We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Excelsior
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gokarna Forest Resort(Kathmandu)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$62
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
US$34
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$107
US$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Trekkers' Home(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$11
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
49
46
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
46
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop gardentibetan foodhot waterroom was cleansurrounding mountainsthe hotel staffmy home away from hometop floorstayed for nightshighly recommend this hotelmonkey templewi filocation is greatkathmandu valleybudget hotelheartgenerator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great location. Good value for money in Kathmandu. Nicer than it initially appears and the staff are really helpful with anything you need. Good food too. wifi and hot water most of the time, remember this is Nepal so pay more if you want faultless facilities (still not guaranteed to be fair), otherwise this is a great option. Stayed as a single female and felt really safe. Use the Kathmandu Guest House or Pumpernikel Bakery as a land mark for your taxi if they don't know where it is; have the number of the hotel and you can call them and they will send someone to find you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hathor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stay at Hotel Excelsior from Nov 24, 2012 till Nov 27, 2012. Location is excellent, right in the heart of Touristy Thamel. Rooms are basic, clean, though a little dated. Room was bright and well ventilatedI supposed most Kathmandu Hotels are. Service was good. Most staff were smiley and friendly. You do get one of two grumpy faces but service is still instant and good. Internet is almost free. I paid less then USD1 for 24 hours. Speed is acceptable. Ask for rooms facing the back. It is much quieter. I was given a bigger room in the front. Neigbouring building very noisy, blasting music till midnight.
My daughter had a smaller room at the back. Much quieter.
Didn't notice the quality of water, but I think it was not yellowish . Showers pressure is strong and hot.

Room Tip: ask for corner room at the back, quieter and bright
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIYholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Excelsior situated in the centre of Thamel Kathmandu (down an alley, so not easy to find). The staff were helpful and accommodating. As we had to leave early the next morning to catch a bus, they arranged breakfast for us early. They took our order the night before to ensure it was ready, and it was. They then arranged for someone to walk with us to the bus and make sure we got on the right one. The room was clean and the most comfortable room we'd slept in during our 4 week stay in Nepal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times when the Kathmandu Guesthouse has been full or overbooked, rooms were arranged by the Guesthouse and the same price. We felt a little cheated that we didn't have the sanctuary of the Guesthouse garden but we discovered a beautiful room top garden with views across the city. On arrival the hotel has a Mafioso feel (most of the staff being dark suited men), but it was friendly enough. The hotel is very quiet, has a cafe (which we didn't try), free wifi throughout, and the most comfortable beds in the whole of Thamel! The room was clean and the bathroom large even though it had the feel of a prison cell. I wouldn't book to stay here as a first choice but for the odd night it is ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at Hotel Excelsior for a week and must say that I had a good experience. Staff were very friendly, rooms clean and well serviced. Hot water everyday and no power cuts. Food was standard and good service. Nicely located in Thamel without being affected by all the noise. Would def recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a single standard for single and not delux as there's no point in spending more.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews