We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel quality but nothing exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #36 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed both here and Dwarikas and Dwarikas was much better. What Hyatt lacked was character, it was very bland inside and one doesn't feel like they are in Kathmandu at all. The dining room was completely bland and has no colour. The rooms are very clean and the beds are good as is always the case but the decor is very ordinary. The other problem with Hyatt is that everything costs extra - Internet, breakfast etc. The dinner in the restaurant was very ordinary food. The most annoying thing was the water - for two days there was only luke warm water. It is an oasis from outside in that it is very quiet inside but so is Dwarikas with more character and hot water!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,296 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

Nice oasis in the bustling town of Kathmandu. Service is excellent-was allocated free room on day of departure due to very late check-out, restaurant serves good pizzas and rooms are just ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at the Hyatt for a day during a recent trip to Kathmandu. This was after 2 days at Gokarna Forest Resort where we had mediocre service. This hotel was a welcome change... very peaceful, clean, good food and our teenagers loved it! The pool was good and you must try the Italian food at the Rox restaurant. 10 min walk from the Boudha Stupa and the lunch at the Boudha Stupa Cafe and Restaurant was delicious and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeenaBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

For my money the hyatt is the best hotel in town. Its a very large property with all the neccessary accompainments. The rooms are large and cozy . The service has improved over the years but still lacks. The housekeeping also seems lacking at some times.
The food is average and nothing to write home about.
The best feature of the hotel are its comfortable rooms and the surrounding greenery.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveelate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We just got back from Kathmandu and is very impressed with the service that we have gotten from the Hyatt Regency Kathmandu. We were greeted sincerely and immediately felt right at home in a foreign land. Merina also greeted us and it was a joy seeing her warm smile for the four days we were there. As we are travelling with a young daughter, we spent half a day sight seeing and the other half just relaxing at the hotel's regency club floor lounge where we have an excellent view of the Stupa while snacking and sipping our wine in the evening.
We also would like to thank the staff at the Cafe for taking very good care of us during dinner. The executive chef never fail to come and ask how our dinner was and the service crew was very attentive to our needs.
All in all, our experience at the Hyatt Kathmandu was beyond our expectations and we came home very satisfied and happy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.6 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,258 reviews
2 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,135 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
3.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#97 of 210 in Kathmandu
502 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 9609, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $170 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is a 5 star luxury hotel and resort in Kathmandu and is set on 37 acres of landscaped grounds, created in the traditional Newari style of Nepalese architecture. This beautiful hotel and resort is located on the road to the Boudhanath Stupa: the most holy of all Tibetan Buddhist shrines outside of Tibet, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is just 4 km (2.4 miles) from the Tribhuvan International Airport and 6 km (3.7 miles) from the city center of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing