We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$78
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$227
US$156
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$171
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$171
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$49
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$46
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$61
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$7
US$6
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$8/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
52
46
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
46
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful rooftoptibetan foodhot waterroof gardenpleasure of stayingside streetthe room was nicethe hotel staffmy home away from hometop floorrecommend hotelrooms are comfortablemonkey templerooftop restaurantlocation is greattucked awaywi fi
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Excelsior situated in the centre of Thamel Kathmandu (down an alley, so not easy to find). The staff were helpful and accommodating. As we had to leave early the next morning to catch a bus, they arranged breakfast for us early. They took our order the night before to ensure it was ready, and it was. They then arranged for someone to walk with us to the bus and make sure we got on the right one. The room was clean and the most comfortable room we'd slept in during our 4 week stay in Nepal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times when the Kathmandu Guesthouse has been full or overbooked, rooms were arranged by the Guesthouse and the same price. We felt a little cheated that we didn't have the sanctuary of the Guesthouse garden but we discovered a beautiful room top garden with views across the city. On arrival the hotel has a Mafioso feel (most of the staff being dark suited men), but it was friendly enough. The hotel is very quiet, has a cafe (which we didn't try), free wifi throughout, and the most comfortable beds in the whole of Thamel! The room was clean and the bathroom large even though it had the feel of a prison cell. I wouldn't book to stay here as a first choice but for the odd night it is ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at Hotel Excelsior for a week and must say that I had a good experience. Staff were very friendly, rooms clean and well serviced. Hot water everyday and no power cuts. Food was standard and good service. Nicely located in Thamel without being affected by all the noise. Would def recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a single standard for single and not delux as there's no point in spending more.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Hi there, I stayed at Excelsior Hotel for a few times while I was working in Nepal. I totally loved it. You have choice of different room standards and prices. Food was very safe, tasty and well cooked. Momo and salads my favourite. Hotel in central location of Thamel but not really close to any of noisy clubs and pubs. Besides everything in Thamel is closed by midnight so you still would get decent sleep. Staff was just incredibly nice and ready to help at all times. I have got a beautiful memories from Excelsior and am more that sure I'll be back there.

Room Tip: Extension of Excelsior is much cheaper so if you are a budget traveller ask for extension. You can share a room with others and split the costs. Bear in mind there won't be a fan or AC in extension.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janusz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Excelsior two different nights in April, at the beginning of our trip and again at the end. It is in Thamel but off a side street, so it isn't crazy noisy. The rooftop is lovely and underutilized but we had drinks up there. We had an early morning flight, so the staff took our breakfast order the night beforehand, opened the kitchen half an hour early and had our breakfast ready when we came downstairs! It was great food too.

Room Tip: "Extension" rooms are the ones across the street and said to be less nice. Get a deluxe room for a few bucks more if you want a bit more charm and room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aj_ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews