We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wrote and directed their first TV commercial!”
Review of Seelye Mansion

Seelye Mansion
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I wrote and directed their first TV commercial!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great memories this mansion is fabulous especially at Christmas! Unbelievely vast rooms like the ballroom and yes their is a bowling room! We had a ball shooting their commercial!

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wamego, Kansas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bowling Alley”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Interesting tour of this very old Seelyn Mansion in Abilene.

Helpful?
1 Thank phototaker872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I love house museums and have seen quite a few all over the US but this was undoubtedly one of the best I've ever seen. The $10 are well worth it. The tour starts at the small visitor center and the you'll be able to see the entire house. The tourguide is the owner of the home himself and he also lives in the place. That means there are no barriers and you can walk everywhere and even touch a piece or two. The outside of the mansion and the gardens are well mantained as well. I could have spend there hours. If you're somewhere close just go and see it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank babdr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting look at a 1905 luxury home complete with 1904 World's Fair furnishings.”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This 25 room mansion still contains the furniture, Haviland china, victrola, one lane bowling alley, pottery, art, rugs, and etc. purchased from the St. Louis World's Fair that the Seele family attended. The daughters never married and the current owner lived with them for several years before they passed, thus learning about their lives and the furnishings of the home. Edison did the wiring and provided the light fixtures. Frank LLoyd Wright did some redecorating in the 20's. One of the architects designed the Topeka State Capitol. Most of the 11 bedrooms were filled each night with prestigious guests. The only people who ever delivered ice to the ice box (which held 50 salads and 50 deserts at once) were the Eisenhower boys. The dining table had 17 leaves. This is an absolutely fabulous history lesson and you are allowed to see all the rooms. The $10 entrance fee is worth it. We visited the Eisenhower Museum one day and went to the Seele Mansion the next.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bungalowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“The most amazing house museum -- a true gem -- don't miss it”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I'm a fan of house museums and have visited dozens of them in various cities. I have never seen one as captivating as the Seelye Mansion. It's not just its spectacular Georgian architecture or its intriguing history; it's that it is an amazing archive, with all of the original furnishings, appointments, and possessions of the original owners, much of it acquired by Mrs. Seelye at the 1904 World's Fair in St. Louis.

The current owner, Terry, purchased Seelye Mansion from the two Seelye "girls" who grew up here, living with them in their final years (they were in their 90s when they both passed away). That enables Terry, who was our tour guide, to relay intimate histories in each room regarding the Edison lighting (with wiring installed by Edison himself), the Tiffany-designed fireplace, the 3,000+ pieces of Haviland Limoges china, and on and on and on. It's 11,000 square feet and 25 rooms of sheer delight. Our tour (I was with a tour group) lasted over two hours; I would have loved to have spent the entire day with Terry and the Seelye mansion.

If you love house museums, do not miss this one -- it's well-worth the drive to Abilene if you're anywhere near the area.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank originalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seelye Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing