We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
85
39
6
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
39
6
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water free wifi rooms are clean walking distance cheap price attached bathroom recommend this hotel quiet at night place to stay nice room enjoyed my stay the hotel staff guesthouse mr accommodation garden taxi
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Kathmandu Friendly home.
My double room with ensuite bathroom were clean and bright.
Tables and seats in the garden aren't comfortable and breakfast needs a change.
The staff is cool.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

It used to be a good place for backpakers before. Now, the conditions are degraded. Wifi is very low and instable. Hot Water is not fixed. No toilet paper. It’s a noisy place until late. You can hear all what happens in the rooms around. Lots ot not educated people speak so loud, slams the doors, speak in the corridor and don’t respect you. The owner is an arrogant business man who don’t care about you. He will charge you more as you have to pay. You can find a good service and a better guesthouse for that price. So, I recommend you to stay close to this place where many new hotels open with the best conditions and cheap price.
You aere warned and can act knowingly.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 693evang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a few different hotels over 2 months in Kathmandu but once we found this place, we came back again after our trek! It is what is says - a friendly home! Staff are all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Rooms were big, light and clean with attached bathroom and plenty of hot water for the shower. One of our rooms also had a balcony which was nice! Great value for money and we would definitely stay again. Rooftop seating areas need some TLC (new chairs).

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaddyHK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

During my trip in Nepal I stayed two times at this hotel. It's in a quieter area of Thamel, and in 1-2 min you are in the buzzling centre. The rooms are clean, spacious and the beds have quality mattresses so that you sleep really amazingly. The staff is really friendly - when I arrived late at night from the airport I got water and a lighter :) They also organised a taxi trip to Pokhara for me and my friend and we used their airport drop service as well. I definitively recommend staying there :)) P.S. just next door is a laundry service

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Located in short distance to all attractions and sales district although in quite place. Large rooms and friendly staff. Some electricity supplies must be repeared but as value for money is perfect solution in Kathmandu

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sergeagishev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajendra K, Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Serge,
We are very glad to have your excellent review on tripadvisor. We are very happy to read this excellent review. I will share this review to my staff.
I hope see you in near future.
Again and again
Thank you

Best regard,
Sulav Budhathoki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews