guest House. Norbert, the owner and staff were very helpful during our four night stay.

The rooms are fairly basic but clean and the swimming pool is a good way to cool down on a hot day. All meals and laundry are included in the price but make sure you get to the dining area early since the food goes fairly quickly.

This place seems to attract interesting guests, so take some time to chat to a few of them while you're there.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kayum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to German Guesthouse Khartoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Guesthouse Khartoum

Address: 839 Block 22 | Al Taif, Khartoum, Sudan
Region: Sudan > Khartoum State > Khartoum
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Khartoum
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The German Guesthouse is a small clean and comfortable hotel with a relaxed and familiar atmosphere. It is owned and run by Germans and open to everybody who needs accommodation in Khartoum, or just wants to chill out at our pool and bar area. We can organize all kinds of individual travels, trips and guided tours in Sudan, assist with the paperwork regarding visas and permits and even organize events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing