We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraek Out in Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #32 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Free trip to Casino was interesting. Nearby shops for purchasing was added advantage.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malviyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,292 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed two nights at the end of Sep. The hotel was located outside of city central, but I did not mind the distance. The hotel was big, but it was not crowded and I could relax. The room had woody feeling and great view of Stupa from the room. We were there during Napali holiday and many places were unfortunately closed. So we went to Stupa everyday, early morning and late night. We really enjoyed it. We also ate at the hotel which was good. And it looks like many expatriates also come for restaurant. The swimming pool was big and nice. The next time, I would like to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Positives: The hotel's common areas are just gorgeous, and the rooms are pretty enough. The staff is very eager to help.
But.... the hotel doesn't get the concept of what a non smoking room is. I stayed in this hotel for 10 days, and the mattress was so uncomfortable that I had bruises on my hips from the protruding metal springs. I got very sick one night after eating a sandwich from room service. The hotel called a doctor right away, but it made me wonder about hygiene in the kitchen.
The hotel is one of the noisiest ones I've ever been too. The noise from the cleaning staff, banging doors, water pipes, screaming babies, loud TVs, etc is just relentless whether day or night. Sound insulation between the rooms and between the hallway and rooms is non-existent.
Overall it's not up to Hyatt standards.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is a perfect getaway for weary hikers. The service was good througout our 4 day stay here. Standards were kept true to the Hyatt Regency standards internationally.

Choice of breakfast buffet was great - wonderful spread of local & international cuisine.
Rooms were spacious. I had some heating problems with my room - as did one of my colleague. It seemed to be a common problem as some other guests were complaining at the Front Desk about heating problems as well. All rooms were given extra blankets so, mine did the job.

Not many business people stayed here as breakfast was full of leisure travellers so, sometimes it got quite noisy. The hotel is also located away from eateries or shops, so you had to travel for about 30mins by taxi for food or a spot of shopping.

Overall a slightly cold but comfortable stay in this wonderful country!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Not2fussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Had the pleasure of spending a little longer time over the weekend at this property.

Good size room; nice furniture. I was warned to watch out for properties with good heating. Did not think that it would be an issue at the Hyatt but ... I had to ask for a movable heater. The windows were not terribly tight and it was remarkably warmer outside than inside.

Amazing TV selection; something I had not expected in Nepal. Also, the hotel managed to keep light/electricity for most of the time. Short power outages but otherwise very good.

I liked the hardwood in the room and in the hallway. Great bathroom with bathtub and shower. Having said that, I managed to flood the bathroom every morning. The water pressure was so strong and the door had a bit of a gap ... sorry housekeeping.

I also very much liked the hotel entrance; nice local feel with the musicians playing every evening.

Good breakfast buffet and changing diner buffet theme.

I was able to enjoy relaxing walks around the property; nice surroundings with water streams, vegetable garden, big swimming pool and leisure pools, tennis court etc.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srhmmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#53 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,238 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
4.3 km away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
3.4 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#42 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 9609, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $178 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is a 5 star luxury hotel and resort in Kathmandu and is set on 37 acres of landscaped grounds, created in the traditional Newari style of Nepalese architecture. This beautiful hotel and resort is located on the road to the Boudhanath Stupa: the most holy of all Tibetan Buddhist shrines outside of Tibet, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is just 4 km (2.4 miles) from the Tribhuvan International Airport and 6 km (3.7 miles) from the city center of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing