We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little house in the ricefields”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Little House in the Ricefields
Ranked #75 of 487 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This little house was lost among the ricefields... What a pleasure to wake up in the morning with this landscape.
The rooms are really pretty and the owner, Gopal, is so lovely.
One of my favourite places in Nepal :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarineHrtmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

The house located near village of Khokana, apprximately 10km south of Kathmandu city center. It was surrounded by stepped rice field. Gopal, the owner, is very friendly, helpful and straightforward. Just ask him whatever you want or assisstance.

I recommended this house for who looking for base to travel in Kathmandu valley. You can catch public bus which is really cheap (15-20 rupee) to reach
- airport or city center of Kathmandu within 30-40 minutes
- Patan within 20 minutes

In my opinion, the major Pros for this house comparing to other accommodations in Thamel is the fresh air and peaceful. Kathmandu city center is good for day trip travel but not for stay overnight, pollution, dust is everywhere.

Please come to The Little House in the Ricefields, this is the right place to stay in Kathmandu valley.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipatpong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Little House in the Rice Fields as part of our Honeymoon in November. It is a beautifully tranquil spot, accessed by a dirt track and surrounded by rice fields. The track was manageable by taxi for arrival and departure but also made for good walks to the surrounding villages as the tracks are not busy. We particularly enjoyed eating breakfast on the terrace overlooking the rice fields, from which we watched the landscape change as field by field was harvested during the course of our stay. Gopal was very welcoming and helpful. He offered us lots of tea and was happy to chat about local places of interest and his valuable work rebuilding houses after the Earthquake and for the local Children’s Home which the guest house supports. We would highly recommend this lovely guest house and we hope to return one day to visit again!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SailorSkierWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights.
Very good service given by the manager. Cliff view was awesome and rooms are also good.
Staff was very helpful and co operating. We had a lovely stay.
will visit there next time too.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

If you want a relaxed and quiet stay near Kathmandu, book The Little House in the Rice Fields!! Lovely place in a small valley. Thank you Gopal for your hospitality, we enjoyed our stay at your guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
10.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,701 reviews
8.2 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,266 reviews
8.2 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
696 reviews
8 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,305 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little House in the Ricefields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little House in the Ricefields

Address: Khokana | Sanokhokana, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $31 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House is run by a non-profit organization in order to generate local sustainable resources to help poor children in Nepal.The house has been conceived as a peaceful nest in the countryside not so far from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Little House in the Ricefields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing