We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$78
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$27
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$28/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$49
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$56
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$52
US$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$135
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Silver Home(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$10
US$8
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$10/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$7
US$6
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$7/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
310
160
21
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
160
21
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolaustralian embassyrooftop barexcellent facilitiesexcellent hotela short taxi ridemy home away from homering roadtop floorfront officerestaurant staffindian foodcomfortable hotelcouple of nightsbuffet breakfastcomfortable staykathmandu valley
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Staff are friendly and the breakfast has some good variety. The rooms are clean, the bed is a bit too soft but good size room

The pool area has amazing views but not heated - really cold in December!

The location is good and away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel but not too far away, about 15-20mins to Thamel

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank volvo_volvo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I had a 4-night stay at Hotel Shambala last week. We had booked with them in an Executive Room after reading some pretty good reviews here on Tripadvisor. And so, naturally, we also had some expectations. Unfortunately, those expectations weren't met.

On our very first day, we asked them to change the room they had given us. Our original room (606) felt very muggy and had a very stale-air-feel inside. They changed us to the adjacent room (609). Even that had the same feel, but to a lesser extent. After moving in to the new room, we opened the windows, switched on the Air Coniditioning, opened the Bathroom door and switched on the Bathroom Exhaust Fan, and went out for dinner. Thankfully, in the hour or so that we were out, there had been a fair bit of cross-ventilation effect created and the room environment felt much better.

The room itself was decent - good size, adequate furniture and reasonable amenities. The bathroom was good too, with proper toileteries kit provided. One thing that the management needs to keep in mind is that if you're keeping a glass window on the wall between the shower area and the main room, the blinds on that window need to be properly maintained. Broken and non-functioning blinds need to be repaired and replaced pronto.

Another thing that the management needs to do on a VERY URGENT basis is buy Duvet Covers. When we were visiting, they had placed two full-sized bedsheets on either side of the duvet. The duvet itself was short in length. It was extremely uncomfortable to sleep that way, because a bedsheet, that's not attached to the duvet it's meant to cover, keeps slipping off and just does not provide good cover or comfort. I have traveled in many hotels around the world, and never come across one that used such a makeshift solution for their duvets. I would have understood if it had happened on one day (perhaps due to maintenance or laundry issues), but there were no duvet covers on all four nights that we stayed there, making me conclude that they simply do not use duvet covers.

The housekeeping needs to be trained properly with respect to making the bed. On one of the nights, it got so uncomfortable, that my wife and I got up, removed everything off the bed, and remade it from scratch. We realised that the bedsheet had not been placed correctly - the length had been placed along the breadth of the mattress and vice versa. It was a lot more comfortable after we tucked it in ourselves and placed the duvet on it properly.

On the third day of our stay, when we had gone out for a day trip in Kathmandu, I had to write a note to the housekeeping staff to not keep the curtains drawn open after they clean up. Since it was a west facing window, the sun warmed the room up post noon and made it muggy with no respite since there was no cross-ventilation. Thankfully, they saw the note and did as requested on both the remaining days of our stay.

The restaurants were both good (though slightly pricey). The food was excellent though, and worth the price paid. The rooftop pool looked stunning, and the outdoor seating along side it was absolutely wonderful. We had hot chocolate in the cold December night alongside that well-lit infinity pool on the roof, and it was a very beautiful and serene experience.

One complain that I do have is that for such a big hotel, they have just one restaurant. The rooftop cafe and the Erma restaurant on the ground floor are no different since they have the same menu! It's like one restaurant spread over two locations. For a hotel of that size, we were expecting at least two different restaurants catering to different cuisines and tastes.

The Spa was excellent, and again, while a little bit on the pricier side, was up to the standards. The rooms were excellent, warmed up and the massage beds had also been heated before our arrival. It was an excellent spa session on our last evening in Kathmandu and Nepal.

The location of the Hotel was a little out of the way, from a tourist's perspective. A taxi ride to Thamel or Durbar Marg during the day cost us about NPR 300/- per trip. But the advantage of such a location was that it provided a break from the chaos and din of those main tourists' areas.

On the whole, it was a decent stay at Hotel Shambala but only after we had piped down our expectations post the first night there. They need to do a lot of work to justify the high praise they get here, in my opinion. It's mainly the housekeeping that needs to get its act together. As of now, I would not be recommending them to anyone.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Shridhar_Jaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunjoy G, General Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Mr. Jaju,

Happy New Year to you and your family from the Shambala Team !!

On the outset thank you for choosing our hotel, our sincere apologies that your stay was not up to your expectations owing to a spate of unfortunate events.

Further we really appreciate the time and effort you have put in in sharing your experience and highlighting the finer points of your stay. Based on your review we have already gone into a full investigation on the unfortunate events and working on your valuable suggestions.

We are of the hope that you will definitely visit us again in the future and give us an opportunity to give you an experience of your expectations.

Last but not the least we would like to reiterate our sincere apologies once again and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards
Sahadeo




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Very nice location, good amenities - great views from the rooftop! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was good value for money. I enjoyed the food and found it a very relaxing pace to spend time.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mlboyd1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunjoy G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to share your experiences!

We are honored to receive your review and appreciate your endorsement of our service, location and facilities.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable visit at Hotel Shambala.

Sunjoy Gurung
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Shambala is one of the most reasonable restaurant in Kathmandu. The food is tasty, the service is great and the roof top swimming pool does the icing on the cake. You can see the density of Kathmandu valley and the hills surrounding it. The noise of The Valley is absent and you can enjoy the beautiful Himalayan range of Ganesh and Langtang at peace. A perfect place to go with family , friends and your loved one to enjoy some chilled ones and enjoy a great sunset.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank beebazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I stayed at Hotel Shambala for my first night in Kathmandu. I wanted to be safe and have a clean place to stay in. Service was great. Was picked up by the hotel. They upgraded my room to a suite upon my arrival. The breakfast buffet has plenty of variety and all the workers are very friendly and helpful. The rooftop pool has great views of Kathmandu. It is a bit far from the downtown but if you are looking for comfort, this is great.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmp1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews