We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taipei Pig Home Convenient Place to stay in Taipei” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pig' Home ('minsu')

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taipei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pig' Home ('minsu')
Ranked #385 of 566 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Taipei Pig Home Convenient Place to stay in Taipei”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is my first trip to Taipei on free & easy. Been hearing lots from friends about Taipei hotel, I decided to stay in this so call minsu after browsing thru their blog. It was quite risky as they don't even have a proper website. But why I decided to stay there was due to the reasonable rate and good location. The first time to stay there you may find it very troublesome but believe me, it's so convenient as MRT, bus station, train station are just at the basement. Apartments are clean, come with washing machine and balcony to dry our laundry. Will stay there again the next time I'm going Taipei.
Ps: for those who are taking cab, give the address as Hua Ying street no. 63, the main door just opposite this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AmyTan769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

This accommodation was recommended by my friend who stayed there. It's a small self contained apartment which and depending on the size, comes with a stove, fridge and washing machine. Some apartments have loft rooms too! There's free WIFI as well.

Pros:
- It is located above the the Taipei Bus Station which in turn is linked to Q Square Shopping Mall, Taipei Main Station (MRT, High Speed Rail and Overland Rail) as well as the huge underground shopping mall. One could simply drag your luggage from the bus/train thru the underground links.
- There are a couple of 24 hrs convenient stalls located at Taipei Bus Station. There are 2 huge food courts at Q Square (basement 3) and Taipei Main Station (level 2) that proves useful during rainy weather which makes it unsuitable to visit the night markets.
- Security is 24 hours and there is a police station located next to the lobby of the apartment.
- Even though the check-in time was at 4 pm, Pig Home allowed me to check-in much earlier at no extra charge as I had just flew into Taipei on an overnight flight with my young 3 yo boy.
- Pig Home also loan me an electric socket adaptor for free after I had forgotten to bring mine.

Cons:
- The apartment is located among offices and other private residences. So it can get very quiet during weekends and at night,
- Housekeeping is done every tuesday, thursday and saturday and that is only for the clearing of trash. No changing of towels etc.

Recommendation:

- There is a 四海豆浆大王 nearby which sells fantastic soya bean milk, fried fritters, steam dumplings etc. It is located on Chang An West road and is only a 5 minute walk from the apartment.
- Arrange your airport transfer through the the guys at Pig Home. It is much cheaper than flagging down a cab. Pig Home charges NT950 onwards for a MPV. A sedan cab would have cost you NT1200-1600 depending on your bargaining skills.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank altivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

My first time in Pig Home after getting recommendations from friends who have made this their base travelling within Taiwan. It is located above the HSR, MRT, THR, and main bus station. The Taipei West Bus Station is just across the road if you want to take a bus to North Taiwan.

I got really lost when trying to locate the meeting spot to get my keys to the room as the landmarks in the confirmation email sent had changed. This is the direction I took when I got off the HSR (with help of locals I met).

- Alight from the HSR and take the escalator up 1 floor.
- Follow signs that say "Civic Blvd"
- Follow "Civic Blvd" until it starts to show "K Underground Mall", "QSquare" or "Taipei Main Bus Station"
- If you follow signs that say "K Underground Mall" or "Taipei Main Bus Station", continue until you reach the sign "Qsquare"
- If you are following "QSquare", you will come across a sushi shop on your right. The sushi shop is those where you pick and choose your sushi, pay and leave. If you don't see the sushi shop, concentrate on the words "Qsquare" on the overhead boards.
- After the sushi shop, there will be a short flight of stairs on your left through a door. This door is normally kept open and it leads directly into Qsquare.
- Follow the crowds and you will see an escalator past a row of vending machines and colourful lockers. Take that escalator to the 1st floor and you will face Hsin Tung Yang ( 新東陽), Watson and Hi-Life convenience store.
- If you do not see the escalator, follow the sign which says "Taipei Main Bus Station", then look for Hsin Tung Yang or Watson.
- Call PigHome to pick you up.

The room comes with:
- Washing machine with washing powder. Great for long stays.
- Towels
- Shampoo and bath gel
- Hair dryer
- Free wifi
- Coffee and tea making facilities
- Filtered water from the tap
- Plates, chopsticks and cups
- Heater in the toilets
- In door slippers
- Security system so you can see who is ringing your door bell

House keeping comes every alternate day so be sure to keep your room clean. They do not replace the towels (do you wash your towels everyday at home?) and do minor cleaning like taking out the trash and cleaning the toilets. Since you are paying for a budget service apartment, you can't expect much. Nevertheless the rooms are cute, clean and you feel really comfortable here.

Security is great for the solo traveler as there is a 24 hour guard at the lobby, a key card that only accesses your floor and a password to enter your room. PigHome changes the password every time a guest checks out. The inconvenience of a single key card is that if you have more than 1 to a room then others will have to wait for whoever is holding the key card to come back.

You can keep your luggage with them if you are travelling out of Taipei and returning to the apartment after that. If you have more than 6 luggage, you have to pay NT200 for storage. It has airport transport service for a fee,

When you checkout, you have to call PigHome at least half an hour earlier to remind them and leave by noon. A staff will meet you at the lobby to return your deposit. If you leave later, NT150 will be charged for every half hour that you are late.

It's quite quiet at night as the apartments look like offices from the outside but you won't get banging doors or people walking down the hallway like other hotels.

After staying there for 6 nights, it is a great place to rest after a long day of exploring Taipei. If you are not on a budget and looking for time to spend in a hotel room or relax in a tub, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank nilingzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Staying here during my last trip to Taipei on 2/Apr to 10/April/2012. This is my 2nd time staying at this Mingsu.

Like:-
1.) Very Convenience locations as it is attached to Taipei Main Station which you can access to HSR, MRT, Bus & Taxi easily.
2.) Fantabulous for Shopper. There is shopping center, Q-Square offer high end products just fewsmin walking distance. or you can ops for cheap & alots of cloth/shoes/toys at their underground Mall.
3.) Q-Square did have a food court which offer various Taiwan food. Taste is sper good + Price is affordable.

Dislike:-
1.) A little bit slow in replying e-mail
2.) The ceiling of their duplex unit is very low. i got knock on my head several times :(
3.) They only provide 1 'Chip' for you to access your room thru lift.
4.) Less choice of Breakfast shop nearby.

Room Tip: They did provide Airport transfer service with affordble charges, i always use their service as i do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WingsHeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My first time staying at Pig's Home. Rooms and location wise, it was a ideal choice. Nothing can beat the location as it is at Taipei Main Station which is so convenient for travellers to connect via mrt, railway train or hsr, especially those who are intending to travel out of Taipei. Other than transport convenience, it is also great that one can do last minute shopping with shops and food aplenty at the Taipei Main Station underground mall and Q Square!

Rooms are nice and well maintained, and for those who are on a long stay they can do their own cooking in the small kitchen and there is also a washing machine provided in the balcony. The bed is not as comfortable though, as the mattress is quite thin. The aircon in our room wasn't working too well; whenever we came back, it takes quite some time to cool the room. Security is good since you need your key card in order to press your level in the lift.

However, i find that the apartment is a tad too quiet for me, maybe i am too used to staying in hotels where one can hear guests going out and coming back. Especially if you come back late at night from shopping alone, it can be a little daunting. I guess i prefer some noise and 人气! :P

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cookie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 km away
Morwing Hotel - Fairy Tale
Morwing Hotel - Fairy Tale
#118 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 km away
Taipei Muiu Capsule Inn
Taipei Muiu Capsule Inn
#215 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 km away
Say Love Hotel
Say Love Hotel
#296 of 566 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Miyi Hotel
Miyi Hotel
#405 of 566 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 km away
Sun Rise Business Hotel – Taipei Main Station
0.2 km away
Hotel Relax I
Hotel Relax I
#50 of 566 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig' Home ('minsu')? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig' Home ('minsu')

Property: Pig' Home ('minsu')
Address: No.211 Section 1, Shimin Avenue, Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 566 Hotels in Taipei
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pig` Home (`Minsu`) Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing