We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation in Kathmadu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Hyatt in Kathmandu is probably one of the best hotels if not the best hotel that you can stay in in Kathmandu. It is slightly out of the city, but close to the Stupa which is definitly worth checking out!
The breakfast was great and the room was clean and tidy. The Stupa view room was worth the extra cost to wake up to a fantastic view.
My only complaint would be the Hyatt car that I ordered to pick me up from the airport was not to a standard that you might expect in the west at a hyatt and was no better than a Kathmandu taxi.
This would be a great place to stay at the end of a long trek to have a good shower and breakfast outside of Kathmandu's chaos.

Room Tip: The Stupa view rooms have a great view of the Buddhist Stupa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,174 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

... well not actually us, there was a conference going on there and delegates got the band, but they played for us anyway.

Staff: Very good, very attentive, nothing seemed to much trouble. We had a problem getting access to our corridor (it was our own fault) but had a staff member accompany us to ensure that the reprogrammed cards worked correctly (which they would have done if we'd used them correctly in the first place). Then bumped into the same staff member in the street the following day, who was still equally charming and we chatted while we strolled back to the hotel together.

Food: Pretty good. Nice buffet in the ground floor restaurant. Good choice of unusual things, including Yaks cheese. We ate curries, though others in the party had more western fare and they commented that it was very good.

Rooms: Big and comfy. We had two stops here, the first on the ground floor with access to the gardens, the second on the top floor. Both were of an equally high standard. There was only one (very minor) issue, with the battery in the safe, which was resolved without any problems at all.

Bar: expensive ... if possible drink the local stuff.

Around: leave the hotel complex and turn left, walk about 500 yards to Boudhanath stupa. There are loads of little restaurants and rooftop bars, and plenty of photo and shopping opportunities.

Overall: It's not cheap, but it's pretty good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dw1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stay here for 3 night on our Kathmandu Mini Break Tour. Gret view of Bodha Nath stupa from our hotel room. The service was excellent and good was great!

Will stay here again on our next trip to Nepal!

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the eastern part of the hotel to have a excellent view of Bodha Nath stupa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I spent two nights at the Hyatt Kathmandu in February 2012 after a medical mission in the hill country where we had been sleeping in tents in the rain. After dealing with the noise, bustle, dust, and pollution of Kathmandu, the intermittent electricity and the cold showers – the Hyatt was heaven! This hotel is a true oasis in the middle of chaos. Yes - Hyatt Hotels in the states tend to be nicer, but this was extremely clean and well kept-up. I ate room service twice, and ate in the ground floor grill twice - both the service and food was very good. The first night, I paid an extra $60 USD for the concierge level. This included a room on the top floor. The view here was excellent, but it was not larger than the first floor room I stayed in my following visit. The top floor also had tons of pigeons on the windowsill outside the room and you cold hear them coo'ing through the night. The concierge service did have a lounge with heavy hors'doeurves in the evening and a full hot breakfast in the morning. The also had a stocked fridge with free bottles of water and sodas throughout the day, which I really appreciated. Also, the transfers to the airport were included except for the etip for the cab driver. On balance, it might have been worth the extra money for the concierge service.

My second stay (three days later after a jaunt to Chitwan) was in a standard room on the first floor. The room was the same but people could walk right outside your room.

One problem, since I was travelling on business, I brought a business check made out to Hyatt for the amount. All Hyatts in the US acccept these, but they did not here which was inconvenient.

The grounds were nice and the pool would have been great if the weather was warmer. The walk to the Stupa immediately took you back out into the chaos, but it was an easy 10 minute walk and a was well worth it! I walked into the casino, but I thought it was a bit dingy and didn't stay to play. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Better views at the top floor if you are facing the Stupa, but the pigeons might keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTom234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I always go to the Hyatt when I travel to Nepal (2x per year; also stayed here for a month once).

Downside: As far as Hyatts go, re services, I would only give this a B (not really a 'downside') because the quality of service/room ammenities isnt always consistent. For example, sometimes there is a stocked mini bar, sometimes not, etc. Upon my last trip which was in Nov. 2011, room service was not 24/7! This becomes important when you need more bottled water in the middle of the night. You might have to call downstairs a few times before someone comes with the requested water bottle. OR you may be told that a food/beverage item is "unavailable at this time". I feel I mention this in case you are coming back late to the hotel after a long trekking/Tibet trip, and expect to take a nice long hot shower and order room service. You might not get it! And there might not even be mini-bar items either if they are not stocking the room fridges (sometimes they do, sometimes they don't, so the mini bar is completely empty) The service, while very friendly here, is only 'so-so' for a Hyatt Regency Hotel. So while I am giving 5 Stars for this review, please know that it wasnt the service aspect that determined this grade.

Upside: There is a pool/gym/sauna/steam room, plus very nice spa services. There is also a hair salon in the hotel which I have used and was satisfied with the result (I'm female). Good breakfast buffet. . . Downstairs in the Cafe, they have buffet dinners. It is not unusual to see celebrities casually enjoying the Hyatt's downstairs cafe. (You may be surprised who you see!)

The hotel gets a A+ for the splended view of Boudhanath 'The Great' Stupa. You must request a room on a higher level of the hotel though (level 5 and higher) and specifically ask for a 'stupa view room'. Try to do this when you book your room, long before you actually arrive at the hotel! These rooms go fast. . . (BTW: I've stayed at the 'Yak and Yeti' and Soalti hotels too, but prefer Hyatt because it is newer, the rooms have more light and is cleaner. I like the hardwood flooring in the Hyatt rooms and their red marble bathrooms. . . These rooms are like a 'heavenly realm' after you've returned from trekking!) The beds/bedding materials are very comfortable at this hotel, so this place is always my top choice in Nepal.

The Hyatt is very close to Boudhanath Stupa and is also not very far from the airport.

You can walk through the back of the Hyatt property to the 'Great Stupa' and shops. This is an area chock full of Tibetan-style Buddhist monasteries. There is always something to see at the 'Great Stupa' because throngs of Tibetan Buddhists come out in the morning and in the evening everyday to do 'kora' (circumambulate the stupa) together. It is quite an experience, and I highly recommend it for great 'people watching' and film/photo ops.

In this area around the stupa, there are some wonderful places to eat-'Stupa View Cafe' is one of my favs. They have a variety of food offerings and of course, a great view!

Near the Hyatt, just down the street, there is the Gemini Market. There is an ATM there, and the market is a decent general store which has pharmaceuticals, large water bottles, cosmetics, food, electronics, etc. They have just about any practical item you'd need for your trip. And it's in easy walking distance from the Hyatt so that is a big plus. (If you take a taxi from the Hyatt to Gemini Market, it would probably be like 1 minute or less to get there.)

HINT: If you do go to Nepal and have only a few days, make sure you tour Bhaktapur, the 'Old City', and see the fantastic Swayambunath Stupa complex. . . If you go to see Pashupatinath Temple, this is also a wonderful place for pics, but be forewarned that unless you are a Hindu (or can 'prove' you are a Hindu. If you are a westerner who has converted you are required to show your 'papers' in order to be allowed in! Even then it is not certain that you will be allowed inside), they will not allow entry to westerners in general . . . I feel that I must mention this in case someone really wants to see the inside of this temple and then gets dissappointed because he/she can't actually go inside after they have made the trip all the way over there! (It's a bit of a drive) . . Since 'time management' is a consideration when touring, it might be that some international visitors would rather chose sites which practice more inclusion than this one. . . In general, the Buddhists sites in Nepal are very open to tourists, and several of them even have nice guest houses and cafes. Visitors may even be encouraged to join daily meditation activites, so if you like that type of thing it, ask the monks about it because they may invite you to come back for activities and give you info about other events in the area.

Be considerate of monastery rules re photography. Even if you dont see a sign which specifically says "no photography/no video", always ask first if it is ok to take pics/video. Most of the time you will get a smile and an enthusiastic 'Yes!' . . . It's always good to make a donation too since many of the monasteries double as educational institutions for children who would otherwise not have a school to go to. . . Volunteerism is also appreciated in many places and is a great experience if you ever plan to spend extended time/do repeat visits in Nepal.

Don't wear trekking shorts, or revealing clothing when visiting the monasteries/temple site in general. Also, trekking boots are a total pain when going to temples/monasteries/private homes since you will always need an extra moment to take them off/put them back on/re-lace them. . . KTM is dusty and sometimes muddy, so you might not always want to handle your shoes. Bring with/buy locally a pair of comfy slip-ons which are easy to keep clean. . . In town, you will be walking on uneven red brick sidewalks most of the time, so may give you a clue about what shoes you want to bring. (Leave the high heels at home unless you just want to wear them at the hotel!)

Room Tip: Ask for a 'stupa view' room! Try to get this when you book the room. To make sure, call ahea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.6 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#56 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,253 reviews
2 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,133 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
3.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#96 of 209 in Kathmandu
503 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 9609, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $169 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is a 5 star luxury hotel and resort in Kathmandu and is set on 37 acres of landscaped grounds, created in the traditional Newari style of Nepalese architecture. This beautiful hotel and resort is located on the road to the Boudhanath Stupa: the most holy of all Tibetan Buddhist shrines outside of Tibet, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is just 4 km (2.4 miles) from the Tribhuvan International Airport and 6 km (3.7 miles) from the city center of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing