We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, all amenities, friendly staff”
Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dong Wu Hotel
Ranked #133 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Spent four nights here with spouse on holiday. Took Evergreen bus from TPE airport for NT $150 each. Taxi was NT$90 from bus stop to hotel. Check in at 11pm fast and easy. Room #2805 on 8th floor was business superior double with window for $77 US/night. Spend the extra for the window if you like natural light to wake you up. Not all rooms have a window.

Room well-appointed and comfortable, clean, and quiet. nice kettle with coffee packets and tea. Free breakfast was complete and tasty. Free computer in breakfast room, as well as large selection of newspapers and magazines. Nice bathroom amenities, too. 2 bottles of water daily. Good location, close to Di Hua Street and public transport.

Ida and Amelia were very friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent English. They arranged a taxi to the airport (our flight left at 6:30am) that was on-time.

Will stay here again when we return to Taipei.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed at Dong Wu for 8 nights during our 17 day trip to Taiwan. Used it as a base for seeing Taipei and then returning between vists to the Taroko and Alishan areas. The three rooms we had were well appointed, very clean and laundry done within a couple of hours of requesting the service. Breakfast had good choices and lovely coffee. The reception staff were brilliant both helpful and friendly, their language skills excellent. Easily accessible from Daqioutou Metro station, passing a very friendly family mart for snacks and drinks. From the outside the hotel entrance is surrounded by scooters and repair outlets, don't let that put you off excellent hotel with superb staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, everything is good , breakfast is good, room is clean and spacious, all amenities provided. There's a coin-operated laundry machines nearby if you don't want to use the hotel's laundry service which is more expensive. We requested for a quiet room on higher floor and was given a room on the 9th floor. The only negative is that the water from the shower is not strong enough. Will be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request for a quiet room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I think it's pretty hard to find a hotel like this in Taipei. The staff are friendly and helpful, our room is clean, the breakfast buffet has great selections, the location is convenient, and best of all, it's the cheapest hotel with all these amenities in Taipei, it really deserves the award!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannones1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Dong Wu Hotel is the best value hotel we have ever stayed in 36 cities/12 countries. Everything is perfect for price of NTD2100/night.
1. The location is good. 5-10 min's walk to Daqiaotou Station, busstop to National Palace Museum (bus 304), Ningxia night market etc.
2. The staff is very nice and considerate, always greeting us one by one. We arrived the hotel in the early morning and they have adviced us to take a rest in the restaurant at basement and 1 hr's later they noticed us immediately to check in when the room are available. They even helped us to free upgrade from standard double room to business double room.
3. The room is great. Almost everything in the bathroom (you did not need to bring anything). Our room has a window near to door but no noise at all.
4. The breakfast is just like what we eat at home. I have nothing to complain on the food as Asian/Chinese. However, the food for western is quite limited.
Overall, we are very satisfied with our 3 nights'stay and would recommend to those who want to look for a economy and comfortable hotel at Taipei.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.6 km away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#69 of 582 in Taipei
362 reviews
0.1 km away
IF Inn
IF Inn
#258 of 582 in Taipei
41 reviews
1.9 km away
Taipei Morning Hotel
Taipei Morning Hotel
#47 of 582 in Taipei
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Sunroute Taipei
Hotel Sunroute Taipei
#109 of 582 in Taipei
408 reviews
3.5 km away
Ark Hotel - Chang'an Fuxing
2 km away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Hotel B7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Address: No.258 Section 2, Yanping North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $81 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dong Wu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing