We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Loved this place but will have to say it was not like most Hyatt's. A little shop worn, but hey better than anything else we had seen. Food was good but a little pricey as was the internet service. $7.50 for 15 minutes, most I have ever paid and did think that it was a ripoff. I liked the fact that they had a shuttle that ran every half hour to 5 different places. We made use of that. We walked to the closest Stupa and found a grocery store along the way that had an ATM, sure are hard to find in some of these cities. They did store our bags early in the am as we wanted to do another hour of shopping.

Room was spacious and nice however they put us way far away from the rest of the group. Breakfast buffet, seemed to be really lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebenezer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,387 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank madhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

After an unexpected detour to Kathmandu we ended up staying one night at the Hyatt Regency. We were very surprised at the quality of the rooms, staff and dinning.

1. Room: We had a spacious room with two double beds (not our ideal but fine for one night). The bathroom and room was clean (no bugs or obvious stains on bedding, rug or furniture). The linens and towels were not of the best quality but were clean.

2. Service: Check-in and Checkout was a bit slow, however there were a number of people checking-in/out at the same time. Everyone we came in contact with spoke English well enough that we were able to communicate without issue.

3. Dinning: We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The dinning room was large and had a nice outdoors terrace that overlooked the pool. We ate a vegetarian diet during this trip and had no issues finding an assortment of food options. The food was fresh and tasty and neither my husband nor I had any digestive issues.

4. Security: My husband and I wander around the grounds and were amazed that a wall encloses the entire hotel and I believe it is patrolled at night. We felt safe.

5. Location: As we were unexpectedly in Nepal I cannot comment as to the hotels location to area attractions. It was however a short bus trip from the airport.

If we were to go to Nepal again, this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

My stay at the Hyatt exceeded all my expectations. Not only was it a peaceful soothing oasis to escape to after time spent in and around the bustling city of Kathmandu; but also the many comforts offered (spa treatments, pool, gym) made it a most relaxing getaway.
The new General Manager's attention to detail and service offered makes this a hotel well worth recommmending.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SKDoscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Spent 5 days there for relaxing after 2 weeks in Inda. Staff very friendly with some of them in uniform and making military salute (is the place safe ...?). Nice surroundings. Rooms are large and globally OK but not luxury as could be expected in a so-called 5* hotel. Large bathrooms with a shower and tub but small soaps as in a 2* hotel. Buffet breakfast, above average is served in a nice large room overlooking the pool. The swimming-pool is large (you can swim ...) but getting some sun is kind of a challenge as the huge building masks the sun after 4 pm and very few deckchairs are available. There is a free shuttle to Thamel, not so frequent but taxis are not expensive in Nepal, even if some drivers (particularily the young ones) seem to drive on dope.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Arnaud92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.6 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#54 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,240 reviews
2 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#95 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
4.3 km away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
3.4 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 9609, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $178 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is a 5 star luxury hotel and resort in Kathmandu and is set on 37 acres of landscaped grounds, created in the traditional Newari style of Nepalese architecture. This beautiful hotel and resort is located on the road to the Boudhanath Stupa: the most holy of all Tibetan Buddhist shrines outside of Tibet, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is just 4 km (2.4 miles) from the Tribhuvan International Airport and 6 km (3.7 miles) from the city center of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing