We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oasis in the heart of Thamel District”
Review of Hotel Utse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Utse
Ranked #80 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Outside it is chaos. Inside, it is quiet, peaceful and serene, thanks to the Tibetan couple who have been running the hotel and restaurant since 1991. The rooms are clean and all are very different. The last room I was in after three weeks of trekking was so welcome, with a hot shower, toilet, towels, tv and comfortable bed. There is a great rooftop garden, comfortable lounge downstairs, and a GREAT restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StuartK157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2014

Excellent location to visit Thamel and 5 minutes walk from the tourist bus departure point for Pokhara. This hotel is reasonably quiet (compare to outside noise) and the restaurant is a must try for great Tibetan food.
The rooftop balcony is a hidden gem to have a relax drink away from the dust and noise of the street.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

I visited during easter with friends who had met Dicky, Ugen and their daughter many years ago. Their Kitchen (tibetan food) is first class, their very polite, yet friendly attitutde towards guests is very heartwarming. If I ever go for another visit, Utse is the place for me, all though we only had dinner there this time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a solid place to stay. The location is great, the price was right, the room was clean and bright (except at night if there was "load-shedding"). Hot water anytime--when i did have a plumbing problem, it was fixed within an hour. The staff are helpful and the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tuttle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had a one day layover in Kathmandu and stayed at this hotel in order to have a place to leave my bag and have a shower. The staff were super helpful and friendly and I was able to negotiate a good price because I was not spending the night there, but would only be using the room during the day. I would definitely return there when I am back in Kathmandu

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marilynemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 209 in Kathmandu
641 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 209 in Kathmandu
772 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 209 in Kathmandu
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 209 in Kathmandu
816 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,256 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#52 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utse

Address: Jyatha, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Utse 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Utse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utse Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing