We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed & quiet guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Little House in the Ricefields
Ranked #75 of 488 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2016

If you want a relaxed and quiet stay near Kathmandu, book The Little House in the Rice Fields!! Lovely place in a small valley. Thank you Gopal for your hospitality, we enjoyed our stay at your guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2015

If you don't know how to relax. If you are used to chasing your tail. If tomorrow's work was due yesterday. If you don't recognize your self in the mirror. If you forgot about what it means to be one with nature. If the sound of your own thoughts are muffled and distant. If the years are racing to your old age. If you can't remember how to slow down, or how it feels to live a complete day. If you blink and realize that there is so much for you to feel, learn and enjoy in a minute then this place is for you. So far removed from what you're familiar with yet so close. The last football field length of unpaved, rough road will get you across that sought after line of bliss and tranquility, to The Little House on the Rice Field! Gopal will become your confidante, the house pet, Delhi, will adopt you and escort you if you will him and the rooster will wake you up to live yet another full day reminding you that life is made of minutes that we absorb and not the one that absorb us.

Room Tip: I would go back again and choose the same room, the one with the only king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dub V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

The best place for living among the rice field landscapes of Kathmandu Valley. Easily accessible and the best people to take care of your needs. Walk easily to the Traditional villages of Bungamati, Khokhana from here. A House with lively caretakers, chickens, the house pets (Delhi, Panda and Pepper).

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

stayed 2nights during rainy seasons, the main road(unpaved) is muddy&slippery, do not carry trolley bag if you plan to stay here.
Owner-Gopal, is an amazing host, a joyful father full of exciting life experience, attending to all our needs, there are 2dogs&5chickens running about the premise :)
Plenty of sunlight on the terrace when there's no rain, view facing the mountains&rice field worth every penny we paid.
The nearest bank is about 40min walk to the next town, we took the liberty to explore & buy some snacks.
There are lots of nature walk to do-walk through the vast rice field,towards another village or hike towards the hilltop /village (school location)

Room Tip: rooms on upper floor are more spacious&airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Back from our trek to the Everest base camp, my friends and I took a break in this charming house. The difference between the preserved and virgin nature of the Himalayas and the crowded, noisy, smelly and colored city may be choking (but I quiet liked the city though). The transition was fortunately soft thank to that shelter. This little house is found outside of Katmandu, nearby some picturesque villages (very good immersion in every day’s Nepalese life). Gopal (the butler) is the best. Always smiling, even while cooking his amazing chicken momos (even teaching the recipe!). And his family are adorable.
For anyone who search for a peaceful or romantic place (if you do not know where to go for your honey moon).
I already know one day I will return there for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
10.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,702 reviews
8.2 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,266 reviews
8.2 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
697 reviews
8 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,305 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little House in the Ricefields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little House in the Ricefields

Address: Khokana | Sanokhokana, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $31 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House is run by a non-profit organization in order to generate local sustainable resources to help poor children in Nepal.The house has been conceived as a peaceful nest in the countryside not so far from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Little House in the Ricefields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing