We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
60
47
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
47
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop garden tibetan food wonderful rooftop pleasure of staying the hotel staff compared to other hotels side street my home away from home rooms are clean and spacious wi fi recommend hotel plenty of hot water stayed for nights tucked away excellent hotel monkey temple would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great location. Good value for money in Kathmandu. Nicer than it initially appears and the staff are really helpful with anything you need. Good food too. wifi and hot water most of the time, remember this is Nepal so pay more if you want faultless facilities (still not guaranteed to be fair), otherwise this is a great option. Stayed as a single female and felt really safe. Use the Kathmandu Guest House or Pumpernikel Bakery as a land mark for your taxi if they don't know where it is; have the number of the hotel and you can call them and they will send someone to find you.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hathor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stay at Hotel Excelsior from Nov 24, 2012 till Nov 27, 2012. Location is excellent, right in the heart of Touristy Thamel. Rooms are basic, clean, though a little dated. Room was bright and well ventilatedI supposed most Kathmandu Hotels are. Service was good. Most staff were smiley and friendly. You do get one of two grumpy faces but service is still instant and good. Internet is almost free. I paid less then USD1 for 24 hours. Speed is acceptable. Ask for rooms facing the back. It is much quieter. I was given a bigger room in the front. Neigbouring building very noisy, blasting music till midnight.
My daughter had a smaller room at the back. Much quieter.
Didn't notice the quality of water, but I think it was not yellowish . Showers pressure is strong and hot.

Room tip: ask for corner room at the back, quieter and bright
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIYholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Excelsior situated in the centre of Thamel Kathmandu (down an alley, so not easy to find). The staff were helpful and accommodating. As we had to leave early the next morning to catch a bus, they arranged breakfast for us early. They took our order the night before to ensure it was ready, and it was. They then arranged for someone to walk with us to the bus and make sure we got on the right one. The room was clean and the most comfortable room we'd slept in during our 4 week stay in Nepal.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnO985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times when the Kathmandu Guesthouse has been full or overbooked, rooms were arranged by the Guesthouse and the same price. We felt a little cheated that we didn't have the sanctuary of the Guesthouse garden but we discovered a beautiful room top garden with views across the city. On arrival the hotel has a Mafioso feel (most of the staff being dark suited men), but it was friendly enough. The hotel is very quiet, has a cafe (which we didn't try), free wifi throughout, and the most comfortable beds in the whole of Thamel! The room was clean and the bathroom large even though it had the feel of a prison cell. I wouldn't book to stay here as a first choice but for the odd night it is ok.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at Hotel Excelsior for a week and must say that I had a good experience. Staff were very friendly, rooms clean and well serviced. Hot water everyday and no power cuts. Food was standard and good service. Nicely located in Thamel without being affected by all the noise. Would def recommend and stay there again.

Room tip: Choose a single standard for single and not delux as there's no point in spending more.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews