We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rotten, Sour, Expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei
Ranked #73 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Manhattan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rotten, Sour, Expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

Never written a review before but felt compelled to do so because the other reviews I see here a Very misleading! I travel to Taipei often for business, stayed at numerous hotels here and know the area fairly well. To say the least, my experience was horrific and will never ever stay here again. Upon entering the room, a thick layer of cigarette smoke will give you nausea. Since I requested a Non-Smoking room, I went back down to the lobby and requested a room change. (Well, not actually a lobby, they don't have one! More like a "sitting area". nor do they have a pool.) They then said they were fully booked for the night, and went to the room to spray some sort of air freshener and told me to just open the windows! I think it was Lysol they sprayed (gasp!) and I went back down to complain. half an hour later they finally budged and decided to give me another room. My 2nd room Still had a heavy cigarette odor (the carpet maybe). The halls were dark, noisy, and had a strange odor to it as well. It was a Non-smoking floor but still had traces of cigarette smoke (I'm an ex-smoker so I'd know). It was too much trouble to request another room change therefore I stayed put. The room itself, both my first and second, were small and very very old in every fashion. Bathroom was filled mold/mildew in the corners, tub was small, dirty with long and short hairs all over the place, and oh.... the nasty shower curtains. They carry an indescribable smell that will make you puke. The furniture must have been from the 80's (or earlier) in style, chipped, banged up, basically not something you would want to use in your own home. My kettle had stains in it, desk and fake leather chair had oily residue, channel selection was very limited, all fuzzy as well. My first room had a tiny 20" TV, my 2nd had a larger 30". No WiFi whatsoever. I can go on forever. The staff were quite polite but none could speak English, but could speak Japanese, since this hotel seems to cater to retired Japanese tourists. The location isn't that great either unless you have any business doing in the specific area. It's about 15 min walk to the subway station, but it's not in the heart of Taipei so you'd have to take a total of 3 trains just to get to anywhere significant. If you've been in Taipei before, you'd know that transferring to each train takes quite a long while. The area is also well known for it's "red-light" district with cheap and old call girls that flood the streets by 10pm. All in all, I've had Way better experiences in Taipei. For US$150 per night, do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere!

  • Liked — The heated toilet seat.
  • Disliked — Almost EVERYTHING.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ACupOfCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    168
    53
    10
    4
See reviews for
63
41
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

The hotel is part of the Prince hotel network globally although it is managed independently by a Taiwanese businessman. This is akin to many of the Best Western hotels worldwide.

Gloria Prince is located in downtown Taipei on Linsen North Road, within 10 minutes walking distance to Shuanglien MRT station. From the airport, there is an express coach service which stops at the Ambassador Hotel (Chungshan North Road Sector II). From the Ambassador Hotel, it is only a short 3-min walk to Gloria Prince.

Rooms are spacious and clean, with a fusion of modern chic-look and grand old victorian design. There is ample supply of bathroom amenities as well as mini-bar items in the room. There is also a wide selection of TV programmes, including satellite channels such as BBC, Channel News Asia, CNN, and the likes.

The restaurant serves excellent buffet breakfast with a wide spread of western, Japanese and Chinese dishes. The fitness centre is also well-equipped with the latest equipment. Business travellers can make full use of the facilities inside the business centre.

Taxis are abundant and the conceirge will be more than willing to assist you in getting to your destination. Basically, this is a perfect hotel for everyone and it truly deserves the 5-star rating accorded by the Taiwan Tourism Bureau.

  • Liked — Cosy rooms and excellent location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Sgkel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E.A.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2007

This hotel is located at Lin Sen Road with a bustling nightlife and late-night shopping area. Just adj to the hotel is a 24hrs Watsons and down the road a 24hr Party World ( Karaoke) branch. Rooms appear clean, comfortable and bathroom was lovely with full length mirror and full ammenities. Do note though that some rooms are better/retrofitted compared to others and we were lucky to be given one of the newer rooms(after some hassle). Breakfast spread was adequate and the breakfast room was elegently and tastefully done up with water fountains etc. Overall a pleasant and enjoyable stay! We will return again if we get the opportunity. We didn't take public transport (jieyuan) during our stay so cannot comment on the distance to the stn but cabs are plentiful and easy to take!

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaye_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2007

This Hotel was booked for me for a business trip by my travel agent. I was a little concerned as there were no comments either positve or negative on trip adviser which is very unusual.

The hotel is great. Although the actual hotel is older the rooms are very modern and clean and have been totally refurbished to a very high standard. The staff are very friendly with nothing being to much trouble. Although English of many staff was very limited I had no problems communicating.

The majority of guests in the hotel when I stayed there were either Taiwanese or Japanese. I liked this as I really felt as though I was in a different country rather than simply being in a hotel full of people from Europe which is often the case with business hotels.

The hotel is located in the down town area of Taipei. This area seems to cater more for the local Taiwanese population rather than overseas visitors. ie few restaurants have menus in English. Again I liked this ... others may prefer to be in the Taipei 101 area which has menus in English along with lots of US and UK Designer shops.

Good hotel ---- no reservations in recommending it. Take an umbrella ............ it rained all week when I was there!!

  • Liked — Great Room and Friendly Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank SEandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 km away
Gloria Residence
Gloria Residence
#40 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 km away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#83 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 km away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#74 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 km away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#44 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.3 km away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#75 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei

Property: Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei
Address: No.369 Linsen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Taipei
Price range (per night): $119 - $218
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fine Service Pays Attentively Established in 1970, GLORIA PRINCE HOTEL TAIPEI combines utmost quality and services with a deep-rooted historical and cultural heritage. On 9 July of 2001, it allied with Japan's Seibu Group and has become one of the members of Prince Hotels & Resorts. Something that hasn't changed, however, is our commitment to providing 'service from the heart', an ideal that inspires us to constantly improve and perfect every detail of every guest's stay. Experience the Heart of Hospitality With 220 guest rooms, GLORIA PRINCE HOTEL TAIPEI is divided into 7 room type categories to meet every requirement for comfort and luxury. The hotel's Japanese hospitality animates the entire staff to give every guest a truly memorable stay. Caring and devoted from heart to heart - experience the heart of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Taipei
Taipei Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing