We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding-they know how to treat their guests!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Want Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Want Residences
Ranked #12 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding-they know how to treat their guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We recently visited the San want residences(not HOTEL) and had the best experience. Our first visit to Asia and we were not disappointed. Service five star plus the staff was so fabulous they were happy and always willing to help us enjoy our visit. The bathrooms gorgeous, hated to leave that shower and to die for, deep soak tub.
The breakfast buffet was full course all you could imagine western and Asian menu items.
Location was easy to find and to navigate the city. taxi a must or hire a driver as we did who really helped us navigate with ease.
Returning in march, can not wait!

Room Tip: Ask for park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tuscanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    174
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
167
135
80
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

San Want Residences is a boutique hotel located in what is considered to be the Japanese quarter in Taipei. It doesn’t, I think, mean that there is a large Japanese population, just that the area caters for the large number of Japanese tourists. You can see it in the restaurants and shops, and especially in the hotels.

San Want Residences has clearly been designed with Japanese tourist and business travelers in mind. As such you will enjoy fabulous bathing (the bathrooms are wonderful) impeccable hygiene and tremendous courtesy and assistance from staff.

The San Want is located on a fairly busy road, adjacent to one of the flyovers. That said I was on the 12th floor and never noticed noise from either. It does have the great benefit of sitting opposite a park – and I would say it is definitely worth asking for a park view. The buildings at the other side of the park are none too attractive, but I suspect that this location counts as one of the best in Taipei. The area is central(ish) although in what I suspect is a slightly older part of town. Not the gleaming towers you will find around Taipei 101 in this neighbourhood, but fine, by Taipei standards, for all of that.

My room was nicely done, comfortable king size bed, large TV, desk area, mini-bar. The highlight is the bathroom, it contains a Japanese style hip bath, great shower and fully electronic toilet!

I did feel the room was a little short of closet and drawer space. There is a safe, trouser press, and, a great feature, an in-room fax-printer. There was free wi-fi when I stayed, although I never really got this working, but also an ethernet cable connection which worked just fine. Reliable and reasonably speedy.

One nice touch, which I’ve not come across before, is a supplied mobile phone – your contacts can call the hotel and will be routed through to you on the mobile. I didn’t use it but an interesting idea and indicative, I thought, of a very customer focused attitude.

There is fresh fruit and complimentary water in the room each day. I did feel the selection in the minibar was a bit limited – you may in any case prefer to pop around the corner to the convenience store for supplies.

One small niggle! I really do feel the instant coffee in the room could be better. It is supplied as a 3-in-1 mix, which means you get coffee, creamer and sugar all together. Personally I don’t like creamer, and don’t take sugar. I’d prefer the option of how to take my coffee.

There is a laundry service – not that cheap – and they will also supply a good iron and ironing board if you prefer DIY.

Although the hotel provides breakfast, there is not really a restaurant, and the bar is a bit basic. Breakfast was OK, if not hugely exciting. A range of Asian, Japanese and Western fare, albeit the bread was pretty uninspiring and the toaster toasted painfully slowly! The lack of a restaurant is not really a problem. Food is everywhere in Taipei, and fantastic value. I’d be a bit wary of staff recommendations on places to eat, well intentioned I’m sure, but possibly not based on much other than hearsay! I ended up in one disappointing place – worth consulting TA and then sorting the address with reception.

The staff are incredibly polite and helpful. Can’t praise them enough. English is spoken, if a little limited, but they would call to check things for me, and would always provide a written Chinese address for me when I needed to get to places in taxis. Only blind spot seemed to be I nearly always had to ask for extra coffee at breakfast, but could well be a cultural thing.

There is a small but adequate gym, but no swimming pool. There are meeting rooms and areas if you need them. I think there is a car park.

One of the many things that sets the San Want apart from the typical is that it is very beautifully decorated. There is a wide range of original art, ceramics and sculpture. Very stylish indeed!

A great little hotel, beautifully done, and a perfect base for business, or a break, in Taipei. Recommend.

Tip:- you may get the best room rate direct from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markw_bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, 公關經理 at San Want Residences, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Google Translation
Dear Mr. markw_bd

Warmest Greetings from San Want Residences Taipei!

It has been a pleasure for us to serve you for your stay in San Want Residences Taipei, the luxury boutique hotel. We sincerely appreciate you sharing with us your valuable comments in Tripadvisor. San Want Residences Taipei Team strives to maintain the high quality service standards. Therefore, we value highly of our guests' feedbacks because these are what makes us improve and reach an even higher quality of service.

We have made a thorough inspection on toaster and will keep up our quality of service in all respects. Regarding to the instant coffee in guest’s room, our Front Desk Manager has also replied you on this matter, providing you extra service when you visit us in Taipei. You could also enjoy complimentary Nespresso coffees and snacks in our level 2 Executive Lounge where you could have a quiet rest and overlook the panoramic view of the Linshen Park.

Again, we appreciate your invaluable input, and it is guests like you who took time to provide us with feedback truly allow us to improve our services and facilities. Please be assured that you will see an improvement on your next stay with us. We sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely yours,
PR and Marketing Manager
San Want Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Beautiful hotel with just the right level of attentive service. Very much impressed by the hotel amenities and staff and would highly recommend and return. As an added bonus, it's only a five minute walk to Starbucks and shin kong department store - my newly discovered favorite place to shop!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chennyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

My experience has been that if you stay in a cheaper hotel in a large city, it is usually noisy. San Want (Heavenly Prosperity) is an exception.
It has the air of a Japanese hotel (as do many Taiwanese service products), but the rooms are larger.
My was an inner room overlooking the internal atrium, no view but quiet. The hotel is quite old, but the decor was acceptable and the bathroom up to standard, although the shower was probably older than me!
As is often the case in China, the bed was rock hard and not a great sleep. Free fast internet, but don't forget to bring a PC with an ethernet slot. No wifi
Breakfast is good and a nice surprise. Not much in the way of a hearty morning greeting from employees, but good value never the less.
Efficient lifts which always helps if one comes and goes a lot.
Best feature is the team that mans the front lobby, always there and always helpful, as good of better than a much more expensive hotel.
Overall good value and very central (next to subway station) location

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed at San Want for two nights. As I needed to head straight for a meeting from the airport, I called the hotel and asked about the airport pick-up. The hotel was very helpful and arranged for me to be sent to my meeting place, while they brought my luggage back to the hotel to process the check-in first. The nice gesture was that they called me again the day before I traveled, and reviewed the whole pick-up arrangement with me. This was top-notch service!

At the hotel, I asked for help with one of my luggage locks. I bought the lock but then realised that it didn't fit the zipper on my luggage. I reckon that some filing and buffering of the metal tip of the cable lock would make it small enough to go through the zipper. It was a very unusual and uncommon request I must say. But one of the hotel managers, Miss Penny, handled it promptly and even came up to my room together with their Engineering Manager to take a look. Within 10mins, I got back my buffered lock and it worked perfectly with my luggage. So the quality of service here is highly commendable.

The hotel is about 15 mins walk to Zhong Shan station and you can get food options there. Likewise, there is a back street just behind the hotel which you can also find many Japanese restaurants. There is also a Starbucks 10 mins from the hotel, where I went to get my daily dose.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YukonTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#27 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#31 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#37 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#19 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Residences

Property: San Want Residences
Address: No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taipei
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price range (per night): $203 - $1,350
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Want Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About San Want Residences TaipeiSan Want Residences Taipei formally opened its doors for business in March 2008 and aims to exceed guest satisfaction and achieve the attentiveness found in leading luxury hotels. San Want Residences Taipei is a sophisticated bolt-hole in the centre of Taipei, a tranquil alternative to staying in a bustling city hotel. Located in Taipei Nanjing East Road, and adjacent to the LinSen Park, the hotel is surrounded with international designers’ boutiques and offers easy accessibility to MRT station. San Want Residences Taipei is the latest boutique property carefully selected to join Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH). The hotel has an impressive collection of artworks and sculptures by contemporary Taiwanese artists, adding a special element to your experience. In addition to the museum boutique concept, the hotel also offers office use facilities especially for our business travelers. Equipped with selected office stationeries, the spacious office desk features multifunction HP laser jet machine to fax, print and copy. With an access to project laptop screens to the 37” High-Definition LCD television, each guestroom offers wireless and high-speed fiber optic Internet Access and free cell phone rental to fully support your business requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your San Want Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Residences Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing